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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION 
P.O. Box 12157, AusƟn, Texas 78711‐2157 

800‐803‐9202 – (512) 463‐6599 – FAX (512) 463‐1512 
www.tdlr.texas.gov      educaƟon@tdlr.texas.gov 

TEXAS COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL CLOCK HOUR CURRICULUM  
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 

PLEASE NOTE: 
 The applicaƟon must be completed and signed by the applicant or authorized designee. 

 
School Name – Enter the official name of the school.   
 
School License Number – Provide the school license number 
 
School Mailing Address and Contact InformaƟon ‐ Enter the mailing address for the school.  
This address is where the Department will mail all correspondence and may be a post office  
box.   
 
Course SelecƟon – Select the course (s) for which you are seeking approval.   
 
Required documentaƟon ‐ The following must be submiƩed with the applicaƟon: 
 
A copy of the curriculum in SecƟon 83.120 will not suffice. A sample syllabus and teaching 
plan is included. 

 
 Teaching plan including the weekly breakdown of hours to saƟsfy the  
       requirements of 83.120 
 School AƩendance policy 
 Drop and Withdrawal policy 
 Make up hour policy 
 School TuiƟon Refund policy (to meet the requirements of 1602.458) 
 References/resources being used 

 
 
Signature of Applicant(s) and/or Officer(s) – ApplicaƟon must be signed by the owner, 

officer or other authorized representaƟve of the school. Be sure to print name, sign and 
date the applicaƟon. 

 
Note: SecƟon 1602.453 Course Length and Curriculum Content of the Cosmetology Law states: 
(a) A private beauty culture school must design course length and curriculum content to reasonably ensure 

that a student develops the job skills and knowledge necessary for employment.  
(b) A school must submit to the commission for approval the course length and curriculum content for each 

course offered by the school. The school may implement a course length and curriculum content only aŌer 
approval by the commission.  

(c) Before issuing or renewing a license under this chapter, the department shall require a school to account 
for each course length and curriculum content.  

 
 

Submit the applicaƟon and supporƟng documents to TDLR  
at the address shown above. 
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P.O. Box 12157  ‐  AusƟn, Texas  78711‐2157  
800‐803‐9202  ‐  (512) 463‐6599  ‐  FAX (512) 463‐1512 
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AÖÖ½®��ã®ÊÄ FÊÙ: 

PURSUANT TO TITLE 9, OCCUPATIONS CODE, CHAPTER 1602 

School Name 

 Select the course(s) that will be offered.  

 Operator (1,500 hours)  Eyelash Extension (320 hours) 

 Operator (1,000 hours, high school)  Hair Weaving (300 hours) 

 Class A Barber to Cosmetology Operator (300 hours)  Wig (300 hours) 

 EstheƟcian (750 hours)  Instructor (750 hours) 

 Manicure (600 hours)  Instructor (500 hours) 

 EstheƟcian/Manicure (1,200 hours)   

License # 

Required documentaƟon: (A copy of the curriculum in SecƟon 83.120 will not suffice.) 
 Teaching plan including the weekly breakdown of hours to saƟsfy the requirements of 83.120 
 School AƩendance policy 
 Drop and Withdrawal policy 
 Make up hour policy 
 School TuiƟon Refund policy (to meet the requirements of 1602.458) 
 References/resources being used 

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT(S) 

By signing this application I certify all information submitted on this application and attached forms is true and accurate. I 
certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Occupation Code, Chapters 51, 1602, and 1603; Texas 
Administrative Code, Title 16 Chapter 60 and the Cosmetology Administrative Rules, Texas Administrative Code, Title 16 
Chapter 83. I understand that providing false information on this application may result in revocation of the privilege I am 
requesting and the possible imposition of administrative penalties.  

 
 
 
 
 
Printed Name of Owner, Officer, or Authorized RepresentaƟve  Signature of Owner, Officer, or Authorized RepresentaƟve  Date Signed 

School’s Mailing Address 
 
                     
     Number, Street and Apt. No                                             ‐OR‐                                         PO Box Number 
 
                     
     City                 State    Zip Code 
 
                     
     Contact Person       email Address (johndoe@aol.com for example) 

 

     (      )        ( )      
      Area Code  Phone Number     Area Code  Fax Number 
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<School Name> 
<Course Title> 

<Semester> 
 

COURSE SYLLABUS 
<Course dates, times and location> 

 
 

INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION 
<Name> 
Email  <email address>   
Phone <phone number>   
Office Hours <Office hours and location> 
     
 

COURSE DESCRIPTION 
<Course Description> 
 

COURSE REFERENCES 
 
Course Textbook <textbook, publisher, year, and chapters/pages>  
 
 

CLASS EXPECTATIONS 
See Examples below: 
 Attend each class meeting and arrive on time and stay the entire class period. If an 

emergency arises that prevents class attendance, late arrival, or early departure, inform 
the instructor as soon as possible. Keep in mind if you are absent, you cannot participate 
and this will affect your participation grade.  

 Turn all cell phones and pagers off during class. If you are involved in a crisis situation and 
need to be available via cell phone, please talk to instructor prior to the start of class. 

 Close laptops during class activities requiring active participation (e.g., dialog, discussions, 
activities). 

 Be actively involved in class by thoughtfully contributing to discussions, tasks, and 
assignments. 

 Support the development of a classroom community of mutual respect, collaboration and 
support. 

 Complete all assignments on time. Late assignments will not be given credit except under 
extreme circumstances as approved by the instructor. 
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 It is the student’s responsibility to contact a class colleague to catch up on missed class 
content and/or to obtain class handouts.  

 No make‐up opportunities for assignments are provided for absences, late arrival and/or 
early departures unless otherwise approved by instructor. 

 Type all assignment using 12‐point standard font (e.g., Times or Times New Roman) with 
margins no greater than one‐inch and double‐spaced. Hardcopies of assignments should 
be turned in during class unless otherwise announced in class. If an assignment is 
submitted by email as an attachment, it must be sent prior to the beginning of the class 
period in which it is due. Assignments should have the student’s name in the header and 
electronic files should be labeled with the student’s name. 

 

COURSE ASSIGNMENT DESCRIPTIONS 
<Describe each assignment in detail> 
 
Class Participation and Readings: Students are expected to come to class prepared and engage 
in class discussions. Assignments should be read thoroughly and repeatedly, if necessary, prior 
to the class period in which they are due. Each class period students should bring all readings. 
In addition, students are required to bring a paper with talking points on the daily readings. 
These talking points should include: 2‐3 questions based on the readings to provoke 
conversation.  When disagreement occurs, students are encouraged to respectfully challenge, 
listen and demonstrate tolerance for opposing viewpoints. Keep in mind if you are absent, you 
cannot participate and your participation grade is affected.  
 
 

 
COURSE REQUIREMENTS & GRADING GUIDELINES 

 

Assignment  Grading Guidelines 

<assignment 1 name>  <Points assigned> 

<assignment 1 name>  <Points assigned> 
<assignment 1 name>  <Points assigned> 
<assignment 1 name>  <Points assigned> 

100‐90 points = A, 89‐80 points = B, 79‐70 points = C, 69‐60 points = F  
 

The instructor reserves the right to make modifications to this  
syllabus as needed throughout the semester. 
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Clock Hour Teaching Plan and Breakdown of Hours 
      Week # 
 
State the 
topics as in 
83.120 

Material Covered 
 

This is a brief explanation of what material is 
taught. 

                    Hours  
 
Designate the hours for each of 
the topics. 

            1 
 

Haircutting 
 

 
How to drape for a haircut. 
How to section the head of hair. 
How to hold haircutting implements. 
How to cut different types of haircuts. 

                        
40 hours 

            2  
 

Facials and   
related theory 

 
 

Manicure and 
related theory 

 
Basic manipulations used in a massage. 
The purpose of a massage. 
Physiological effects of a massage. 
 
 
Abilities of a good manicurist; posture. Equipment, 
implements, cosmetics, and nail cosmetics. Table 
set‐up, plain and hot oil manicure. 

                           
20 hours 

 
 
 

20 hours 

        3 & 4 
 

Hair Coloring 
and related 

theory 

 
Understanding your clients and why they color their 
hair. How hair structure relates to coloring ‐ 
melanin, texture, porosity, density, hair length, 
formation. How to conduct a client consultation. 

                        
80 hours 

(40 hrs a wk) 

            5 
 

Shampoo and     
related theory 
 
 
 
 
Hair and Scalp    

Treatment 
 

 
Shampoo procedures: sanitize hands, arrange 
supplies, drape client, examine client’s hair. 
Scalp manipulations. 
Shampooing different types of hair. 
Types of shampoos. 
 
 
Brushing – How to brush a client’s hair. 
Types of hair and treatments for hair loss and what 
causes it. Disorders of the hair and scalp. 

                        
20 hours 

 
 
 
 
                         

20 hours 

     6, 7 & 8 
 

Cold Waving 
 
 
 

 
The history of permanent waving. 
Chemistry of permanent waving and how it affects 
the hair structure, pre‐perm analysis determine 
texture, elasticity, density, length, perm selection. 
How to drape for a chemical service. 
How to section the hair and wrapping patterns. 
Different types of permanent wave rods. 

                       
120 hours 

(40 hrs a wk) 

        9 & 10 
 

Chemical Hair 
Relaxing 

 
What is chemical hair relaxing.  
Analysis of client’s hair‐ Relaxer Record how to fill 
one out. Process using Sodium hydroxide. 
Review of safety measures that will ensure a 
comfortable and safe treatment for your client. 

                        
80 hours 

(40 hrs a wk) 

 


