Auctioneers

Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses - For more information about applying as a military spouse please go to the Military Spouse FAQs page.


New! House Bill 2481 - The Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) below have been updated to reflect some of the changes to Chapter 1802, Texas Occupations Code (Auctioneers Law),as a result of the 84th Texas Legislature enacting House Bill 2481. These changes are significant and take effect on September 1, 2015. We will continue to add to the FAQs as we implement the bill and adopt rules to keep you informed about updates to the Auctioneer Program. After HB 2481 becomes effective the Auctioneer Program will look much like it did just prior to June 14, 2013. Some of the most significant changes to the Law include:

  • reinstating the Associate Auctioneer Program as a path to gain auction experience that can be used in lieu of taking an examination to become a licensed auctioneer,
  • clarifying that an auctioneer license is only needed to conduct live bid auctions,
  • removing reference to regulating  auctions over the Internet, and
  • renaming the Auctioneer Education Advisory Board to the Auctioneer Advisory Board to reflect the wider range of advice provided by the Board to TDLR and the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation.

If you have questions about the Auctioneer Program please contact us at: cs.auctioneers@tdlr.texas.gov.

1. What are the requirements for an Associate Auctioneer license?

To be eligible for an Associate Auctioneer’s license you must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States or a legal alien;
  • Hold a high school diploma or a high school equivalency certificate; and
  • Be employed under the direct supervision of a licensed Auctioneer.                          

2. If I held an Associate Auctioneer license prior to June 14, 2013, (when HB 3038 deregulated the Associate program), will I now be able to use this experience to gain an Auctioneer license?

Yes. 

3. If I held an Associate Auctioneer license previously, how do I apply for an Auctioneer License?

You will need to submit the following:

  • Auctioneer Application;
  • Employment Report Form completed by your licensed Auctioneer sponsor;
  • Your tax ID number or letter of waiver;
  • Proof of successful completion of 80 hours of classroom instruction; and
  • The total fee of $100.00.

Forms are available on our website. (Note: You must have held your Associate Auctioneer license for at least two years in order to qualify for an Auctioneer license.)

4. When can I apply for an Associate Auctioneer license?

Applications will be available on our website no later than February 1, 2016. To receive the most up to date information, sign up for our Email updates.

5. Can I get the same license number I previously held as an Associate Auctioneer?

Yes, you will be issued the same license number.

The Auctioneers FAQs are a great resource to answer many questions about the auctioneer’s law and rules, education and licensing questions, as well as general information.

TDLR licensed auctioneers should use the online tool to verify that their personal contact information is correct. Keeping this information current is important for TDLR to communicate with the auctioneers.

Auctioneer license on-line renewal - A renewal form is mailed approximately 65 days prior to the license expiration date. You can renew your license online and pay with a credit card.

Need a replacement license? You can also order a duplicate license online.

For more information about the TDLR Auctioneers program, contact TDLR at auctioneers@tdlr.texas.gov or 800-803-9202.  Also, you can sign up to receive TDLR Email Updates to be notified about any further changes or updates to the Auctioneer Program.


The Auctioneer Advisory Board met August 28, 2014 in Austin. The agenda and staff reports are online. The meeting was archived and is available for viewing via RealPlayer. The Board held an Open Forum on House Bill 3038 at 10:00 a.m. at the same location. The agenda for the open forum is online. The open forum was archived and is available for viewing via RealPlayer. View a summary of public comments from the open forum (44 KB PDF).


The Open Forum on HB 3038 allowed TDLR to receive feedback to share with the Texas House of Representatives regarding Speaker Joe Strauss’ interim charge to the House Licensing and Administrative Procedures Committee to “Study the implementation and possible impacts of HB 3038 (83R), including the effect it would have on multi-state auction companies, as well as business-to-business auctions.”

House Bill 3038 was enacted in 2013 by the 83rd Texas Legislature. It removed the live bid call framework within the definition of “auctioneer,” repealed the associate auctioneer program, changed the membership of the Auctioneer Advisory Board, and increased the amount of money injured consumers may recover from the Auctioneer Education and Recovery Fund.

During the Open Forum on HB 3038 we asked for public comment to these questions to include with the written responses to these questions we received earlier this year (3.2MB PDF):

  1. Should a Texas auctioneer license be required to conduct an online auction in which a consumer places competitive bids to purchase a product, including on auction websites like eBay, uBid, Listia, QuiBids, bidtopia and Overstock and on social media web sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Etsy? Why?
  2. Should a Texas auctioneer license be required to conduct an online auction in which an item for sale is located in Texas and the potential buyer is a resident of Texas? Why?
  3. Should a Texas auctioneer license be required for a person to conduct an auction of the person’s own property? Why?
  4. Which employees at an auction company should be required to hold a Texas auctioneer license? Why?
  5. How do you define “a sale or auction conducted outside of this state,” as stated in Section 1802.002(a)(12) Texas Occupations Code (The Auctioneer Law)? Why?
  6. If you could rewrite or change the Texas Auction Law (Chapter 1802, Texas Occupations Code), what would you change? Why?