Apply for an Instructor or Specialty Instructor License
NOTICE: HB 1560 (87th Texas Legislature regular session) eliminated all barber and cosmetology instructor licenses as of Sept. 1, 2021. A Class A Barber, Operator or Specialty license allows the holder to provide instruction in any service, within the scope of the license, at a licensed barber or cosmetology school.
On this page:
Current Cosmetology License
All applicants for an instructor license, or specialty instructor license must hold a current and active cosmetology operator license in good standing.
To apply for a specialty instructor license (e.g. esthetician, manicure, eyelash, etc.), you must hold a current and active esthetician, manicure, esthetician/manicure or eyelash extension license, respectively.
If you attended an instructor course in Texas, you may take the instructor examinations.
After completing all qualification requirements, you will become eligible to take the written and practical exams. Our third-party vendor (PSI) will send you an email confirmation with instructions for scheduling an appointment to take the examination.
Please see the exam information page for complete details.
Application and Fee
Submit a completed application form along with the non-refundable fee of $50.
You must be at least 17 years old to apply.
Instructor licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.
|License by 750 or 500 Hour Qualification||Apply Online||$50|
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.