TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING & REGULATION
P0. Box 12157 - Austin, Texas 78711-2157
education@tdlrtexas.gov - www.tdlr.texas.gov

COSMETOLOGY CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

THE APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETED AND SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT. ALL INFORMATION PROVIDED MUST BE
TYPED OR PRINTED IN BLACK INK. THE APPLICATION MUST BE SUBMITTED ON SINGLE-SIDED, 872" X 11" PAPER. PLEASE
USE A PAPERCLIP TO FASTEN ALL PAGES TOGETHER, WITH THE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ON TOP. DO NOT USE
STAPLES. YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED COMPLETE AND WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL WE HAVE
RECEIVED ALL REQUIRED ITEMS.

1. PROVIDER NAME AND NUMBER - Enter your provider name and your TDLR provider number. If you do not yet
have your TDLR provider number, please write “APPLIED” in the TDLR provider number field.

2. CONTACT PERSON/EMAIL — Enter the contact person’s name and email that will be the point of contact for
questions regarding the course material.

3. COURSE TITLE - Enter your continuing education (CE) course title. You must use that same title in your course
materials and advertising. The title is limited to a maximum of 30 characters.

4. COURSE CONTENT — Enter the number of hours for each content area your course will cover. In accordance with
Chapter 59, one hour of credit equals 50 minutes of instruction time and course instruction must be dedicated to one
or more of the following topics:

e Sanitation, the Act and this chapter; and
e Topics listed in 83.120 Technical Requirements — Curriculum
e Methods of teaching in accordance with 83.120 (for instructors only)

Licensees are required to complete 1 hour of sanitation. Refer to the cosmetology administrative rules Section
83.25 for the specific requirements for continuing education. The cosmetology law and cosmetology Administrative
rules must be quoted, no paraphrasing. (www.tdIr.texas.gov/cosmet/cosmetrules.htm)

5. HUMAN TRAFFICKING - You must indicate how you will cover the topic of Human Trafficking in the course which at
a minimum must include:

e activities commonly associated with human trafficking
e recognition of potential victims of human trafficking, and
o methods for assisting victims of human trafficking, including how to report human trafficking.

Human trafficking information can be found by visiting the Office of the Attorney General’'s Human
Trafficking Page and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Blue Campaign and TDLR webpages:

e https://texasattorneygeneral.gov/human-trafficking Texas Office of the Attorney General

e https://www.dhs.gov/blue-campaign U.S. Department of Homeland Security Blue Campaign

e https://www.tdIr.texas.gov/humantrafficking.htm TDLR Combats Human Trafficking

6. COURSE LENGTH — Enter the number of CE hours (in whole hours) you are requesting for the course.
Your course application will be processed and the final number of course hours will be determined by our
department.

Course Effective Date (suggested but optional): All course applications are processed on a first-come, first-served
basis, and are generally effective on the date of approval. If you would like your course effective date to be
sometime later, enter it in the space provided on the application. The course certificate will print with the effective
date noted on the application. We encourage providers to use this option and submit courses which will be
replacing expiring courses at least 60 - 90 days prior to expiration.
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7. DELIVERY METHOD - Select your course delivery method or methods. A classroom course that uses the internet,

computers or videos within the classroom should be selected as a classroom course. Courses that can only be
taken on the internet should be selected as an internet course or webinar.

8. DELIVERY LANGUAGE(S) — Select the language or languages in which you will give the course. If your

course is in English but has translations to other languages, the delivery language is English. If your course and
materials are given in a different language (and not in English), select that other language. If your course is in
more than one language, select each language for the course.

Please notify. the Education and Examination Division by mail or e-mail at the above address if you are going to
offer the course in a different language at a later date.

9. REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS

a.

Timed Topic Outline - (A sample outline can be found on the website if needed.)

Your timed topic outline is a class schedule that shows the amount of time you plan for each topic and
language. One hour of credit equals 50 minutes of instruction time. The outline should name the
reference source for each topic, and give chapters including section numbers. The Timed Topic Outline
should provide enough information to clearly determine the topics being covered in the course material. The
requirement for identifying source material applies to both standard references and to the state law and
administrative rules.

Course References - Your application must be filed with a list of all related course materials referenced in
your timed topic outline (see 8a. above) and indicate how you will cover the topic of Human Trafficking.
References should include videotapes, software, textbooks, handouts, and any other media
presentations. Do not submit copies of standard texts, or Texas laws or rules. Instead, state in the timed
topic outline which sections you will use in the course.

e If you are covering TDLR’s law or rules that regulate the conduct of licensees, your course material
must quote the law or rules directly, do not paraphrase. You may add explanations to the quoted
sections.

e Do not include binders, CDs, DVDs, USB flash drives or any other course material with your application.

e You must develop course material that encourages learning. Provide detailed references in your timed
topic outline to determine that the course complies with all requirements. (see 8a above)

o Course materials must have the following characteristics:
- appropriate grammar, spelling, and punctuation;
- appropriate illustrations and graphics to show concepts not easily explained in words;

- acomprehensive presentation of subject matter intended to increase or support the skills or abilities
of the licensee.

Do not include course material with your application. Course material used and referenced will be audited for
compliance during the term of the course approval. CE Providers will be randomly chosen for audit to determine if
courses comply with Chapter 59 and/or Chapter 67.

For internet-based courses, provide a link to your website (see 8d. below).




10.

c. Attendance Verification - Describe your procedures for verifying licensee attendance, as required by
Section 59.51(1):“Providers are responsible for the conduct and administration of their courses, including
the punctuality of classroom sessions, verification of participant attendance and instructor performance.
Providers shall ensure that their courses are administered in substantially the same manner as
represented in the application for course approval.”

Examples:

For a classroom course: You may require a photo ID and TDLR license card at sign-in, and require the
licensee to sign the attendance roster at the end of the course. You would be required to confirm that the
licensee spends at least the approved amount of time taking the course. For a web-based course: Your
course, which should be timed so that the licensee is active in the course for the full amount of TDLR
approved course time, may include attendance verification questions such as favorite actor, car or truck,
etc. At least two attendance verification questions per hour are to be asked and answered.

d. Internet Course Log-in and Attendance Verification Procedures - Each internet course application must
include the log-in and password information for the website. The log-in and password must be accessible
for the entire one-year term of approval for the course. Each internet course application must include the
attendance verification questions used. At the time of purchase, all internet courses must include the date
the course will expire and inform the licensee that the course must be completed before the course will
expire.

e. Course application fee - You must submit a separate course application for each course along with the
course application fee. If you are sending more than one application, you may combine the application
fees in one check (example: three course applications with one check for $300.00).

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT FOR CE PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES —

Place a xin each box if you are providing an internet course. If you are providing a classroom course, place a
in each box except the last box regarding internet course information. By signing the certification statement, you
confirm that you will maintain and provide all required documentation to the department or a participant in
accordance with Chapter 59.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

It is the responsibility of the CE Provider to include correct and up-to-date course content material in all
courses and to update the material as necessary (example: a rule change after the course is approved).

Courses or portions of courses that promote the product or products of a manufacturer will NOT be
considered for approval.

No course may be advertised as an approved course unless it is approved by the TDLR. All advertising must
follow department requirements as stated in CE provider administrative rule 59.51.

Each course is valid for a period of one year from the date it was approved. The expiration date of the
course will be shown on the course approval certificate. The approved course will no longer be valid if the
provider’s registration is cancelled.

No course shall be given after the course expiration date.

Please send all course applications and required application fees to the address at the top of the application.
Form of payment acceptable is a check or money order made payable to TDLR. All application fees are
non-refundable. If you are sending applications overnight, send it to the department’s physical address
(TDLR, 920 Colorado Street; Austin, TX 78701).

Note: All course applications are processed in the order received with no exceptions. No course approval
applications will be back-dated for approval.




TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING & REGULATION
P.0. Box 12157 - Austin, Texas 78711-2157
education@tdlrtexas.gov - www.tdlr.texas.gov

COSMETOLOGY CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION

YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE OR THE APPLICATION WILL BE TERMINATED.
APPLICATION FEE:$100 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE)

1. Provider Name: Provider Number:

2. Contact Person: Email:

3. Course Title:

B

Course Content: (Indicate number of hours)

Sanitation: Technical Requirements Curriculum 83.120: Teaching Methods 83.120:

5.  Human Trafficking information has been included in the course. []

6. Course Length: Effective Date:

7. Delivery Method: [ Classroom [ Internet ] Webinar

8.  Delivery Language: [] English [] Spanish [] Vietnamese
9. Required Attachments: (see instruction page)

e Timed Topic Outline

Course References

Attendance Verification

Internet Course login and Attendance Verification Procedures

Application Fee

TDLR Form COSO002N vers April 2020



10. Certification Statement for CE Provider Responsibilities

By checking the following boxes and by my signature, | certify that the required documentation will be maintained
and made available to the Department upon request. | certify that | will comply with all applicable provisions of the
Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51; Tex. Admin. Code, Title 16 Chapter 59. | understand that providing false
information on this application may result in revocation of my CE Provider registration and the imposition of
administrative penalties.

Place in each box:

Courses will not be offered until approved by the Department.
If my provider registration expires, | will cease from offering all courses.

All continuing education course material will have appropriate grammar, spelling, punctuation,
illustrations and graphics.

Course advertisements for continuing education courses must include the CE Provider’'s number and the
course number assigned by the Department.

I have indicated on the required timed topic outline the information on human trafficking as required by
Chapter 83.

The CE certificate of completion must include the name of course, course number assigned by
Department, course completion date, provider name and number, number of hours of continuing
education credit, signature of the provider representative and the name, license type and license
number of the participant who attended course.

O O 0O OooOd

Course completions will be submitted to the Department using the CE Reporting System, no later than
seven days after the course completion date.
Course completion records will be maintained for a period of two years after completion of a course.

O

[ [lunderstand that an audit may be conducted without prior notice to determine whether we are
complying with the requirements of Chapter 59. No fee will be charged to any Department employees or
representative and | will cooperate fully with the Department.

[ 1 understand that the Department may not approve a continuing education course if we are past due or
not current on the payment of any unpaid required fees, including record fees or administrative
penalties.

[0 Upon notification by the Department that a provider is past due or not current on the payment of any
unpaid required fees, including record fees or administrative penalties, a provider may not enroll a
participant in a continuing education course without department approval.

[ Forinternet courses, a login and password will be provided to the Department for all online courses
which will have access available for one year.

Signature of Owner, Officer, or Authorized Representative CE Provider Number

Printed Name Date Signed

TDLR Form COS002N vers April 2020
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