
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION 
P.O. Box 12884  -  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  

1-800-803-9202  -  (512) 463-6599  -  FAX (512) 475-2871 
http://www.license.state.tx.us  -  barbers@license.state.tx.us 

APPLICATION FOR: 

Texas Barber Provisional License 
PURSUANT TO TITLE 9, OCCUPATIONS CODE, CHAPTER 1603 

2. Applicant’s Social Security No.: 
                                                        _____  _____   _____ - _____   _____ - _____  _____  _____  _____  

 
Note: If you have a Social Security Number, Section 231.302 of the Texas Family Code REQUIRES all applicants to disclose their Social Security 
Number (SSN) when filing an application.  The SSN that is provided is confidential and is required to enforce Child Support orders.   

1.  Applicant’s Full Name: 
 
 

  

THIS FORM CONSISTS OF 1 PAGE. 
TDLR Form 005BAR (9/2005)                                         This document is available on the TDLR website at  www.license.state.tx.us 

DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 
                                                                                  

NOTE: ALL INFORMATION MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN INK. 

Last (Family Name)                                           First (Given Name)                                                   Middle 

3.  Date of Birth: 
Month Day Year 

4. Gender: MALE                    FEMALE 
(circle one) 

5.  Applicant’s Mailing Address and Contact Information: (USED FOR ALL CORRESPONDENCE) 

Number, Street and Apt. No.    - OR -    P.O. Box Number  

City   State  Zip Code  Country Area Code 
(   ) 

Phone Number 

FAX Number: (                 ) 
 Area Code Phone Number E-mail Address (johndoe@aol.com for example) 

Date Signed Applicant’s Signature 

7.  License Number and Expiration Date: 

#:    Exp.: 

6.  State in which License was issued: 

9.  Type of License :  (circle one) 
  

      Class A Barber    Barber Manicurist            
 

     Barber Instructor          Barber Technician  

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 
I certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Occupations Code, Title 9, Chapter 1601 and 1603; Tex. 
Admin. Code, Chapter 60; and the Barber Administrative Rules, Tex. Admin. Code, Title 22, Chapter 51.  I understand that 
providing false information on this application may result in revocation of the license I am requesting and the imposition of 
administrative penalties.  By signing this application I further certify that I have been recently displaced from my home as a 
result of Hurricane Katrina.  

8.  Have you held your license for at least two years?  (circle one) YES  NO 

10. Would you like to pick up the license at one of the Department’s offices?         YES        NO     
       
      If yes, which office?  (circle one)             HOUSTON            FORT WORTH            AUSTIN  

DO NOT WRITE IN THE FEE AREA IMMEDIATELY BELOW 

FEE RECEIPT NUMBER 
EVENT 
CODE 

FEE 
AMOUNT 

PMT. 
AMOUNT 

MONEY 
TYPE 

License  
Fee   $45.00   



               TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION
Licensing Division 

P.O. Box 12884 •  Austin, Texas 78711  •  (512) 463-6599   •   (800) 803-9202   •   fax (512) 475-2871 
Web site:  www.license.state.tx.us - barbers@license.state.tx.us 

Dear Applicant: 
 
Enclosed is an application for a Texas Barber Provisional License.  A Provisional Barber License 
allows the holder to practice barbering in the state of Texas for 180 days.  To be eligible for a 
Provisional Barber License you must submit the following: 
 
1. Provisional License Fee of $45.00 
 
2. Provisional Application, completed in full 
 
3. Copy of current license OR picture ID 
 
A Provisional Barber License is non-renewable. 
 
If you intend to work in Texas for longer than 180 days, you must apply for and receive a 
reciprocal Texas Barber License before the Provisional Barber License expires. 
 
To download an application for a reciprocal Texas Barber License, visit our website at 
www.license.state.tx.us. If all requirements are met, a reciprocal Texas Barber License will be 
issued and will be valid for two years from the date of issuance. 
 
Pursuant to an emergency rule adopted by the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation 
on September 8, 2005, eligible persons can obtain a provisional license to practice as a barber in 
Texas by meeting the application requirements and paying a $45.00 fee.  The Provisional Barber 
License is limited to barber applicants who are displaced as a result of Hurricane Katrina.  The 
Commission also exempted barbers displaced as a result of Hurricane Katrina from the Booth 
Rental Permit requirement. 
 
Note: 
The Department will add your email address to the Barber email notification list, which 
automatically provides information from the Department on matters affecting barbering.  Your 
email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act and the Department 
will not share it with the public.  See additional information at the following link:  
http://www.license.state.tx.us/newsletters/TDLRnotificationLists.asp. 
 

Austin Headquarters:  E.O. Thompson State Office Building · 920 Colorado · Austin, Texas 78701 
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