
1. NAME – Write your legal name in the spaces provided.  (Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix)  Examples of a suffix in-
clude Jr., Sr., and III. (Mr. is not a suffix.) 

 
2. DATE OF BIRTH –  Write your birthdate. You must be at least 18 to be eligible for this license. 
 
3. GENDER – Select whether you are male or female. 
 
4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER – Social Security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas 

Family Code in order to obtain a license.  Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency author-
ized to assist in the collection of child support payments.  For more information regarding child support payments, 
contact the Texas Attorney General at: 

 

www.oag.state.tx.us/child/index or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014. 
 

5. MAILING ADDRESS – Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This ad-
dress can be a post office box. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently and 
accurately.  

 
6. PHYSICAL ADDRESS – Write the physical address (location) of your residence.  Do not use a post office box for this  

address. 
 
7. PHONE NUMBER – Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the day. 

This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message. 
 
8. EMAIL ADDRESS – Write your email address. Please provide your email address so the department may email li-

cense information and required notices to you. Your email is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Information 
Act, and the department will not share it with the public. 

 
9. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any mis-

demeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire 
for each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf 

 

 If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your 
  criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal history  
 evaluation, submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form for each  
 crime you were convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, and pay a $25 fee. You can find more information 
 on the process and download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm 
 
10. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever had an occupational license, certification, or  
 registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a 
 Disciplinary Action Questionnaire for each disciplinary action. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at  
 www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action Questionnaire.pdf  
 
11. NOTICE REGARDING APPLICATION FEES - If you submit an insufficient fee amount with this application, or  
 submit an outdated application form, it may be returned to you. To verify the correct form version and required fees, 
 consult the TDLR website (www.tdlr.texas.gov) or contact TDLR using the information at the top of the first page. 
 

 The fee is required to be submitted with this application. 
 The  “registered” technician application fee is $20. 
 The “certified” technician application fee is $35. 
 Only send ONE of the above fees. Do not send a total fee of $55.  
 If you are already a “registered” technician and want to upgrade to become a “certified” technician, the fee is 

$15. 
 ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION TECHNICIAN APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  All information provided must be typed or printed in black 
ink.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.  Use a paperclip to fasten all 
pages together, with the check or money order on top.  Do not use staples. Make check or money order payable to 
TDLR. 

This application may be used for a “registered” or “certified” technician. 

 

PO Box 12157  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 475-2871 

www.tdlr.texas.gov  cs.air.conditioning@tdlr.texas.gov 



 
12. REGISTRATION TYPE - This application may be used to apply for a “registered” or “certified” technician. You can 

also use this application if you are already a “registered technician” with TDLR and wish to upgrade to a “certified 
technician”. 

 

 If you want to be a “registered” technician, leave the Registration Type  (section 12) blank. 
 If you want to be a “certified” technician, provide the name of the certifying organization and the identifying 

number provided by the certifying organization, or if this is not available, submit documented proof that you 
have completed a qualifying examination. You may view the most updated list of qualifying examinations on 
our website at:  www.tdlr.texas.gov/acr/acrfaq.htm 

 If you are already a “registered” technician with TDLR, provide your registration number in the space  
 provided. 

 
13. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement of applicant before you sign and date the application. 
 
 
APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES  
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service members, their 
spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service members, military veterans and 
military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or Military Spouse Supplemental Application 
(TDLR form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The form is located on the TDLR website at:  
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  
 

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing for military 
service members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page at: 
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm.  
 
 
State law prohibits renewing a license more than once after a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas 
Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC. 
YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or 
renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The 
Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at: Texas Guaranteed ATTN: Collections, PO Box 83100, Round 
Rock, TX 78683-3100, Telephone: (800) 222-6297, http://www.tgslc.org or email: cust.assist@tgslc.org.  



10.  Have you ever had an occupational license, certification         
       or registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state? 
         If YES, attach a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire to this application. (This does not include your driver license.) 
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PO Box 12157  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 475-2871 
www.tdlr.texas.gov  cs.air.conditioning@tdlr.texas.gov 

AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION TECHNICIAN APPLICATION 

YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE, OR THE APPLICATION WILL BE TERMINATED. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION FEE: See Section 11 (FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE)         
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  Yes No 

9.  Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any  
  misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?  
 If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for each offense.  

 
 
 

See instruction sheet for more information 

  Yes No 

2. Date of Birth:  

                           ____________ -  _________ - ____________ 
                      Month                                   Day                                 Year 

3. Gender:                          

  Male Female 

4. Social Security Number:                                                                                    

 (See instruction sheet for disclosure information)                             ______ ______ ______     _____ _____     ______ ______ ______ ______ 

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 

City                                                                                                                                                               State                                                                                               Zip Code 

5. Mailing Address: (PO box can be used for this address) 

7. Phone Number 8. Email Address  

(______) ______________________ 
 

   Area Code Phone Number Email address (ex: johndoe@aol.com) (See Instruction sheet for disclosure information) 

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 

City                                                                                                                                                               State                                                                                               Zip Code 

6. Physical Address: (PO box cannot be used for this address) 

1. Name: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 _______________________________________       _________________________ __________________     ____ 
                                                            Last                            First                                                       Middle Name                            Suffix   

11.                                                       NOTICE REGARDING APPLICATION FEES 

If you submit an insufficient fee amount with this application, or submit an outdated application form, it may be returned to you. To 
verify the correct form version and required fees, consult the TDLR website (www.tdlr.texas.gov) or contact TDLR using the infor-
mation at the top of the first page. 

 The fee is required to be submitted with this application. 
 The “registered” technician application fee is $20. 
 The “certified” technician application fee is $35. 
 Only send ONE of the above fees. Do not send a total fee of $55.  
 If you are already a “registered” technician and want to upgrade to become a “certified” technician, the fee is $15. 
 ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 



I certify that I have read and will comply with all applicable provisions of the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Act Texas 
Occupations Code, Chapter 1302; Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51; 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60; and the Air 
Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Administrative Rules, 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 75. I further certify that 
when I perform work for which this registration is required, I will only work under the supervision of a licensed Air Conditioning and 
Refrigeration Contractor. I understand that providing false information on this application may result in denial of this application and/or 
revocation of the license I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

_______________________________                             ___________________________________________________________ 
         Date Signed                                                                                   Signature of Applicant 

13.                                                                 STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 
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12.                                                                        REGISTRATION TYPE 

A “registered” technician may obtain a “certified” designation; however, the “certified” designation is not required to apply 
for and become a “registered” technician. 
 
To become “certified”, the name of the certifying organization and the identifying number provided by the certifying or-
ganization are required. Approved certifying organizations are listed on our web site. 
 

 If you are applying to become a “registered” technician only, no additional information is needed. 
 If you are applying to become a “certified” technician, provide the name of the certifying organization and the 

identifying number provided by the certifying organization. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

_____________________________________           _________________________________________ 
                                           Certifying Organization                                                                               Identifying Number provided to you by the Certifying Organization 

 
 If you are applying to become a “certified” technician AND you are already a “registered” technician, provide 

your TDLR issued registration number:   
 
 
 

`                                                                        _______________________________________ 


