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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION 
P.O. Box 12157, Austin, Texas 78711-2157 

CS 800-803-9202 or (512) 463-6599  FAX (512) 463-1512 
www.tdlr.texas.gov   education@tdlr.texas.gov 

 

TOWING OPERATOR CONTINUING EDUCATION 
COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 
  

PLEASE NOTE: 
  

• The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.   
• All information provided must be typed or printed in black ink.   
• The application must be submitted on single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.   
• Please use a paperclip to fasten all pages together, with the check or money order on top.   
 Do not use staples.  
• Your application will not be considered complete and will not be processed until we have received 

all required items. 

  
1. Provider Name and Number - Enter your provider name and your TDLR provider number. If you do not yet 

have your TDLR provider number, please write “APPLIED” in the TDLR provider number field. 
  
2.     Contact Person/Email - Enter the contact person’s name and email that will be the point of contact for     
        questions regarding the course material.     
  
3.     Course Title - Enter your continuing education (CE) course title. You must use that same title in your 
        course materials and advertising. The title is limited to a maximum of 30 characters. 
  
4. Course Content - Enter the number of hours for each content area your course will cover. In accordance 

with Chapter 59, one hour of credit equals 50 minutes of instruction time and course instruction must be 
dedicated to one or more of the following topics: 

 
 Towing Operators must complete four hours CE in the following: 
 

• Roadway Safety 

• Texas Law and Rules that regulate the conduct of towing operators; and  

• Any of the following topics: towing industry related topics such as driver safety, towing techniques, 
equipment operation and safety; and customer service and documentation.  

 
 Licensees must complete one hour in roadway safety; one hour in tow operator law and rules and two hours in 

related topics. TDLR law and rules must be quoted, no paraphrasing. Refer to vehicle towing administrative rules 
86.250 for specific continuing education requirements. (www.tdlr.texas.gov/towing/towrules.htm)  

 
 SHRP2 – the Strategic Highway Research Program 2 may also be submitted for course approval by the 

department.  
 
 Incident Management (IM) 1st Time Licensees must complete eight hours CE in the following course types 

and must include the required topics: 
 

• At least 2 hours in live demonstration and hands-on training 

• At least 2 hours in classroom training, and 

• Remaining 4 hours may be in classroom training or live demonstration and hands-on training.  
 

Required Topics: 
 

• How light-duty tow trucks work; towing with a tow sling; car carrier operation; light-duty tow trucks; 
vehicle maintenance; towing with a wheel lift; using tow dollies; vehicle recovery; field procedures and 
safety 
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5. Course Length - Enter the number of CE hours (in whole hours) you are requesting for the course. Your 

course application will be processed and the final number of course hours will be determined by our 
department. 

  

 Course Effective Date (optional): All course applications are processed on a first-come, first-served basis, 
and are generally effective on the date of approval.  If you would like your course effective date to be 
sometime later, enter it in the space provided on the application.  The course certificate will print with the 
effective date noted on the application. We encourage providers to use this option and submit courses 
which will be replacing expiring courses at least 60 days prior to expiration.  

  
6. Delivery Method – Select your course delivery method or methods.  A classroom course that uses the 

internet, computers or videos within the classroom should be selected as a classroom course.  Courses 
that can only be taken on the internet should be selected as an internet course or webinar. 

 
 7.    Delivery Language(s) - Select the language or languages in which you will give the course. If your course 
        is in English, but has translations to other languages, the delivery language is English.  If your course and  
        materials are given in a different language (and not in English), select that other language.  If your course is  
        in more than one language, select each language for the course.  
 

 Please notify the Education and Examination Division by mail or e-mail at the above address if you are 
going to offer the course in a different language at a later date.  

  
 
 8.      Required Attachments 

  
a. Timed Topic Outline – Your timed topic outline is a class schedule that shows the amount of time  
 you plan for each topic and language. One hour of credit equals 50 minutes of instruction time. 

The outline should name the reference source for each topic, and give chapters including section 
numbers. The Timed Topic Outline should provide enough information to clearly determine the topics 
being covered in the course material. The requirement for identifying source material applies to both 
standard references and to the state law and administrative rules. (A sample outline can be found on 
the website if needed.) 

 
b. Course References - Your application must be filed with a list of all related course materials 

referenced in your timed topic outline (see 8a. above). References should include videotapes, 
software, textbooks, handouts and any other presentation media. 

 
 

• Do not submit copies of standard texts, or Texas laws or rules.  Instead, state in the timed topic 
outline which sections you will use in the course. 

• If you are covering TDLR’s law or rules that regulate the conduct of licensees, your course 
 material must quote the law or rules directly, do not paraphrase.  You may add explanations to the 

quoted sections. 

• Do not include binders, cds, dvds, usb flash-drives or any other course material with your 
application.  

• You must develop course material that encourages learning. Provide detailed references in your 
timed topic outline to determine that the course complies with all requirements. (see 8a above) 

• Course materials must have the following characteristics: 
-  appropriate grammar, spelling and punctuation; 
-  appropriate illustrations and graphics to show concepts not easily explained in words; 
-  a comprehensive presentation of subject matter intended to increase or support the skills or 

abilities of the licensee. 
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Do not include course material with your application. Course material used and referenced will be audited  
for compliance during the term of the course approval. CE Providers will be randomly chosen for audit to  
determine if courses comply with Chapter 59 and/or Chapter 86.  
       
 For internet-based courses, provide a link to your website (see 8d. below).    
 
  
c. Attendance Verification – Describe your procedures for verifying licensee attendance, as required  
 by Section 59.51(l):“Providers are responsible for the conduct and administration of their courses,  
 including the punctuality of classroom sessions, verification of participant attendance and instructor  
 performance. Providers shall ensure that their courses are administered in substantially the same  
 manner as represented in the application for course approval.”  
 

Examples: 
  

For a classroom course:  You may require a photo ID and TDLR license card at sign-in, and 
require the licensee to sign the attendance roster at the end of the course.  You would be 
required to confirm that the licensee spends at least the approved amount of time taking the 
course.  
For a web-based course:  Your course, which should be timed so that the licensee is active in 
the course for the full amount of TDLR-approved course time, may include attendance 
verification questions such as favorite actor, car or truck, etc.  At least two attendance 
verification questions per hour are to be asked and answered. 

  
 
d. Internet Course Log-in and Attendance Verification Procedures – Each internet course 

application must include the log-in and password information for the website.  The log-in and 
password must be accessible for the entire one year term of approval for the course. Each 
internet course application must include the attendance verification questions used. At the 
time of purchase, all internet courses must include the date the course will expire and inform 
the licensee that the course must be completed before the course will expire.  

 
  
e. Course application fee – You must submit a separate course application for each course 

along with the course application fee.  If you are sending more than one application, you may 
combine the  application fees in one check (example: three course applications with one check 
for $300.00). 

 
 
 

Certification Statement for CE Provider Responsibilities 
   
Place a  in each box if you are providing an internet course. If you are providing a classroom course, place a  
In each box except the last box regarding internet course information. By signing the certification statement, you 
confirm that you will maintain and provide all required documentation to the department or a participant in 
accordance with Chapter 59.  
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   ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

  
  

• It is the responsibility of the CE Provider to include correct and up-to-date course content material in all 
courses and to update the material as necessary (example: a rule change after the course is approved).   

• Courses or portions of courses that promote the product or products of a manufacturer will NOT be 
considered for approval. 

• No course may be advertised as an approved course unless it is approved by the TDLR.  All advertising 
must follow department requirements as stated in CE provider administrative rule 59.51. 

• Each course is valid for a period of one year from the date it was approved. The expiration date of the 
course will be shown on the course approval certificate. The approved course will no longer be valid if the 
provider’s registration is cancelled. 

•  No course shall be given after the course expiration date.   

• Please send all course applications and required application fees to the address at the top of the 
application. Form of payment acceptable is check or money order made payable to TDLR. All application 
fees are non-refundable.  If you are sending applications overnight, send it to the department’s physical 
address (TDLR, 920 Colorado Street; Austin, TX  78701).  

 
Note: All course applications are processed in the order received with no exceptions.  

  
 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION 
P.O. Box 12157  -  Austin, Texas  78711-2157 

CS 800-803-9202 or (512) 463-6599   FAX (512) 463-1512 
www.tdlr.texas.gov           education@tdlr.texas.gov 

 

APPLICATION FOR: 

TOWING OPERATOR 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE APPROVAL 
PURSUANT TO TITLE 14, OCCUPATIONS CODE, CHAPTER 2308 
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FEE RECEIPT NUMBER 
EVENT 
CODE 

FEE 
AMOUNT 

PMT. 
AMOUNT 

MONEY 
TYPE 

Application   74106 $100     

 
 

 THIS FORM MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN BLACK INK 
  

1. Provider Name: Provider Number: 

2. Contact Person:  Email: 

3. Course Title:  

4. Course Content:  (Indicate the number of hours)      Roadway Safety ______             Texas Law and Rules ______  

Towing Operator Industry Related Topics _____                  SHRP2_____                                                Incident Management 1st Time ______ 

5. Course Length:                                                                         Effective Date:                                                         

6. Delivery Method:  Classroom   _____             Internet   _____             Webinar  _____                                              

7. Delivery Language: English  _____         Spanish   _____       Vietnamese  _____ 

8. Required Attachments (see instruction page for requirements) 

 
 

Statement of Applicant 
I certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Towing Act; Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 2308; the 

Towing Administrative Rules (Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 86); the law of the Texas Department of Licensing & 
Regulation (Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51); and the rules of the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (Texas 
Administrative Code, Chapters 55 and 60). I understand that providing false information on this application may result in the 
revocation of the approval I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties. 
   
 
Printed Name      Signature     Date______________                             

  
 

 

 

DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 
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Certification Statement for CE Provider Responsibilities 
 
By checking the following boxes and by my signature, I certify that the required documentation will be 
maintained and made available to the Department upon request. I certify that I will comply with all 
applicable provisions of the Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51; Tex. Admin. Code, Title 16 Chapter 
59. I understand that providing false information on this application may result in revocation of my CE 
Provider registration and the imposition of administrative penalties.  
 

Place  in each box: 
  

 Courses will not be offered until approved by the Department.  

 If my provider registration expires, I will cease from offering all courses.  

 All continuing education course material will have appropriate grammar, spelling, punctuation, 
illustrations and graphics.  

 Course advertisements for continuing education courses must include the CE Provider’s 
number and the course number assigned by the Department.  

 The CE certificate of completion must include the name of course, course number assigned by 
Department, course completion date, provider name and number, number of hours of continuing 
education credit, signature of the provider representative and the name, license type and 
license number of the participant who attended course.  

 Course completions will be submitted to the Department using the CE Reporting System, no 
later than seven days after the course completion date.  

 Course completion records will be maintained for a period of two years after completion of a 
course.  

 I understand that an audit may be conducted without prior notice to determine whether we are 
complying with the requirements of Chapter 59. No fee will be charged to any Department 
employees or representative and I will cooperate fully with the Department.  

 I understand that the Department may not approve a continuing education course if we are past 
due or not current on the payment of any unpaid required fees, including record fees or 
administrative penalties.  

 Upon notification by the Department that a provider is past due or not current on the payment of 
any unpaid required fees, including record fees or administrative penalties, a provider may not 
enroll a participant in a continuing education course without department approval.  
 

 For internet courses, a login and password will be provided to the Department for all online 
courses which will have access available for one year.  

 
 
 
 

______________________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Owner, Officer, or Authorized Representative                            CE Provider Number    
 
_________________________________________________                   ____________________ 
Printed Name                                                                                                           Date Signed 
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