TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING & REGULATION
P.0. Box 12157 ¢ Austin, Texas 78711-2157
www.tdlr.texas.gov

REQUEST FOR A PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION (PTDE) PROGRAM GUIDE

PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

A. The student must be 14 years of age prior to beginning the classroom portion; however, they may not test for a
learner license until their 15th birthday.

B. No instruction is permitted prior to receipt of the Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide.

C. A minimum of 76 hours of actual instruction time is required to instruct this course and it is estimated that an equal
number of hours for preparation are required for an instructor to properly teach this course.

e The classroom thirty-two hours must not be completed in fewer than sixteen calendar days.
e The behind the wheel forty-four hours must not be completed in fewer than forty-four calendar days.
¢ A student shall not be instructed more than two hours in one (1) day.

D. This course may or may not qualify for a discount for automobile insurance purposes due to Department of
Insurance rules. You should consult with your insurance carrier concerning this matter.

E. No behind the wheel instruction or practice may be permitted until the student has been issued a learner license.
Driving without a valid license on a public street or highway is violation of state law. Any behind the wheel
instruction prior to issuance of the learner license will not be accepted toward the required instruction or practice
time.

F. Instructor must be the student’s parent, stepparent, grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian appointed by a
court of competent jurisdiction. A power of attorney is not legally sufficient.

G. The instructor must have a valid driver license for the preceding three years; or if active military personnel or
spouse, a valid driver license from state of permanent residency or last duty station for the preceding three years.

H. The instructor cannot have:
e A conviction (including a probated sentence) of criminally negligent homicide;
e A conviction (including a probated sentence) driving while intoxicated in the last 7 years;
e Had their driver license suspended, revoked or forfeited for traffic related violations in the past three years;or
e Has not been convicted during the preceding three yearsof:
e Three or more tickets (moving violations according to Transportation Code 521.304)
e Two tickets without accidents and one ticket with an accident; or
e Two or more tickets that include accidents.

The instructor is responsible for checking both their criminal or driver records prior to requesting the program guide.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will verify the instructor’s record at the time of processing the student’s
learner license and again at the time of processing the student’s provisional driver license. If at that time DPS
determines that the instructor does not meet the requirements, DPS will deny the learner license or provisional driver
license along with any prior classroom instruction or behind the wheel/in the car instruction provided by the ineligible
instructor.

I.  The instructor may go to any local driver license office to have the student apply for the license and take the
required test. (Some stations require an appointment or may allow online scheduling for the skills test.)

J. DO NOT MAIL CASH, Mail check or money order payable to Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. A
separate request form and non-refundable fee are required for each student who will participate in the PTDE
program.

NOTE: ALL INFORMATION AND REQUIRED FEES MUST BE SUBMITTED BEFORE A PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER
EDUCATION PROGRAM GUIDE WILL BE PROCESSED. IF THE GUIDE IS TO BE DELIVERED BY MAIL PLEASE
ALLOW 2-3 WEEKS.
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1. INSTRUCTOR’S NAME — Print/Type your legal name in the spaces provided. (First, Middle Name, Last,
Suffix) Examples of a suffix include Jr., Sr., and lll. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

2. INSTRUCTOR'’S MAILING ADDRESS - Print/Type your current mailing address. This is the address
where we will send you mail. This address can be a post office box. You can add the zip plus-4 to help
the postal service deliver mail more efficiently and accurately.

3. INSTRUCTOR’'S PHONE NUMBER - Print/Type a telephone number, including the area code, where we
can reach you during the day. This may be your office phone humber where we can leave a message.

4. INSTRUCTOR'’S EMAIL ADDRESS - Print/Type your email address. Please provide your email address
so the department may email license information and required notices to you. Your email address is
confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act, and the department will not share it with the
public. Check the box if you would like to have the program guide emailed.

5. STUDENT’'S NAME - Print/Type your legal name in the spaces provided. (First, Middle Name, Last,
Suffix) Examples of a suffix include Jr., Sr., and Ill. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

STUDENT’S DATE OF BIRTH — Provide your birthdate.
INSTRUCTOR'S SIGNATURE

SEND YOUR COMPLETED REQUEST AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX78711-2157

Documents submitted with your request will not be returned. Keep a copy of your completed request, all attachments,
and your check or money order. Do not send cash.

For additional information and questions, please visit the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation website at
https://www.tdIr.texas.gov or reach Customer Service via webform where you can submit your request for assistance
and include attachments needed at https://www.tdIr.texas.gov/help or (800) 803-9202 [in state only], (512) 463-6599,
Relay Texas-TDD: (800) 735-2989 or Fax: (512) 463-9468. Customer Service Representatives are available Monday
through Friday 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Central Time (excluding holidays).

TDLR Form DPS001 rev April 2020


http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING & REGULATION
P.0. Box 12157  Austin, Texas 78711-2157
www.tdlr.texas.gov

REQUEST FOR A PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION (PTDE) PROGRAM GUIDE

MAIL THE REQUEST FORM AND $20.00 FEE TO TDLR
(FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE)

PAYMENTS MUST BE IN THE FORM OF A CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO TDLR

ALL INFORMATION MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN BLACK INK
Instructor’s Information (Parent or Legal Guardian). Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide will be mailed to the address
below.

1. Instructor’s Name:

First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, Suffix (Jr, Sr, )

2. Instructor’s Mailing Address:

Number, Street Name, Apartment Number, P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code

3. Instructor’s Phone Number: 4. Instructor’s Email Address:

(Area Code) Phone Number (ex: johndoe@gmail.com) See instruction sheet for disclosure information

[ ] Check to have program guide emailed

Student's Information

5. Student’s Name:

First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, Suffix (Jr, Sr, )

6. Student’s Date of Birth:

Month/Day/Year

ALL INFORMATION AND REQUIRED FEE MUST BE SUBMITTED BEFORE A PARENT TAUGHT
DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM GUIDE WILL BE MAILED OR EMAILED. PLEASE ALLOW 2-3 WEEKS FOR
DELIVERY IF PROGRAM GUIDE IS TO BE MAILED.

7. Instructor’s Signature:

Instructor Signature Date
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