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TDLR Proposes Reorganization Of Cosmetology Rules 

 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) has finished a revision of  the cosmetology program 
rules that primarily reorganizes and clarifies the rules of the former Texas Cosmetology Commission and includes 
some changes in the cosmetology law made by the 79th Texas Legislature. This rule review includes few 
significant changes. The proposed rules will be published in the Texas Register on October 7, 2005, and can be 
viewed online at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml.  
 
TDLR will conduct a thorough and comprehensive rule review in the next six months to update and streamline all 
cosmetology rules. To allow all cosmetologists the opportunity to provide comments and help fashion the future of 
their profession, TDLR will send out notices through the Cosmetology Update and TDLR’s free subscription email 
service that will include briefings on the proposed changes. 
 
The current proposed revisions include some significant changes: 
 

• Continuing Education (CE) – The proposed rules would keep the 12-hour CE requirement for operators, 
with at least four hours in sanitation. However, because the scope of their work is limited, the proposed 
rules include a reduction in the CE-hour requirement for manicurists, facialists, hairweavers/braiders, wig 
specialists, and shampoo/conditioning licensees, from 12 hours to eight hours, with at least four hours in 
sanitation. Instructors are required to complete CE to renew their underlying license, with at least two hours 
in teaching methods. 

 
• A licensee may obtain inactive license status. During this time a licensee may not practice cosmetology 

but also is not subject to continuing education requirements. To change from inactive status to active 
status, a licensee must complete the requirements that an active license holder must complete to renew.  

 
• Late renewals - Unless inactive, a license that is expired for one year or more may not be renewed and an 

individual must apply for a new license by completing the application requirements, including an 
examination. Current rules allow late renewals for up to five years.  

 
• Registered Examination Proctors are a new licensee and are authorized to grade cosmetology practical 

examinations for TDLR. This will allow TDLR to provide practical exams in cities across the state. 
 
If you would like to comment on the proposed rules, you may submit your comments in writing to TDLR for 30 
days, from October 7, 2005, to November 7, 2005. Comments may be submitted by mail to Caroline Jackson, 
Legal Assistant, General Counsel’s Office, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, Texas 78711, or by facsimile to 512-475-3032, 
or by email to caroline.jackson@license.state.tx.us. After the comments are evaluated, the Commission will 
consider adopting the proposed rules at its meeting on November 15, 2005. The rules would go into effect on 
December 15, 2005. 
 
TDLR offers information on the cosmetology program on the agency website at 
http://www.license.state.tx.us/cosmet/cosmet.htm. To receive news and updates on the cosmetology program in 
your email inbox, sign up for TDLR’s free email subscription service at 
http://www.license.state.tx.us/newsletters/TDLRnotificationLists.asp. 

 
Please post this update in your beauty supply store, salon or school. 
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