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ATHLETIC TRAINER APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  All information provided must be typed or printed in black 
ink.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.  Use a paperclip to fasten all 
pages together, with the check or money order on top.  Do not use staples.  
 

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR 
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. 
 

1. NAME – Write your legal name in the spaces provided.  (Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix 
include Jr., Sr., and II. (Mr. is not a suffix.) 

 

2. GENDER – Select whether you are male or female. 
 

3. DATE OF BIRTH – Write your birthdate. 
 

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER – Social Security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas 
Family Code in order to obtain a license. Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency 
authorized to assist in the collection of child support payments.  For more information regarding child support 
payments, contact the Texas Attorney General at: 

 

www.oag.state.tx.us/child/index or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014. 
 

5. EMAIL ADDRESS – Write your email address. Please provide your email address so the department may email 
license information and required notices to you. Your email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public 
Information Act, and the department will not share it with the public. (Required) 

 

6. PHONE NUMBER – Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the day. 
This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message. 

 

7. MAILING ADDRESS – Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This 
address can be a post office box. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently 
and accurately. 

 

8. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ATHLETIC TRAINER LICENSE -  Please read carefully to determine the application 
method for which you are qualified.  Indicate the appropriate method on the application and submit the required 
items. 

 

A. Method A – Apprenticeship - You hold, or are within 30 hours of being awarded, a baccalaureate degree 
or post-baccalaureate degree which includes a minimum of 24 hours of combined academic credit, with at least 
one class in each of the following course areas: (A) human anatomy; (B) health, disease, nutrition, fitness, 
wellness, emergency care, first aid, or drug and alcohol education; (C) kinesiology or biomechanics; (D) 
physiology of exercise; (E) athletic training, sports medicine, or care and prevention of injuries; (F) advanced 
athletic training, advanced sports medicine, or assessment of injury; and (G) therapeutic exercise or 
rehabilitation or therapeutic modalities;  In addition, you have completed or are within 500 clock-hours of 
completion of an apprenticeship program in athletic training (1) that consists of 1800 clock-hours completed in 
college or university intercollegiate sports programs; (2) is based on the academic calendar; (3) is completed 
during at least five fall and/or spring semesters; and (4) is completed while enrolled as a student at a college or 
university for at least 1500 of the 1800 clock-hours. 

 

B. Method B – Board of Certification (BOC) and/or Out-Of-State Licensee - You hold a baccalaureate or 
post-baccalaureate degree and (a) current license, certification, or registration to practice athletic training 
issued by another state; and/or (b) current certification by the Board of Certification.  NOTE:  If you have taken 
and passed the BOC certification exam after January 1, 2004, you may be eligible for licensure without taking 
the state licensure exam.  See the board rule at 16 Texas Administrative Code §110.23(n) for details. 

 

C. Method C – Physical Therapy - You hold a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree or a state 
issued certificate in physical therapy, with at least a minor in physical education or health.  You have 
also completed a three-hour basic athletic training course from an accredited college or university.  In 
addition, you have completed an apprenticeship program in athletic training that meets the 
requirements listed in the board rule at 16 Texas Administrative Code §110.23(c). 

 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
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D. Method D – COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION OF ATHLETIC TRAINING EDUCATION 
(CAATE)-Accredited Program - You hold, or are within two semesters of being awarded, a 
baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree in athletic training from a college or university which 
holds accreditation from a nationally recognized accrediting organization that is approved by the 
board (Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education). The college or university held/ 
will hold accreditation during your matriculation and at the time your degree was/is conferred.  NOTE:  
If you have taken and passed the BOC certification exam after January 1, 2004, you may be eligible 
to apply under Method B (see above). 

 

9. INITIAL LICENSE OR INITIAL AND TEMPORARY LICENSE – Indicate if you are applying for the initial application 
license (fee is $160) or the initial and temporary license (fee is $360).  All fees must be submitted with this 
application, via check or money order, made payable to TDLR. 

 

 A temporary license may be issued to an individual who meets the requirements for a regular license (including a 
conferred degree).  If you are approved, a license certificate and cards will be sent to you via postal mail.  When 
issued, a temporary license entitles an applicant to perform the activities of an athletic trainer until the results of the 
first examination which the applicant is eligible to take are released.  A temporary license shall not be renewed.  
The temporary license of an applicant who fails an examination administered by the board shall be voided 
and the applicant shall not be eligible for another temporary license.  If you are not sure that you are 
qualified for a temporary license, please do not submit the temporary license fee. 

 

10. POSSESS ANY PROFESSIONAL OR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE – Indicate if you have ever possessed any 
professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate issued by any state, territory, or jurisdiction.  If you 
check YES, state profession or occupation; license, certificate, registration, or permit number; date issued, and 
name and address of the issuing jurisdiction. 

 

11. EDUCATION INFORMATION -  List the Institution, Location, Degree Conferred, and Graduation Date. 
 

12. WORK EXPERIENCE – List your current employer business information and their contact information, address, 
business phone and job title. 

 
13. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any 
 Misdemeanor or Felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History 
 Questionnaire for each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at 
 www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf. 
 

 If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your 
 criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal  
 history evaluation, submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form for 
 each crime you were convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, and a $25 fee. You can find more 
 information  on the process and download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at 
 www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm. 
 
14. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever had an occupational license, certification, or 
 Registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a Disciplinary Action 
 Questionnaire for each disciplinary action. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at 
 www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action Questionnaire.pdf. 
 
15. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement before signing and dating application. 
 

APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES  
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service members, their spouses, and 
veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service members, military veterans and military spouses, please 
complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or Military Spouse Supplemental Application (TDLR form MIL001) and attach it with 
your license application. The form is located on the TDLR website at: http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  
 

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing for military service 
members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page at: http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm.  
 
State law prohibits renewing a license more than once after a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed 
Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC 
BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received 
information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at: 
Texas Guaranteed ATTN: Collections, PO Box 83100, Round Rock, TX 78683-3100, Telephone: (800) 222-6297, http://www.tgslc.org or 
email: cust.assist@tgslc.org. 
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DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 
INITIAL LICENSE FEE -  $160 

INITIAL AND TEMPORARY LICENSE FEE - $360 
 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE) 

This completed form must be accompanied by required educational documents and the application fee 
 

1. Name: 

 
 
 

       

2. Gender: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   

  M    F Last  First  Middle Name  Suffix 

3. Date of birth: 
 
 

 

4. Social Security Number: 
 

 

 
 

Month                Day                        Year See Instruction Sheet for Disclosure Information 

5. Email Address: 

 

 
6. Personal Phone Number: 
 

 (                 ) 
(Ex: johndoe@aol.com) See Instructions sheet for Disclosure)        Area Code                                Number 

7. Mailing Address: 

(P.O. Box, Number, Street Name/Apartment Number) 
 

City  State Zip Code 

8. Qualification for Athletic Trainer License: (Check one of the following to indicate how you qualify) (See instruction sheet for description) 

 Method A – Apprenticeship – Please include the following items with your application 

 Official and original transcripts and other documentation from the registrar that verifies (1) completion of or enrollment in the 
required courses, (2) enrollment for the required duration of the apprenticeship, and (3) the award of a degree (if it has been 
awarded). 

 An apprenticeship record form signed by the supervising athletic trainer that verifies either completion of an apprenticeship 
program or that the program is in progress and at least 1800 clock-hours have been completed to date. 

 A copy of the front and back of your current CPR/AED certification. 

 A copy of the certificate of completion of the jurisprudence exam. 

 Method B – BOC and/or Out-Of-State Licensee – Please include the following items with your application 

 An official, original transcript that verifies the award of a degree. 

 A Verification of Out-of-State License form, completed by the agency that issued your license, certificate, or registration. 

 A copy of the certificate of completion of the jurisprudence exam. 

 A copy of the front and back of your current certification card from the Board of Certification, if certified. 

 A copy of the front and back of your current CPR/AED certification. 

  Check this box if you have passed the BOC certification exam after January 1, 2004, and you wish to claim  
  the exam waiver.  Additional information may be required, such as a written verification of your BOC   
  certification. 

 Method C – Physical Therapy – Please include the following items with your application. 

 A official, original transcript or certificate that verifies the required credentials. 

 An apprenticeship record form signed by the supervising athletic trainer that verifies completion of an apprenticeship 
program or that the program is in progress and at least 600 clock-hour have been completed to date. 

 A copy of the front and back of your current CPR/AED certification. 

 A copy of the certificate of completion of the jurisprudence exam. 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
PO Box 12057  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 475-2871 
www.tdlr.texas.gov  cs.athletic.trainers@tdlr.texas.gov 
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 Method D – Accredited Program – Please include the following items with your application. 

 An official, original transcript that verifies enrollment in, or the award of a degree in athletic training (if it has been awarded) 
from a college or university that holds accreditation from a nationally recognized accrediting organization that is approved by 
TDLR (Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education) 

 A notarized affidavit from the program director that attests to your enrollment in or successful completion of an accredited 
program in athletic training 

 A copy of the front and back of your current CPR/AED certification. 

 A copy of the certificate of completion of the jurisprudence exam. 

9. Initial license or Initial and Temporary license: (Indicate if this is for your initial license only or your initial and temporary 
 license.)  

      Initial Application License   Initial and Temporary License 

10.  Do you possess any professional or occupational licenses, registrations, or certificates 
 issued by any state, territory, or jurisdiction? (If you check YES, state profession or occupation; 
 license, certificate, registration, or permit number; date issued, and name and address of the 
 issuing jurisdiction). 

 Yes    No 

 Profession or Occupation: ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 License, Certificate,  
 Registration or Permit Number: ________________________________ 
 

Date Issued: ______________________ 
 

 Name and address of 
 Issuing Jurisdiction: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Profession or Occupation: ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 License, Certificate, 
 Registration or Permit Number: ________________________________ 
 

Date Issued: ______________________ 
 

 Name and address of 
 Issuing Jurisdiction: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

11. Educational Information (If more than one college/university attended, please list each and include official transcripts for each) 

 Institution: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Location (address, city, state, zip): _____________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Degree Conferred: ______________________________________ 
 

 Graduation Date: ____________________ 
 

 Institution: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Location (address, city, state, zip):  ____________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Degree Conferred: ______________________________________ 
 

 Graduation Date: ____________________ 
 

 Institution: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Location (address, city, state, zip): _____________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Degree Conferred: ______________________________________ 
 

 Graduation Date: ____________________ 
 

12. Work Experience 

 Current Employer: ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Address 
 (address, city state, zip): _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Business Phone 
 (Include Zip): _________________________ 
 

 Job Title: ______________________________________________ 
 

13.  Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any misdemeanor 
  or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?  Yes   No 
        If YES, complete and submit a Criminal History questionnaire (CHQ) for each offense. 
 

See instructions sheet for more information 
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14.  Have you ever had a professional or occupational license, certification or registration 
  suspended, revoked, surrendered or denied in any state?  Yes   No 
  If YES, complete and submit a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire (DAQ) with this application. 
       (This does not include your driver license) 

15.                                                                   STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 
Read and initial each statement to certify that you understand and agree to immediately comply with the statement. 

 
 
 

 In making application to the TDLR for the issuance of a license, I have read and understand Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51 and the board rules (Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 110) and I agree to comply with all of 
those provisions of law and rule. 

 I will comply with all state and federal laws and regulations regarding the practice of athletic training. 

 I attest that I meet the qualifications for the license for which I am applying, as indicated on this application form. 
 

 I understand that fees and materials submitted in the application process are the property of TDLR and will not be 
refunded or returned. 

 
I agree that, if I am issued a license, I will return the license if it is revoked or suspended in accordance with the 
provisions of Occupations Code, Chapter 51 or upon lawful demand by TDLR. 

 
I am aware of the schedule of fees and I understand that additional fees must be paid to renew the license and to 
keep the license current. 

 
I hereby grant permission to seek information or references necessary in evaluating my credentials pertinent to this 
application. 

 
I understand that the disclosure of a social security number is required under the Family Code, Section 231.302.  I 
understand that social security numbers are confidential and will be used for identification and reporting purposes 
required by law. 

The information which I have provided in this application is truthful and complete.  I understand that providing false 
information of any kind may result in the voiding of this application, and my failing to be granted a license, or the 
revocation of my license. 
   

Signature  Date 
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DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 

Applicants qualifying under Method A (see application page 1) must submit proof of completion of an apprenticeship in 
athletic training meeting the following guidelines:  The program shall be under the direct supervision of and on the same 
campus as a Texas licensed athletic trainer, or if out-of-state, the college or university's certified or state licensed trainer. 
The apprenticeship must be a minimum of 1800 clock hours.  It must be based on the academic calendar and must be 
completed during at least five fall and/or spring semesters.  Hours in the classroom do not count toward apprenticeship 
hours.  1500 clock hours of the apprenticeship shall be fulfilled while enrolled as a student at the college or university 
where the applicant is completing the apprenticeship.  The hours must be completed in college or university 
intercollegiate sports programs, except that 300 clock hours of the 1800 clock hours may be completed at an alternate 
site.  Use the form Apprenticeship Record- Alternate Site for instructions on documenting hours earned at an 
alternate site.  If the applicant worked for more than one supervising athletic trainer, make a copy of this form and have 
each supervising athletic trainer sign the apprenticeship verification section. 

1. Apprenticeship Record for Applicant Name (please print):  
 

 
 

 
    

Last  First  Middle Name 

2. College or University:  

3.  Report hours in college or university intercollegiate sports programs by semester begin and end dates not sport: 

Semester 
Begin Date 

Semester 
End Date 

Sports Worked Total Clock Hours 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    
4. Apprenticeship Verification: 
I hereby certify that the applicant named above worked under my direct supervision as a student athletic trainer.  I certify that the apprenticeship meets 
the requirements noted above.  I further certify that the applicant's apprenticeship was in clinical, game, or practice situations while working in college 
or university intercollegiate sports programs. 

   

Signature of Supervising Athletic Trainer  Date 
   

Printed name and Job Title  Telephone 
   

Address  City, State, Zip 
   

Texas License Number  NATABOC Certification Number, if out-of-state 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
PO Box 12057  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 475-2871 
www.tdlr.texas.gov  cs.athletic.trainers@tdlr.texas.gov 

APPRENTICESHIP RECORD (METHOD A APPLICANTS) 
TO BE COMPLETED BY SUPERVISING ATHLETIC TRAINER 
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DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 

Applicants qualifying under Method A (see application page 1) must submit proof of completion of an apprenticeship in 
athletic training meeting the following guidelines:  The program shall be under the direct supervision of and on the same 
campus as a Texas licensed athletic trainer, or if out-of-state, the college or university's certified or state licensed trainer. 
The apprenticeship must be a minimum of 1800 clock hours.  It must be based on the academic calendar and must be 
completed during at least five fall and/or spring semesters.  Hours in the classroom do not count toward apprenticeship 
hours.  1500 clock hours of the apprenticeship shall be fulfilled while enrolled as a student at the college or university 
where the applicant is completing the apprenticeship.  The hours must be completed in college or university 
intercollegiate sports programs, except that 300 clock hours of the 1800 clock hours may be completed at an alternate 
site: 
 

(1) a clinic setting which the college or university supervising athletic trainer has approved; under the direct 
 supervision 
 of a licensed physician, a licensed athletic trainer, or a licensed physical therapist 
(2) a secondary school setting (limited to sports in grades 7-12) arranged by the college or university supervising 
 athletic trainer; under the direct supervision of a licensed athletic trainer 
(3) a professional or semi-professional setting arranged by the college or university supervising athletic trainer 

1.  Alternate Site Record for Applicant Name (please print): 

     

Last  First  Middle Name 

2. Alternate Site: 

 Location Name:  

 Location: 
 Address City State Zip 

Semester 
Begin Date 

Semester 
End Date 

Describe Work Performed Total Clock Hours 

    

    

    

    
3. Alternate Site Verification: 
I certify that the applicant named above worked under my supervision as a student athletic trainer. 

   

Signature of Supervising Athletic Site  Date 
   

Printed Name, Job Title and License Number  Telephone 
   

Address  City, State, Zip 

4. Supervising Athletic Trainer Verification: 
   

Signature of Supervising Athletic Trainer  Date 
   

Address  City, State, Zip 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
PO Box 12057  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 475-2871 
www.tdlr.texas.gov  cs.athletic.trainers@tdlr.texas.gov 

APPRENTICESHIP RECORD (METHOD A APPLICANTS) 
ALTERNATE SITE 
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DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 

Applicants qualifying under Method D (see application page 2) must submit proof that they 1) are currently enrolled in, 
and within two semesters of graduation from, or 2) have been awarded a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree in 
athletic training from a college or university that is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting organization that is 
approved by TDLR. 

I  , being duly sworn according to the law, do verify that 
 Program Director (print)  

  has completed or is within two semesters of fulfilling  
 Candidate’s Name (print)  

the requirements to receive a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree from 

  
College/University (print)  

    

 Signature of Program Director  Date 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
PO Box 12057  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 475-2871 
www.tdlr.texas.gov  cs.athletic.trainers@tdlr.texas.gov 

AFFIDAVIT (METHOD D APPLICANTS) 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PROGRAM DIRECTOR 


