TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION
P.O. Box 12157 - Austin, Texas 78711-2157
(800) 803-9202 - (512) 463-6599 - FAX (512) 463-1512
www.license.state.tx.us - education@license.state.tx.us

APPLICATION FOR:

Texas Barber School Permit

PURSUANT TO TITLE 9, OCCUPATIONS CODE, CHAPTER 1601

Do NoT WRITE IN THE FEE AREA IMMEDIATELY BELOW

EVENT FEE PMT. | MONEY
FEE RECEIPT NUMBER CODE | AMOUNT | AMOUNT | TYPE
Application 64005 | $1000

License #
DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE

NOTE: ALL INFORMATION MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN INK.

1. School Name:

2. School Type: (circle one) Private Public

3. Opening Date (Change of Owner Date):

4. School’s Mailing Address and Contact Information: (USED FOR ALL CORRESPONDENCE)

Number, Street and Apt. No. - P.O. Box number
City State Zip Code
Phone Number Fax Number

5. School’s Physical Address:

Number, Street, Suite No.

City State Zip Code

6. Organization Type (circle one): Individual Partnership Corporation

7. Owner(s) Name:

8. Barber Teacher: Certificate #

Supervising Barber: License #

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT(S)

I certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Occupations Code, Title 9, Chapter 1601 and 1603; Tex. Admin. Code, Chapter 60;, and
the Barber Administrative Rules, Tex. Admin. Code, Chapter 82. | understand that providing false information on this application may result in revocation of the
license | am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties.

Date Signed Signature of Owner(s)

Date Signed Signature of Supervising Barber

TDLR (2/2006) This document is available on the TDLR website at www.license.state.tx.us



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION
P.O. Box 12157, Austin, Texas 78711-2157
1-800-803-9202 (within Texas) — (512) 463-6599 — FAX (512) 463-1512
www.license.state.tx.us — education@license.state.tx.us

BARBER SCHOOL PERMIT
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

AN APPLICATION IS NOT CONSIDERED COMPLETE AND WILL NOT BE PROCESSED
UNTIL ALL SECTIONS OF THE APPLICATION HAVE BEEN SUBMITTED AS REQUIRED.

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant. All information provided must be typed or printed
in black ink. This application must be submitted on single-sided, 8%2” x 11” paper. Please use a paperclip to
fasten all pages together, with cashiers check or money order on top. Please do not use staples.

1.

School Name - Enter the official name of the school. This must be the name used in
advertisements.

. School Type - Make one selection that most closely fits the type of business the school is

engaged in.

. Opening Date (change of owner date)- Enter the date that the school will be opening for

business. If a change of ownership, enter the date the change will be official.

School Mailing Address and Contact Information - Enter the mailing address for the school.
This address is where the Department will mail all correspondence and may be a post office
box. Enter the telephone number with area code, fax number for the contact person, email
address and website address, if applicable. Your email address will be part of the key
information required to transact business with TDLR. It will be kept confidential pursuant to
the Texas Public Information Act. The Department will not share it with the public.

. Physical Address - Enter the physical address of the school. This address is the actual

business location of the school. A post office box is not acceptable for the physical address.

. Organization Type - Please indicate if you are an individual, partnership or corporation

providing curriculum for the barbering industry.

. Owner(s) Name - Enter the name of the owner or owners of the school.

. Barber Teacher - Enter the name of the barber teacher that holds a teachers certificate.

Supervising Barber - Enter the name of the Class A barber who has at least five years’
experience in as a practicing barber.

. Signature - This application should be signed by an owner holding 25% of the business and

the supervising barber. Be sure to print the party’s name, sign and date the application.

TDLR 02-2006



PLEASE SEND YOUR APPLICATION, DOCUMENTATION AND CASHIERS CHECK OR MONEY
ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF $1,000.00, PAYABLE TO TDLR TO THE ADDRESS SHOWN

ABOVE. THE APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE.

The following documents must be submitted along with this permit application
before the department can perform an inspection and issue a license. When
submitting these documents please advise the department when your school will
be ready for approval. Schools may not enroll students prior to final approval.

O O o O O

O

A detailed drawing and chart of the proposed physical layout of the school, showing
the departments, floor space, equipment, lights, and outlets.

Photographs of the proposed school site, including interior and exterior of the building,
rooms and departments.

A copy of the building lease or proposed building lease if the building is not owned by
the school.

A facility and equipment list. The school must contain enough equipment to properly
instruct a minimum of 20 students.

A detailed copy of the training program.

A copy of the catalogue and promotional literature of the school.

Provide a copy of the curriculum for each course offered.

A sworn statement showing the ownership of the school.

An applicant must provide a current financial statement prepared by a certified public
accountant. If the financial statement is more than 180 days old, an applicant must
also provide a supplemental financial statement dated to within 180 days of the

application.

A cashiers check or money order in the amount of $1,000.00 payable to TDLR.

Please note: Inspections will not be performed until all requirements are met.

TDLR 02-2006



REQUIRED FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT CHECKLIST

(must be submitted with the Texas Barber School Permit application)

SIGNS:
Outside: 10 inch signs “BARBER SCHOOL STUDENT BARBERS”
Inside: On each wall “STUDENT BARBERS”, “SENIOR DEPARTMENT”
And “JUNIOR DEPARTMENT”
BUILDING:
A permanent type building containing at least 2,800 feet, divided into departments.
Senior Department
Junior Department
Class Theory Room
Two (2) sanitary, modern separate restrooms equipped with one (1) commode in each
One (1) urinal on one restroom
A hard surface floor covering of tile or other suitable material
Adequate drinking fountain facilities, but at least one (1) to each floor
Supply room
Office
Dressing and cloak room
EQUIPMENT:

20 Modern barber chairs with towel
Cabinet & mirror for each chair
(cabinet needs to be able to serve as a dry sanitizer & have storage for all hair cutting implements)
1 Lavatory for every 2 chairs

1 Wet sterilizer for each chair

1 Dry sterilizer for each chair

2 Vibrators

1 Manicure table & implements
Adequate perm wave rods

Time Clock

1 Wig, 1 Hairpiece, 1 Hairwoven Piece
1 Short haired mannequin

1 Long haired mannequin

2 Canvas type wig blocks

4 Latherizers

Adequate hair dryers

CLASSROOM EQUIPMENT

20 chairs

1 Barber chair

Blackboard

Desk

Standard human anatomy chart

Library medical dictionary (current anatomy)
Charts of head, neck and face

TDLR 02-2006



FIRE FIGHTING EQUIPMENT

1 fire extinguisher for each floor of the building

School and Theory Class Hours

At least five hours each week shall be devoted in the classroom to the instruction of theory.

e Open five (5) days a week, one (1) hour must be in theory.
e Open four (4) days a week, one hour (1) and fifteen (15) minutes must be in theory.

Saturday’s shall be exclusively practical work over the chair.

Please complete the following based on hours of operation. This must be submitted with permit
application.

School Hours Theory Class
Monday: am Monday: am
pm pm
Tuesday am Tuesday am
pm pm
Wednesday am Wednesday am
pm pm
Thursday am Thursday am
pm pm
Friday am Friday am
pm pm
Saturday am
pm

(Practical only)

NOTE: A barber school may not increase, decrease, or withhold for any reason the number
of credit hours earned by a student.

TDLR 02-2006



Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
Barber Program

Health & Safety Rules
Rules Effective March 1, 2006

The following health and safety (sanitation) rules must be posted in all
barber and barber specialty shops (Chapter 1601.452 Texas Occupations
Code) and barber schools (Chapter 1601.552 Texas Occupations Code).

Please make copies of these health and sanitation rules as needed, or copies may be
downloaded from the TDLR website at the following internet address:

http://www.license.state.tx.us/barbers/barbers.htm

For more information or to request copies by mail, email, or by telephone, please
contact:

Barber Program

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12884

Austin, TX 78711

800/803-9202
512/463-6599
512/463-2951 (fax)

E-mail requests to: barbers@license.state.tx.us
customer.service@license.state.tx.us




Barber Program — Health and Safety Rules
82.100. Health and Safety Definitions. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise.

(1) Chlorine bleach solutions - A chemical used to destroy bacteria and to disinfect implements and hard, non-porous surfaces;
solution should be mixed fresh at least once per day. As used in this chapter, chlorine bleach solutions fall into three categories
based on concentration and exposure time:

(A) Low level disinfection (100 - 200 ppm) - Add two teaspoons household (5.25%) bleach to one gallon water. Soak 10 minutes
minimum.

(B) High level disinfection (1,000 ppm) - Add one-third (1/3) cup household (5.25%) bleach to one gallon water. Soak 20 minutes
minimum.

(C) Blood and body fluid cleanup and disinfection (5,000 ppm) - Add one-and-three-quarters (1 %) cups household (5.25%) bleach
to one gallon water. Also referred to as 10% bleach solution.

(2) Clean or cleansing--Washing with liquid soap and water, detergent, antiseptics, or other adequate methods to remove all visible
debris or residue. Cleansing is not disinfection.

(3) Disinfect or disinfection--The use of chemicals to destroy pathogens on implements and other hard, non-porous surfaces to
render an item safe for handling, use, and disposal.

(4) Disinfectant — In this chapter, one of the following department-approved chemicals:

(A) an EPA-registered bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant used in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions;
(B) a chlorine bleach solution consisting of % cup of 5.25% per gallon of water; or

(C) an Isopropyl alcohol used at a concentration of at least 70% and ethyl alcohol used at a concentration of at least 90%.

(5) EPA-registered bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant — When used according to manufacturer’s instructions, a
chemical that is a low-level disinfectant used to destroy bacteria and to disinfect implements and hard, non-porous surfaces.

(6) Isopropyl or Ethyl alcohol--Isopropyl alcohol used at a concentration of at least 70% and ethyl alcohol used at a concentration of
at least 90% are chemicals that are a low-level disinfectant used to destroy bacteria and to disinfect implements.

(7) Multi-use items--ltems constructed of hard materials with smooth surfaces such as metal, glass, or plastic typically for use on
more than one client. The term includes but is not limited to such items as clippers, scissors, combs, nippers, and some nalils files.

(8) Single-use items--Porous items made or constructed of cloth, wood, or other absorbent materials having rough surfaces usually
intended for single use including but not limited to such items as tissues, orangewood sticks, cotton balls, some buffer blocks, and
gauze.

(9) Sterilize or sterilization--To make free from live bacteria or other microorganisms by use of an autoclave, dry heat or ultraviolet
light.

82.101. Health and Safety Standards--Department-Approved Disinfectants. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)
(a) EPA-registered bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectants shall be used as follows:

(1) Implements and surfaces shall first be thoroughly cleaned of all visible debris prior to disinfection. EPA-registered bactericidal,
fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectants become inactivated and ineffective when visibly contaminated with debris, hair, dirt and
particulates.

(2) Some disinfectants may be sprayed on the instruments, tools, or equipment to be disinfected.

(3) Disinfectants in which implements are to be immersed shall be prepared fresh daily or more often if solution becomes diluted or
soiled.




(4) In all cases the disinfectant shall be used in accordance with the manufacturers’ recommendation or other guidance in this rule.

(5) These chemicals are harsh and may affect the long term use of scissors and other sharp objects. Therefore, the Department
recommends leaving items in solution in accordance with the manufacturers’ recommendation for effective disinfection.

(b) Chlorine bleach solutions shall be used as follows:

(1) Chlorine bleach at the appropriate concentration is an effective disinfectant for all purposes in a salon.

(2) Chlorine bleach solutions shall be mixed daily at the following minimum standard: one-third (1/3) cup of 5.25% bleach per gallon
of water.

(3) Chlorine bleach shall be kept in a closed covered container and not exposed to sunlight.

(4) Chlorine bleach may affect the long-term use of scissors and other sharp objects so the Department does not recommend
leaving items in bleach solution beyond 2 minutes for effective disinfection (5 minutes if disinfecting for blood contamination).

(5) Chlorine bleach vapors might react with vapors from other chemicals. Therefore chlorine bleach shall not be placed or stored
near other chemicals used in salons (i.e. acrylic monomers, alcohol, or other disinfecting products) or near flame.

(6) Used or soiled chlorine bleach solution shall be properly disposed of each day.

(c) Isopropyl or Ethyl alcohols shall be used as follows:

(1) Isopropyl alcohol at a concentration of at least 70% and ethyl alcohol at a concentration of at least 90% are low-level
disinfectants.

(2) Alcohol shall not be used to clean and disinfect blood or body fluid.

(3) All alcohol shall be kept in a covered container. Alcohol deteriorates in some plastics, metals and rubber items.

(4) Alcohol may affect the long-term use of scissors and other sharp objects.

(5) The Department recommends leaving items in alcohol in accordance with the manufacturer's recommendation for effective
disinfection. When using alcohol on surfaces other than non-porous materials, the time of contact shall be between 1 to 3 minutes
after proper cleaning that removed all visible debris.

(6) Alcohol may be sprayed onto porous or absorbent surfaces after cleaning, with contact time on the surface of the item for at least
1 minute, provided the porous items have not contacted broken or unhealthy skin or nails.

82.102. Health and Safety Standards--General Requirements. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) All barber establishments and licensees shall utilize clean and disinfected equipment, tools, implements, and supplies in
accordance with this Chapter, and shall employ good hygiene habits while providing barbering services.

(b) A licensee may not perform services on a client if the licensee has reason to believe the client has a contagious condition such
as head lice, nits, ringworm; or inflamed, infected, broken, raised or swollen skin or nail tissue; or an open wound or sore in the area
to be serviced.

(c) Multi-use equipment, implements, tools or materials not addressed in this chapter shall be cleaned and disinfected before use on
each client. Chairs and dryers do not need to be disinfected prior to use for each client.

(d) Single-use equipment, implements, tools or porous items not addressed in this rule shall be discarded after use on a single
client.

(e) Electrical equipment that cannot be immersed in liquid shall be wiped clean and disinfected prior to each use on a client.

(f) All clean and disinfected implements and materials when not in use shall be stored in a clean, dry, debris-free environment
including but not limited to drawers, cases, tool belts, rolling trays, or hung from hooks. They must be stored separate from soiled
implements and materials. Ultraviolet electrical sanitizers are permissible for use as a dry storage container. Non-barber related
supplies must be stored in separate drawers or locations.




(9) A container of liquid disinfectant shall be located at each barber chair or station in a barber establishment to be used to disinfect
combs, brushes, scissors or other equipment which may be safely immersed in a liquid disinfectant.

(h) Shampoo bowls and manicure tables shall be disinfected prior to use for each client.

(i) Floors in barber establishments shall be thoroughly cleaned each day. All hair cuttings shall be removed as soon as practicable.

(i) All trash containers must be emptied daily and kept clean by washing or using plastic liners.

(k) Hand washing facilities, including hot and cold running water must be provided for employees.

(I) Clean towels shall be used on each client.

(m) Soiled towels shall be removed after use on each client and deposited in a suitable receptacle.

(n) Each barber establishment shall keep all products used in the conduct of their business properly labeled in compliance with
OSHA requirements.

(o) Haircutting capes and shampoo capes shall be kept clean. A clean (one-use) cape shall be used for each client, or a sanitary
neck strip or towel shall be used to keep capes from coming into direct contact with the client’s neck.

82.103. Health and Safety Standards--Hair Cutting, Styling, Treatment and Shaving Services. (Rule effective March 1, 2006,
31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Barbers shall wash their hands with soap and water, or use a liquid hand sanitizer, prior to performing any services on a client.

(b) All equipment, implements, tools and materials shall be properly cleaned and disinfected in accordance with this rule prior to
servicing each client.

(c) After each client, all non-disposable implements shall be cleaned and sprayed with either an EPA-registered bactericidal,
fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant, or isopropyl alcohol, ethyl alcohol, or a high-level disinfection chlorine bleach solution.
Equipment, implements, tools and materials to be cleaned and disinfected include but are not limited to combs and picks, haircutting
shears, thinning shears/texturizers, razors, edgers, guards, clippers, and perm rods.

(d) At the end of each day of use, the above items, along with any other tools, such as sectioning clips, brushes, comb and picks
shall be cleaned by manually scrubbing with soap and water or adequate methods, and then disinfected by one of the following
methods:

(1) Complete immersion in an EPA-registered bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant in accordance with manufacturer’s
instructions.

(2) Complete immersion in isopropyl alcohol or ethyl alcohol;

(3) Complete immersion in a high-level disinfection chlorine bleach solution.

82.104. Health and Safety Standards--Facial Services. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Barbers and barber technicians shall wash their hands with soap and water, or use a liquid hand sanitizer, prior to performing
any services on a client. Gloves shall be worn during any type of extraction.

(b) Equipment, implements, tools and materials shall be properly cleaned and disinfected prior to servicing each client in accordance
to this rule.

(c) Facial chairs and beds, including headrest for each, shall be cleaned prior to providing service to each client.

(d) After each client, the following implements shall be cleaned and disinfected: tweezers and comedone extractors.

(e) The following implements are single-use items and shall be discarded in a trash receptacle after use: cotton pads, cotton balls,
gauze, wooden applicators, disposable gloves, tissues, disposable wipes, lancets, fabric strips and other items used for a similar
purpose as one or more of the items listed above.




(f) The following items that are used during services shall be replaced with clean items for each client: disposable and terry cloth
towels, hair caps, headbands, brushes, gowns, makeup brushes, spatulas that contact skin or products from multi-use containers,
sponges and other items used for a similar purpose as any one of the items listed above.

(g) Items subject to possible cross contamination such as creams, cosmetics, astringents, lotions, removers, waxes, moisturizers,
masks and oils shall be used in a manner so as not to contaminate the remaining product. Applicators shall not be re-dipped in
product. Permitted procedures to avoid cross contamination are:

(1) Disposing of the remaining product before beginning services on each client; or

(2) Using a single-use disposable implement to apply product and disposing of such implement after use; or

(3) Using an applicator bottle to apply the product.

82.105. Health and Safety Standards--Waxing Services. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Barbers and barber technicians shall clean the areas of the client’s body on which the service is to be administered. Barbers
and barber technicians may perform waxing services only on the face and/or neck of a client.

(b) Barbers and barber technicians shall wash their hands with soap and water, or use a liquid hand sanitizer, prior to performing
any services on a client.

(c) Barbers and barber technicians performing waxing services shall dispose of after each use all wax that has been in contact with
a client’s skin. Wax may not be reused under any circumstances.

(d) All wax pots shall be cleaned and disinfected in accordance with manufacturer’'s recommendations. No applicators shall be left
standing in the wax at any time.

82.106. Health and Safety Standards--Manicure and Pedicure Services. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Barbers and barber manicurists shall clean their hands with soap and water or a hand sanitizer prior to performing any services.

(b) Barbers and barber manicurists shall clean the areas of the client's body on which the service is to be administered.

(c) All non-porous manicure and pedicure tools shall be properly cleaned, disinfected and sterilized prior to each service, in
accordance with this chapter, regardless of the tool's multiuse for only a single client or for multiple clients.

(d) After each client, the following implements shall be cleaned and disinfected in accordance with the rule: metal pusher and files,
cuticle nipper and scissors, tweezers, nail brushes, finger and toe nail clippers and electric file bits.

(e) The following implements are single-use items and shall be discarded after use: orangewood sticks, cotton balls, nail wipes and
disposable towels.

(f) Buffer blocks, porous nalil files, pedicure files, callus rasps, natural pumice and foot brush, arbor, sanding bands, sleeves, heel
and toe pumice, exfoliating block (rough surfaced or absorbent materials) shall be cleaned by manually brushing or other adequate
methods to remove all visible debris after each use, and then sprayed with Isopropyl or ethyl alcohol, an EPA-registered
bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant, or a high-level disinfection chlorine bleach solution in accordance with this
chapter. If a buffer block or porous nail file is exposed to broken skin (skin that is not intact) or unhealthy skin or nails, it must be
discarded immediately after use in a trash receptacle.

(g) The following materials that are used during a manicure and pedicure shall be replaced with new or clean articles for each client:
terry cloth towels, finger bowls and spatulas that contact skin or skin products from multi-use containers.

82.107. Health and Safety Standards--Electric Drill Bits. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Only electric files, drills, or machines specifically designed and manufactured for use in the professional nail industry may be
used in any barber establishment for performing manicure or pedicure services. Craft, hardware, and hobby tools cannot be used
under any circumstances.

(b) After each use, diamond, carbide, natural and metal bits shall be cleaned by either

(1) using a brush; or




(2) using an ultrasonic cleaner; or
(3) immersing the bit in acetone for 5 to 10 minutes

(c) Immediately after cleaning all visible debris, diamond, carbide, natural and metal bits shall be disinfected by complete immersion
in an appropriate disinfectant between clients.

(d) Buffing bits and chamois shall be cleaned with soap and water at the end of every day of use in addition to being cleaned or
replaced between clients.

82.108. Health and Safety Standards--Footspas. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) As used in this section, “whirlpool footspa” or “spa” is defined as any basin using circulating water, either in a self-contained unit
or in a unit that is connected to other plumbing in the establishment. The cleaning and disinfecting procedures for foot spas in this
section shall be followed for units connected to an establishment’s plumbing, and, to every extent possible, self-contained units.

(b) Before use upon each patron, each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner.
(1) All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the spa basin.
(2) The spa basin must be cleaned with soap or detergent and water.

(3) The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA registered disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal
activity which must be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

(4) The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.
(c) At the end of each day, each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner:

(1) The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen shall be removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be
washed with soap and water or detergent and water.

(2) Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be performed:

(A) The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of one-third (1/3) cup of 5.25% chlorine bleach to one (1) gallon of
water; or

(B) The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal
activity which must be used according to manufacturer’s instructions.

(3) The spa system shall be flushed with soap and warm water for at least ten (10) minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and
drained.

(d) Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in this subsection, each whirlpool foot spa shall be
cleaned and disinfected in the following manner:

(1) The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and one-third (1/3) cup of 5.25% chlorine bleach for each one (1) gallon of
water.

(2) The spa system shall be flushed with the chlorine bleach and water solution or an EPA-registered disinfectant with demonstrated
bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity according to the manufacturer’s instructions for 5 to 10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6
to 10 hours.

(3) The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use upon a patron.

(e) A record shall be made on a form prescribe by the Department of the date and time of each cleaning and disinfecting indicating
whether the cleaning was a daily or bi-weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of cleaning and disinfecting.
The record shall indicate if a spa was not used at all during any individual work day. Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be
made available upon request by either a patron or a Department representative.

(f) A footspa for which documentation is not maintained in accordance with this rule must be removed from service and not used
again until it has be cleaned and disinfected in accordance with the requirements of this rule and the records have been properly
updated.
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82.109. Health and Safety Standards--Wig and Hairpiece Services. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Barbers shall wash their hands with soap and water, or use a liquid hand sanitizer, prior to performing any services on a client.

(b) All equipment, implements, tools and materials shall be properly cleaned and disinfected in accordance with this rule prior to
servicing each client.

(c) After each client, the following implements shall be wiped with a clean paper or fabric towel and sprayed with either an EPA-
registered bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant, or isopropyl alcohol, ethyl alcohol, or high-level disinfection chlorine
bleach solution. Equipment, implements, tools and materials to be cleaned and disinfected include but are not limited to combs and
picks, haircutting shears, thinning shears/texturizers, razors, edgers, guards, perm rods and bowls or containers used to clean or
color wigs or hairpieces.

(d) At the end of each day of use, the above items, along with any other tools, such as sectioning clips, brushes, comb and picks
shall be cleaned by manually scrubbing with soap and water or adequate methods, and then disinfected by one of the following
methods:

(1) Complete immersion in an EPA-registered bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal disinfectant in accordance with manufacturer's
instructions.

(2) Complete immersion in isopropyl alcohol or ethyl alcohol;

(3) Complete immersion in a high-level disinfection chlorine bleach solution.

(e) After the initial sale of a hairpiece, and prior to that hairpiece being resold, it must be properly disinfected.

(f) Used wigs and hairpieces shall be kept in a close bag or container until ready to be cleaned.

(g) Any wig block used to service a hairpiece should be covered with a plastic bag and kept in a sanitized condition after each use.
Any wig block used to service hairpieces shall be sprayed with an EPA registered disinfectant solution after each use and kept in a
sanitary condition.

(h) Finished wigs and hairpieces shall be placed away from soiled wigs and hairpieces until ready to be returned to the client.
82.110. Health and Safety Standards--Hair Weaving Services. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)
(a) Barbers shall wash their hands with soap and water, or use a liquid hand sanitizer, prior to performing any services on a client.

(b) All equipment, implements, tools and materials shall be properly cleaned and disinfected in accordance with this rule prior to
servicing each client.

(c) Hair extensions, tracks, needles, and thread shall be stored in a bag or covered container until ready to use. No unrelated items
shall be stored in the same bag or container.

(d) Needles shall be sprayed with a disinfectant before use.
82.111. Health and Safety Standards--Blood and Body Fluids. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Blood can carry many pathogens. For this reason licensees should never touch a client’s open sore or wound. Powdered alum,
styptic powder, or a cyanoacrylate (e.g. liquid-type bandage) may be used to contract the skin to stop minor bleeding, and should be
applied to the open area with a disposable cotton-tipped instrument that is immediately discarded after application.

(b) In the case of blood or body fluid contact on any surface area such as a table, chair, or the floor, an EPA-registered hospital
grade disinfectant, a tuberculocidal disinfectant, or a 10% bleach solution (one-and-three-quarters (1 %) cups of 5.25% bleach in
one gallon of water) shall be used per manufacturer’s instructions immediately to clean up all visible blood or body fluids.

(c) If any non-porous instrument is contacted with blood or body fluid, it shall be immediately cleaned and disinfected using an EPA-
registered hospital grade disinfectant or a tuberculocidal disinfectant in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions, or totally
immersed in a 10% bleach solution (one-and-three-quarters (1 %) cups of 5.25% bleach in one gallon of water) for 5 minutes.

(d) If any porous instrument contacts blood or body fluid, it shall be immediately double-bagged and discarded in a closed trash
container or biohazard box.




82.112. Health and Safety Standards--Prohibited Products or Practices. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)
(a) Licensees may not use any of the following substances or products in performing barbering services:

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomers, a.k.a., MMA

(2) Razor-type callus shavers designed and intended to cut growths of skin such as corns and calluses, e.g., credo blades.
(3) Alum or other astringents in stick or lump form. (Alum or other astringents in powder or liquid form are acceptable.)

(4) Fumigants such as formalin (formaldehyde) tablets or liquids.

(5) A drill or similar tool designed for use by a manicurist or pedicurist, without proof of certification of training of that manicurist or
pedicurist through a program approved by the department.

(b) Possession on licensed premises of any item listed in this section is a violation under this chapter.
82.113. Health and Safety Standards--FDA. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Licensees shall not use any product in providing a service authorized under the Act that is banned or deemed to be poisonous or
unsafe by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or other local, state, or federal governmental agencies responsible
for making such determinations.

(b) Possession or storage on licensed premises of any item banned or deemed to be poisonous or unsafe by the FDA or other
governmental agency shall be considered prima facie evidence of its use.

(c) For the purpose of performing services authorized under the Act, no licensee shall buy, sell, use, or apply to any person liquid
monomeric methyl methacrylate (MMA).

82.114. Health and Safety Standards--Establishments. (Rule effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1297)

(a) Establishments shall keep the floors, walls, ceilings, shelves, furniture, furnishings, and fixtures clean and in good repair. Any
cracks, holes, or other similar disrepair not readily accessible for cleaning shall be repaired or filled in to create a smooth, washable
surface.

(b) All floors in areas where services under the Act are performed, including restrooms and areas where chemicals are mixed or
where water may splash, must be of a material which is not porous or absorbent and is easily washable, except that anti-slip
applications or plastic floor coverings may be used for safety reasons. Carpet is permitted in the reception area.

(c) Plumbing fixtures, including toilets and wash basins, shall be kept clean. They must be free from cracks and similar disrepair that
cannot be readily accessible for cleaning.

(d) Each establishment must have suitable plumbing that provides an adequate and readily available supply of hot and cold running
water at all times and that is connected for drainage of sewage and potable water within the areas where work is performed and
supplies dispensed.

(e) Every establishment shall provide at least one restroom located on or near the premises of the establishment. For public safety,
chemical supplies shall not be stored in the restroom.

(f) Food or beverages shall not be prepared on licensed premises for sale or client consumption. Pre-packaged food or beverages
may be sold to or consumed by clients.

(g) For public health and safety, licensed premises shall eliminate any strong odors through adequate ventilation, including but not
limited to, exhaust fans and air filtration to exhaust chemicals and fumes away from the public area and to provide for the input of
fresh air.

(h) Licensed premises shall not be utilized for living or sleeping purposes, or any other purpose that would tend to make the
premises unsanitary, unsafe, or endanger the health and safety of the public. An establishment that is attached to a residence must
have an entrance that is separate and distinct from the residential entrance. Any door between a residence and a licensed facility
must be closed during business hours.

(i) No animals with the exception of those providing assistance to individuals are allowed in establishments. Covered aquariums are
allowed provided that they are maintained in a sanitary condition.
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