Property Tax Consultants
Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses - For more information about obtaining a TDLR license or renewing a TDLR license that expired while serving on active duty, please go to the Military Outreach home page.
A Property Tax Consultant prepares tax renditions and reports for someone who is protesting their taxes. Property Tax Consultants also consult or advise others regarding protests or renditions. For more information about the property tax consultants program, see the Frequently Asked Questions page or e-mail TDLR at CS.Property.Tax.Consultants@tdlr.texas.gov
TDLR adopted amendments to an existing rule regarding the Registration of Property Tax Consultants program (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 66, §66.80). The adoption justification may be viewed on TDLR’s web site and the adopted rule chapter will be made available upon its effective date of January 1, 2016.
House Bill 7, enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature and signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott, eliminates the $200 professional fee and lowers the fees for new and renewal property tax consultant (PTC) licenses.
Effective September 1, 2015:
- the fee for a new PTC license decreases from $250 to $50;
- the fee for a new Senior PTC license decreases from $315 to $115; and
- the renewal fees for the PTC and the Senior PTC will each be $75.
PTC license renewal notices are mailed out 65 days prior to license expiration date. Individuals whose licenses expire on or after September 1, 2015 have received renewal notices with the correct, reduced fees listed.
Individual Property Tax Consultant (PTC) registrants should verify and update their personal contact information by going to the License Contact information Changing site. Keeping this information current is important for TDLR to communicate with the PTC registrant