
DRIVING SAFETY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE INSTRUCTIONS 

 
 

1. NAME – Write your legal name in the spaces provided.  (Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix include
Jr., Sr., and II. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

2. DATE OF BIRTH –  Write your birthdate.
 

3. GENDER – Select whether you are male or female.

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER – Social Security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(c)(1) of the Texas
Family Code in order to obtain a license. Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency authorized
to assist in the collection of child support payments.  For more information regarding child support payments, contact
the Texas Attorney General at:

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014
 

5. MAILING ADDRESS – Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This ad-
dress can be a post office box. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently and
accurately.

6. PHONE NUMBER – Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the day.
This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message.

 

7. EMAIL ADDRESS – Write your email address. By providing my email address I authorize TDLR to send licens-
ing communications and required notices to me by electronic mail.  I understand that I may revoke this authorization
in writing and that I must update my email address or I will not receive these notices.  I understand that the email
address I have provided in this application will remain confidential except as permitted or required by law.

 

8. DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER  -  Provide the number on your driver’s license, the listed state on the license, the
Drivers license class, and the date the license will expire.  Provide the date you received your first drivers license.
Submit a clear photocopy of your current, valid drivers license.

 

9. DRIVING SAFETY SCHOOL(s) TO BE EMPLOYED  -  List the course numbers, name of the schools you are or
expect to be employed by, school address, and school phone number.

 

10. SPECIALIZED DRIVING SAFETY ENDORSEMENTS: -  Indicate the type of endorsement(s) which you wish to ap-
ply. Please ensure that all educational requirements for the type of endorsement(s) requested are met, and copies of 
appropriate certifications/training records/documents are included.

Specialized Driving Safety Instructor
1. Submit evidence of completion of:

a) 24 hours of training, covering techniques of instruction and in-depth familiarization with material
contained in the driving safety curriculum in which the individual is being trained; and

b) 12 hours of practical teaching in the same driving safety course (Form DT-204) and a statement signed
by the course provider recommending the applicant for licensing; or

c) alternatively, the applicant may submit a copy of a current driving safety instructor license or current or
past certification as a National Highway Traffic Safety Association Child Passenger Safety technician or
instructor and 12 hours of training and 6 hours of demonstrative presentation or practical teaching.  The
12 hours of training shall cover techniques of instruction and in-depth familiarization with material con-
tained in the specialized driving safety curriculum.  The 6 hours of demonstrative presentation or practi-
cal teaching shall be in the same specialized driving safety curriculum and under the direct supervision
of a licensed specialized driving safety instructor trainer endorsed in the same specialized driving safety
curriculum and shall be accompanied by a statement signed by the course provider recommending the
applicant for licensing.  GRADUATION REPORTS FOR THE CLASSES WHERE PRACTICE TEACH-
ING OCCURRED MUST ACCOMPANY THE TRAINING RECORD.

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of 
single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR 
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.



Specialized Driving Safety Instructor Trainer 

1. The application shall include a statement by the driving safety course provider (if different than the applicant)
recommending the instructor as an instructor trainer, a copy of a current or past certification as a National
Highway Traffic Safety Association Child Passenger Safety technician or instructor, and evidence of one of the
following:

a) a Texas teaching certificate with driver education endorsement and 12 hours of experience, exclusive of the
28-hour instructor development course, in the same specialized driving safety course for which the individual
is to teach;

b) a teaching assistant certificate and 12 hours of experience, exclusive of the 28-hour instructor develop-ment
course, in the same specialized driving safety course for which the individual is to teach;

c) completion of all the requirements for a specialized driving safety instructor license and 60 hours of verifi-able
experience as a licensed driving safety instructor, of which the most recent 12 hours shall be in the same
specialized driving safety course for which the individual is to teach; or

d) proof of authorship of an approved specialized driving safety course.  The applicant who will provide the initial
instructor training for a newly approved course shall demonstrate to the division director's designee the ability
to teach the course and the instructor training course prior to being licensed.

Instructor Development Course-Specialized Driving Safety Instructor Trainer 

1. The application shall include a copy of a current or past certification as a National Highway Traffic Safety
Association Child Passenger Safety technician or instructor and evidence of:

a) completion of all the requirements for a specialized driving safety instructor trainer plus an additional 30 hours
of verifiable experience as a licensed specialized driving safety instructor or specialized driving safety
instructor trainer in the same specialized driving safety course for which the individual is to teach, or proof of
authorship of an approved specialized driving safety course.  The applicant who will provide the initial
instructor training for a newly approved course shall demonstrate to the division director's de-signees the
ability to teach the course and the instructor training course prior to being licensed; and

b) a statement signed by the driving safety course provider, if different than the applicant, recommending the
individual as an instructor development course instructor trainer in specialized driving safety.

11. HAVE YOU GIVEN DRIVING SAFETY INSTRUCTION IN THE PAST 12 MONTHS  -  If YES, In item A place a check in
the box for the type of instruction given and in item B list the schools, address, duties, subjects taught with the be-ginning
and ending dates. Note: if more space is need add another piece of paper.

12. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any
misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for
each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at
www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf
If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your criminal
history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal his tory evaluation,
submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form for each crime you were
convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, and a $25 fee. You can find more information on the process and
download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm

13. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever had an occupational license, certification, or Registration
suspended, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire for each
disciplinary action. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action
Questionnaire.pdf

14. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement of applicant before dating and signing your application.

APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service members, 
their spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service members, military 
veterans and military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or Military Spouse Supplemental 
Application (TDLR form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The form is locat-ed on the TDLR website at 
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing for 
military service members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page at
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm.  
SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Documents submitted with your application will not be returned.  Keep a copy of your completed application, all attachments, 
and you check or money order.  Do not send cash.

For additional information and questions, please visit the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation website at tdlr.texas.gov 
or reach Customer Service via webform where you can submit your request for assistance and include attachments needed at 
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help or (800) 803-9202 [in state only], (512) 463-6599, Relay Texas-TDD: (800) 735-2989 or Fax: 
(512) 463-9468.  Customer Service Representatives are available Monday through Friday 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Central 
Time (excluding holidays).



DRIVING SAFETY INSTRUCTOR  
LICENSE APPLICATION 

This completed form must be accompanied by required educational documents and the application fee. 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION FEE: $50 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE) 

1. Name:
 
 

_________________________________       _________________________ ____________________        ______ 
    Last    First           Middle Name         Suffix    

2. Date of Birth:
 
 

________ -  ______ - _______
    Month          Day       Year 

TDLR Form DES007 rev May 2018 

4. Social Security Number:
                                       
(See instruction sheet for 
disclosure information) 

3. Gender:

Male Female 

Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number         City               State        Zip Code 

5. Mailing Address: (Used to receive mail from TDLR)

 
 

8. Driver License #: ___________________________________________________

6. Phone Number: 

 
 

 
 

(_______________)     __________________________________________________ 
  Area Code         Phone Number 

7. Email Address: 
 

 

____________________________________________________________
(Ex: johndoe@aol.com)  See instruction sheet for disclosure information

 
 
 

State: _________ 
 
 
 

Class:________ 

 
 

Expiration date: ___________ / __________ / ___________

Date you  received your first drivers license: _____  / _____ / ______ 

9. Driving Safety School(s) at which you are (or expected to be employed).
Course# Name of Licensed School Address City State Phone Number 

C       (        ) 

C       (        ) 

C       (        ) 

10. Specialized Driving Safety Endorsements: 

 
 

Indicate the type of endorsement(s) which you wish to apply. Please ensure that all educational requirements for the type of
endorsement(s) requested are met, and copies of appropriate certifications/training records/documents are included.

B. Identify the schools you where employed with in the last year.
Name of School Address, City, State, Zip Code Duties / Subjects Taught From 

(Mo / Yr.) 
To 

(Mo / Yr.) 
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Specialized Driving Safety Instructor (SPDSI) _____________________________________________________
 (Course Name ) 

Specialized Driving Safety Instructor Trainer (SPDSIT) 
 
 

 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 (Course Name) 

Instructor Development Course - Specialized Driving Safety Instructor Trainer (IDC - SPDSIT) 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Course Name) 

 

11. Have you given driving safety instruction within the past 12 months?  

A. Type of Instruction:
Yes 

Student or Practice Teaching 

Full or Part-time Instruction 



14.       STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

By signing this application, I certify all information submitted on this and the attached forms is true and accurate. I au-
thorize TDLR to conduct any investigations of me which it deems prudent. I understand that the information revealed in 
an investigation may be cause for disapproval of the application even though other requirements for a license have been 
met. I certify that I have read and will comply with all applicable provisions of Occupations Code Chapter 51, Education 
code Chapter 1001 and Texas Administrative code Chapters 84.  I understand that providing false information on this 
application may result in denial of this application or revocation of the license I am requesting and the imposition of ad-
ministrative penalties. 
 
 

 
 

_______________________________          ___________________________________________________________ 
      Date Signed          Signature of Applicant 

 

13. Have you ever had an occupational license, certification or registration
suspended, revoked, or denied in any state?
If YES, complete and submit a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire (DAQ) with this application.
(This does not include your driver license.)

Yes No 
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12. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for,
any misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?
If YES, complete and submit a Criminal History Questionnaire (CHQ) for each offense.

See instruction sheet for more information 

Yes No 




