TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION

P. O. Box 12157, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711
1- 800-803-9202 - (512) 463-6599 - FAX (512) 475-2871
barbers@license.state.tx.us - cosmetologists@license.state.tx.us

Application For:
TEXAS DUAL BARBER SHOP/COSMETOLOGY TEMPORARY SALON LICENSE

PURSUANT TO TITLE 9, OCCUPATIONS CODE, CHAPTER 1603

DO NOT WRITE IN THE FEE AREA IMMEDIATELY BELOW

FEE TYPE RECEIPT NUMBER EVENT CODE | FEE AMOUNT PAYMENT AMOUNT MONEY TYPE
LICENSE FEE $2000
DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE
Previous Barber Shop Permit Number: Previous Cosmetology Salon License Number:
(If applicable) (If applicable)

NOTE: ALL INFORMATION MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN INK

1. Dual Shop/Salon Name (LIST TWO (2) CHOICES):

A.

B.

2. Dual Shop/Salon Type:

FULL SERVICE BARBER SHOP AND COSMETOLOGY SALON ONLY; NO DUAL SPECIALTY SHOPS/SALONS

3. Opening Date (or Change of Ownership Date):

4. Normal Business Days and Hours Open: Days: Hours

5. Dual Shop/Salon’s Mailing Address and Contact Information: (Used for All Correspondence)

Number, Street, and Apt Number -- OR -- P.O. Box Number

Telephone: ( )
City, State, Zip Code, Area Code Number (Required)
Fax: ( )
E-Mail Address Area Code Number
6. Dual Shop/Salon’s Physical Address (Location):
Number, Street, and Suite Number
Telephone: ( )
City State Zip Code Area Code Number (Required)
Fax: ( )
E-Mail Address Area Code Number
7. Organization (Ownership) Type: (Check One) [ Sole Proprietorship O corporation O Limited Partnership

O Limited Liability Company O Limited Liability Partnership
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8. Owner or Company/Corporation Name:

9. Owner’s Social Security Number - OR - Corporation Federal Tax ID Number*:

If a corporation, are your State Franchise Taxes current? (Circle One) YES NO
If you are exempt from State Franchise Taxes, please state reason:

10. Owner or Company/Corporation Mailing Address and Contact information: (USED FOR ALL CORRESPONDENCE)

Number, Street and Apartment Number - OR - P.O. Box Number

Telephone: ( )
City State Zip Code Area Code  Number (REQUIRED)

E-MAIL ADDRESS: FAX: ( )

11. Additional Owner Mailing Address and Contact Information: (If Necessary)

Last First Middle

Number, Street and Apartment Number - OR - P.O. Box Number

Telephone: ( )
City State Zip Code Area Code Number (REQUIRED)

E-MAIL ADDRESS: FAX: ( )

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT(S)

I certify that 1 will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Occupations Code, Title 9, Chapters
1601,1602, and 1603; Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60 ; the Barber Administrative Rules, the Cosmetol-
ogy Administrative Rules, 16 Texas Administrative Code, chapters 82 and 83; and, Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 51.

| also certify that | will not open for business until | have met all requirements for opening a Dual Barber Shop/
Cosmetology Salon and have received the Dual license.

| further certify that if the shop/salon is without the services of at least one licensed barber or cosmetologist
for 90 days or more, I will not advertise as a Barber Shop or Cosmetology Salon and will remove any sign or
symbol indicating that the shop/salon offers barbering or cosmetology services. (Pursuant to 16 Administrative
Code, Chapters 82.71(q)(3) and 83.71(f)(8))

I understand that providing false information on this application may result in revocation of the license | am
now requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties.

Date Signed Signature of Owner or Corporate Officer

Date Signed Signature of Owner or Corporate Officer

*NOTE: If you have a Social Security Number, Section 231.302 of the Texas Family Code REQUIRES all applicants to disclose their Social
Security Number (SSN) when filing an application. The SSN that is provided is confidential and is required to enforce Child Support or-
ders.

NOTE: A temporary license expires on the 60th day after the date the license is issued and
may not be renewed. An applicant who has been issued a temporary license is not eligible
for another temporary license until one year after the date the previous license was issued.



REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL BARBER & SPECIALTY SHOPS
Shop and Shop Conditions:

1. Exterior Sign using the word “Barber Shop” or “Barber Salon”

2. Optional Barber Pole

3. Floors made of non-porous, easily washable, material in areas where chemicals are
mixed and where water may splash. Anti-slip or plastic floor coverings may be used
for safety reasons.

4. Floors, ceilings, shelves, furniture, furnishings, and fixtures clean and in good repair
(no cracks).

5. Plumbing fixtures, including toilets and wash basins, kept clean and good repair.

6. One sink or wash basin for every 3 barber chairs or stations.

7. Hot and Cold running water within the areas where work is being done and supplies
dispensed.

8. Container of liquid disinfectant at each work station used by a barber or specialty
licensee.

9. Food and drinks not prepared or sold in shop for client consumption.

10. Adequate ventilation to exhaust any chemicals or strong odors from the public area
and to provide fresh air.

11. Not used for living or sleeping quarters

12. Department approved sterilizer if manicure/pedicures are provided in shop.

13. No animals allowed except for assist animals for handicapped persons.

14. Separated by a solid wall and separate door from restaurant or food preparation area.
15. Separate entrance if attached to residence. Any door between shop and residence
closed during business hours.

16. Not used for any purpose tending to make the premises unsanitary, unsafe, or

endangers the health and safety of the public.



Required Posters, Forms, and Lists:

1. Sanitation Rules posted

2. Consumer Complaint Sign (“regulated by”) posted

3. List of all licensees and permits of all employees and independent contractors (for

verification)

Restroom Requirements:

1. One restroom in or near shop; no chemicals stored in the restroom.

Other Requirements:

1. A shop that employs both barbers and cosmetologists must have a Dual Shop Permit
or both a barber shop permit and a cosmetology salon license.

2. Barber poles may be displayed only by shops that have a valid barber shop or dual
shop Permit. (Barber shops are not required to display a barber pole).

3. Only a licensed barber may shave a beard or mustache, or use a razor to outline the
hair, or shave the back of the neck.

4. Shops must be in compliance with all local ordinances and requirements (example:
fire codes/occupancy.

5. Licensees may not use or posses any of the following substances or products in

performing barbering services.

a. Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomers (MMA).



Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
Barber Program
Health & Safety Rules

The following health and safety (sanitation) rules must be posted in all
barber and barber specialty shops (Chapter 1601.452 Texas Occupations
Code) and barber schools (Chapter 1601.552 Texas Occupations Code).
Please make copies of these health and sanitation rules as needed, or copies
may be downloaded from the TDLR website at the following internet
address: www.license.state.tx.us/barbers/barbers.htm

For more information or to request copies by mail, e-mail or by
telephone, please contact:
Barber Program
Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation

PO Box 12157

Austin, TX 78711
800/803-9202
512/463-6599

512/463-2951 (fax)

E-mail requests to: barbers@license.state.tx.us
customer.service@license.state.tx.us




TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION
Cosmetology Program
P.O. Box 12088  Austin, Texas 78711 ¢ (512) 463-6599 < (800) 803-9202 < fax (512) 463-2951
Email address: cosmetologists@license.state.tx.us Web site: www.license.state.tx.us

REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL SALONS

1. All floors in areas where services under the Act are performed, including restrooms and areas where
chemicals are mixed or where water may splash, must be of a material which is not porous or absorbent
and is easily washable, except that anti-slip applications or plastic floor coverings may be used for safety
reasons.

Carpet is permitted in all other areas.

2. Sink with hot and cold running water

3. Every establishment shall provide at least one restroom located on or near the premises of the
establishment. For public safety, chemical supplies shall not be stored in the restroom.

4. ldentifiable sign, with the salon’s name, must be displayed

5. Asuitable receptacle for used towels/linen
6. One wet disinfectant soaking container

7. Aclean, dry, debris-free storage area

8. A minimum of one covered trash container

9. Licensed premises shall eliminate any strong odors through adequate ventilation, including but not
limited to, exhaust fans and air filtration to exhaust chemicals and fumes away from the public area and
to provide for the input of fresh air.

10. Licensed premises shall not be utilized for living or sleeping purposes, or any other purpose that would
tend to make the premises unsanitary, unsafe, or endanger the health and safety of the public. An
establishment that is attached to a residence must have an entrance that is separate and distinct from the
residential entrance, Any door between a residence and a licensed facility must be closed during business
hours.

11. If manicure or pedicure services are provided the salon must have a Department approved sterilizer.
12. Copy of current law and rule book.

PLEASE NOTE: No cosmetology establishment shall, in any manner represent or permit representation to
be made in its behalf that it is a barbershop, whether made by use of a display or device similar to a barber

pole or otherwise. It may, however, advertise that services for males are available, with the exception of
trimming and/or shaving beards or mustaches.

Austin Headquarters: E.O. Thompson State Office Building - 920 Colorado - Austin, Texas 78701



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION

Cosmetology Program
P.O. Box 12088  Austin, Texas 78711 ¢ (512) 463-6599 < (800) 803-9202 < fax (512) 463-2951
Email address: cosmetologists@license.state.tx.us Web site: www.license.state.tx.us

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS BY SPECIALTY

BEAUTY SALON

(FOR EACH LICENSEE PRESENT
AND PROVIDING SERVICES)

One working station

One styling chair

A sufficient amount of shampoo bowls

One hand-held hair dryer, or hood dryer with

or without chair
A Department approved sterilizer if

providing manicure or pedicure services

MANICURE SALON

(FOR EACH LICENSEE PRESENT
AND PROVIDING SERVICES)
One manicure table with light

One manicure stool

One professional client chair

for each manicure station

A Department Approved Sterilizer

HAIR BRAIDING SALON

(FOR EACH LICENSEE PRESENT
AND PROVIDING SERVICES)
One work station

One styling chair

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS

MANICURE /FACIAL SALON:
All requirements for manicure AND facial salons

WIG SALON
(FOR EACH LICENSEE PRESENT AND
PROVIDING SERVICES)

One mannequin table, station or styling bar to
accommodate a minimum of 10 hairpieces
One wig dryer

Two canvas wig blocks

FACIAL SALON

(FOR EACH LICENSEE PRESENT AND
PROVIDING SERVICES)

One facial couch/chair

One mirror

HAIRWEAVING/BRAIDING SALON

(FOR EACH LICENSEE PRESENT AND
PROVIDING SERVICES)

One work station

One styling chair

A sufficient amount of shampoo bowls for license
providing hair weaving services

One chair dryer/handheld dryer for each three
Licensees providing hair weaving services

Salons may lease space to an independent contractor who holds a booth rental (independent contractor)
license. The lessor (salon owner) to an independent contractor must maintain a list of all renters that
includes the name of the renter and the cosmetology license number of the renter. The lessor (salon owner)
must supply the department inspector with a list of renters upon request.
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Austin Headquarters: E.O. Thompson State Office Building - 920 Colorado - Austin, Texas 78701



