- Continuing Education Provider Information by Occupation
- Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors
- Booting Operators
- Licensed Court Interpreters
- Polygraph Examiners
- Property Tax Consultants
- Property Tax Professionals
- Registered Accessibility Specialists
- Towing Operators
- Well Driller and Pump Installers
- Post Continuing Education Rosters
- Frequently Asked Questions, Rules and Information
Cosmetology licensees must complete the required continuing education hours in courses approved by the department. Licensees with licenses expiring prior to September 1, 2012, will be required to complete six hours of TDLR approved continuing education in the following manner: two hours in sanitation (only), two hours in law and rules (no sanitation), and two hours in cosmetology related subjects. Instructor licensees will be required to complete six hours of continuing education in the following manner: two hours in sanitation (only), two hours in Law and Rule (no sanitation), and two hours in methods of teaching.
Those licensees with licenses expiring after September 1, 2012 will be required to complete four hours of TDLR approved continuing education in the following manner: one hour of sanitation, three hours of cosmetology related topics. Instructor licensees must complete one hour of sanitation, and three hours in methods of teaching or two hours in sanitation and two hours in methods of teaching (this option expires September 1, 2014).
A licensee who is at least 65 years old and has held a cosmetology license for at least 15 years is required to complete one hour of continuing education in sanitation. Courses must be TDLR-approved courses.
Each year the provider must renew their registration in order to offer continuing education courses. Course approvals are valid for one (1) year, assuming the provider’s approval remains current throughout that time.
New continuing education courses must be approved by the Department before being offered. The provider will need to submit a course approval application prior to scheduling of any courses/seminars, a timed topic outline, the course material, and the required course approval fee.
These forms are available for download in Adobe Acrobat .pdf format. Acrobat Reader is necessary to view .pdf files. If you need to obtain a copy of this program it is available as a free download for Windows or Macintosh operating systems.
Please note the following policy regarding the filing of forms which collect a person's individual information:
"An individual who completes and files this form with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (the Department) is entitled to the following from the Department:
(1) to be informed about the information that the Department collects about the individual, upon the request of the individual and subject to a few exceptions;
(2) to receive and review the information, under Sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Texas Government Code; and
(3) to have the Department correct information about the individual that is incorrect, under Section 559.004 of the Texas Government Code."
Continuing Education Provider Application (252kb download)
Cosmetology Continuing Education Course Application (57kb download)
Outline Sample Timed Topic Outline (17kb download)
Please note that the reporting of continuing education hours is the responsibility of the continuing education provider. Licensees may check their hours at the Continuing Education Courses Look Up. If the hours have not been reported, the licensee should contact the provider first to ensure that the hours are reported. If the reporting issue is not resolved, they have the option of filing a complaint.
Email Updates - You may wish to sign up for the various occupation and continuing education provider email updates.
Request for Information - firstname.lastname@example.org
Voice: (512) 463-6599 or toll free at (800) 803-9202
Fax: (512) 463-1512