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Cosmetology Exam Application Instructions 
 
Exam Eligibility: 
 

A. If you are licensed in another state that does not have a reciprocity agreement with Texas, submit the 
following: 

 
 1. Application License Fee of $53 (All payments must be in the form of a cashier’s check or              

 money order and payable to TDLR.) 
 
 2. Completed Application 
 
 3. Copy of current license 
 
 4. Letter of certification from state in which the current license was issued 
 
B. If you are not licensed in another state but have the required cosmetology school hours to be eligible 

  for the Texas cosmetology exam, submit the following: 
 
 1. Application License Fee of $53 (All payments must be in the form of a cashier’s check or  
     money order and payable to TDLR.) 
 
 2. Completed Application 
 
 3. Certified Transcript of hours from the state in which you went to cosmetology school 
 
To expedite the process, contact your state for a certified transcript of hours and have them mail the tran-
script to your address.  Once you receive the transcript, submit all of this information (along with your 
completed application) to the Department in one envelope.  NOTE:  The certified transcript of hours 
MUST remain in the sealed envelope from the other state. 
 
Always keep your mailing address current with the Texas Department of Licensing and 
Regulation. A license renewal notice will be mailed to your address of record prior to the date 
that your license will expire. 
 
Note: 
The Department will add your email address to the Cosmetology email notification list, which 
automatically provides information from the Department on matters affecting cosmetology. 
Your email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act and the 
Department will not share it with the public. See additional information at the following link: 
www.tdlr.texas.gov/newsletters/TDLRnotificationLists.asp. 
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APPLICATION FOR: 
Texas Cosmetology License By Examination 
PURSUANT TO  OCCUPATIONS CODE, CHAPTER 1602 

USE THIS FORM IF YOU NEED TO TAKE AN EXAM TO BECOME LICENSED IN TEXAS        
AND ARE NOT CURRENTLY ENROLLED IN A TEXAS COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL.  

2. Applicant's Social Security No.: 
                                                        _____  _____   _____ - _____   _____ - _____  _____  _____  _____  

Note: If you have a Social Security Number, Section 231.302 of the Texas Family Code REQUIRES all applicants to disclose 
their Social Security Number (SSN) when filing an application.  The SSN that is provided is confidential and is required to 
enforce Child Support orders.   

1. Applicant's Full Name: 
 
 

 Last (Family Name)                                            First (Given Name)                                                Middle 

DO NOT WRITE IN THE FEE AREA IMMEDIATELY BELOW 

FEE RECEIPT NUMBER 
EVENT 
CODE 

FEE 
AMOUNT 

PMT. 
AMOUNT 

MONEY 
TYPE 

License  
Fee   $53.00   

  4.  Date of Birth: 5. Gender: 
(circle one) 

MALE                    FEMALE 
Month Year Day 

(                ) 

Number, Street and Apt. No.    - OR -    P.O. Box Number  

City   State  Zip Code  Country

6. Mailing Address and Contact Information: (USED FOR ALL CORRESPONDENCE) (P.O. Box is allowed for this address.) 

  
 
                                                                                                        (           ) 
     
 
   

Area Code Phone Number 

FAX Number: 
Area Code Phone Number E-mail Address (johndoe@aol.com for example) 

   
  3.  Do you have a Social Security Number?  (circle one)  YES   NO 

 

8. Have you obtained a high school diploma or the equivalent of a high school  
    Diploma?  Yes ____  No ____ 

If the answer to #9 or # 10 is YES, attach a completed Criminal History Questionnaire or Disciplinary Action 
Questionnaire for each conviction, probation or sanction.  (Questionnaire forms available on the TDLR website.) 

 

  9. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any           
misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?  

 

Yes       No  

10. Have you had a license, certification or registration suspended, revoked or  
denied in any state? (Does not include driver’s license.) 

 
Yes       No  

THIS FORM CONSISTS OF 2 PAGES 

  7.  Type of License Applying for:  (circle one)   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  Operator        Wig Specialist        Esthetician Specialist        Manicurist Specialist          Hair Weaving Specialist        
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                           Eyelash Extension Specialty License           Esthetician/Manicurist Specialist 
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NOTE:  State law prohibits renewing a license more than once after a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed 
Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC.  YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE 
FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan.  An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from 
TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan.  The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at: Texas Guaranteed 
Student Loan Corporation, P.O. Box 15996, Austin, Texas  78761-5996, Telephone: (800) 222-6297. 

Date Signed Signature of Applicant 

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 
I certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Tex. Occ. Code, Chapters 51, 1602, and 1603; 16 Tex. Admin. Code, 16, Chapter 
60; and, the C0smetology Administrative Rules , 16 Tex. Admin. Code, Chapter 83. I understand that providing false information on this 
application may result in denial or revocation of the license I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties. 

All payments must be in the form of a cashiers check or money order 
and payable to TDLR. 

 


