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DRIVER EDUCATION SCHOOL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

1. Name of School – Enter the assumed, legal or DBA name of the School.
2. School Application License Type – Select the type of application you are filing.
3. Organization Type – Select the organization type for your business.
4. School Mailing Address  – Enter the Schools’s mailing address, phone number, fax number, and email address. This

address is where the Department will mail all correspondence and may be a post office box.
5. Contact Person Information - Provide the contact person’s name, telephone, number, and email address. Email

addresses are a part of the key information required to transact business with TDLR. Your email address is
confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act and will not be shared with the public.

6. School Physical Address – Enter the physical address of the School. This address is the actual business location of
the School and where permanent records must be kept for auditing and inspection purposes. A post office box is not
acceptable for the physical address.

7. Registered Agent Information - (if applicable) List the name, mailing address, phone number and email address of
the Registered Agent for the Driver Education School if your business is not located in Texas.

8. Owner’s Information – List the name, title contact information and ownership information for each owner of the
school.

9. Statement of Applicant – Application must be signed by the owner, officer or other authorized.

SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157
Documents submitted with your application will not be returned.  Keep a copy of your completed application, all 
attachments, and your check or money order.  Do not send cash.
For additional information and questions, please visit the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation website at https://
www.tdlr.texas.gov or reach Customer Service via webform where you can submit your request for assistance and 
include attachments as needed at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help.  Customer Service can also be reached at (800) 
803-9202 [in state only], (512) 463-6599, Relay Texas-TDD: (800) 735-2989. Customer Service Representatives are
available Monday through Friday 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Central Time (excluding holidays).
Review Process 
An application is not considered complete and will not be processed until all sections of the application have been 
completed and all documents have been received. Applications are processed in the order received. Our division cannot 
specify the length of time it will take to approve a School application. During the review process, you will be notified in 
writing of any discrepancies/requirements not met.   
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Each entity looking to obtain a Driving Education School license shall provide an application for approval that shall be 
in compliance with 16 TAC Chapter 84 and Title 5, Education Code, Chapter 1001 and all TDLR established guidelines 
and criteria for a driver training school. 



The following must be submitted along with the application, and approved prior to inspection: 

• $500.00 Primary School Application Fee or $500.00 Branch School Application Fee
• Assumed Name Registration
• Completed School Application (this form must be completed in its entirety where applicable)
• Original Bond or Alternate Form of Security (See Education Code 1001.207(a),(b))
• Insurance Declarations page - Must provide a copy of current commercial vehicle insurance policy (declarations page) in the

amount specified in Transportation Code, Chapter 601, and include coverage for uninsured or under-insured motorists
• Instructor Roster - List the full name and TDLR Driver Education instructor license number of each driver education

instructor employed at the school.  You must employ a driver education teacher or a supervising teacher.
• Motor Vehicle Fleet Form (If Applicable) - List the make, model, VIN of each vehicle to be used for in-car instruction.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

INSPECTION PROCESS
When your application is approved you will receive a “Request for Inspection Form” by email. Carefully read the form to avoid 
mistakes which could potentially delay the inspection process. By submitting the inspection request form you are confirming the 
school is ready for operation in accordance with the requirements of Chapter 84 of the Driver Education and Traffic Safety 
Administrative Rules and Chapter 1001 of the Texas Education Code. 

• Inspection Passed - If the school passes, the license will be mailed to the address on the application.

• Inspection Not Passed - If the school did not pass inspection the inspector will go over with you what is required to pass
inspection. Once you have corrected the items stated on the inspection report you will need to provide documentation and or
picture(s) showing the corrections were made. Corrections must be sent directly to your inspector.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

• Student Enrollment - Schools may not enroll students until the inspection has been passed and the license has been
received.

• School Audit - If a driver education school is conducting driver education instruction through AMI, department employees 
may conduct an audit of the courses offered by the school. Audits may be conducted without prior notice to the provider, 
and department employees and representatives may enroll and attend a course without identifying themselves as 
employees or representatives of the department.

• Sample Forms - Driver Education sample school forms are available on the TDLR website.
• Curriculum - Schools may use one of the preapproved curriculum and textbooks listed at www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/

driverresources.htm or the school may develop their own curriculum that meets all Driver Education and Traffic Safety 
Administrative Rules and Laws. For schools creating their own curriculum, the curriculum must be submitted with this 
application.

• Advertising -  Schools must adhere TDLR advertising requirements in accordance to 16 TAC Chapter §84.80.
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1. Name of School:

3. Organization Type: (check one)

 Partnership Corporation Limited Liability 

2. School Application License Type: (check one)
Primary School License Branch School License

$500.00 (Non-refundable fee) $500.00 (Non-refundable fee)

4. School Mailing Address: (Used to receive mail from TDLR, P.O. BOX is allowed):

Number, Street Name, Suite Number,  City, State, Zip Code 

School Email Address  School Web Address 

School Phone Number  School Fax Number 

Contact Person’s Name  Phone Number  Email Address 

6. School Physical Address: (Where permanent records are kept, P.O. BOX is not allowed)

Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Building Number, City, State, Zip Code County 

DRIVER EDUCATION SCHOOL APPLICATION
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 Sole Proprietor 

5. Contact Person Information:

7. Registered Agent Information:(If School is located outside of Texas)

P.O. Box, Number, Street

 Phone Number  Email Address

Register Agent Name 

City, State, Zip Code
 Mailing Address:
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STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

9. By signing this application I certify that all information submitted on this application is true and accurate. I certify that I
will comply with all applicable provisions of the law of the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (Title 5, Texas
Education Code, Chapter 1001) and the rules of the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (16 Texas Administrative
Code, Chapter 84). I understand that providing false information on this application and all attachments may result in the
revocation of the approval I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties.

Signature of Owner, Officer, or Authorized Representative  Date Signed 

Printed Name  of Owner, Officer or Authorized Representative  Title 

Ownership %Business Name/Owner Name 

Additional Owner Information Mailing Address and Contact Information: (if necessary) 

Ownership %Business Name/Owner Name 
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P.O. Box, Number, Street

 Phone Number  Email Address

Mailing Address:
City, State, Zip Code

P.O. Box, Number, Street

 Phone Number  Email Address

Mailing Address:
City, State, Zip Code

8. Owner information. List the full name and contact information of the owners that have ownership in the business.

Additional Owner Information Mailing Address and Contact Information: (if necessary) 

Ownership %Business Name/Owner Name 

P.O. Box, Number, Street

 Phone Number  Email Address

Mailing Address:
City, State, Zip Code
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Place an (X) in each box confirming compliance with these requirements:

 Date Signed 

 Title 

SIGNATURE OF CERTIFICATION STATEMENT

School Name: 

By placing a check mark in each applicable box below and by my signature, I certify that the required documentation will be 
maintained and made available to the Department. I certify that I am providing accurate information and will comply with all applicable 
provisions of the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51 Texas Administrative Code, Title 16, Chapter 84 and the Texas Education 
Code, Title 5, Chapter 1001. I understand that providing false information on this application may result in revocation of the license or 
approval I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties.  

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

Minor/Adult Curriculum - Preapproved Textbook information is located under the driver education resources page  
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/driverresources.htm (Curriculum must meet requirements of 84.500 and Program of Organized Instruction) 

Minor/Adult In-Car Curriculum - (Curriculum must meet requirements of 84.500 and Program of Organized Instruction) 

Minor/Adult Enrollment Contract - Create and maintain an enrollment contract in accordance with 84.82 of the Driver 
Education & Safety Administrative Rules. A sample outline to be used can be found on the TDLR website (form DE-005-1) 

Make-up Policy - In accordance with 84.46(f) of the Driver Education & Safety Administrative Rules for policy requirements 

Notice of Public Interest and Participation -  In accordance with 84.84 

Copy of current Texas Driver Handbook or equivalent 

Curriculum Information:

Please indicate what curriculum your school is using for Minor/Adult Courses: 

TDLR pre-approved curriculum   (indicate which curriculum): 

Independent curriculum developed by the school (submit this curriculum with the application) 

 Signature of Owner, Officer, or Authorized Representative 

 Printed Name of Owner, Officer, or Authorized Representative 
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School License Number:   School Name: 

Instructions:  

1. List the Year, Make, Model, and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) for all vehicle(s) used for in-car instruction.
2. Included a copy of your commercial vehicle insurance declaration page showing the vehicle(s) covered, the policy

must show coverage for uninsured or under-insured motorist.
3. Use this form when adding or removing vehicles, check the box to indicate if you are adding or removing a vehicle.
4. Updates to your driver education school’s fleet list must be submitted to the department within 10 days of the up-

date.

Note: The use of an unapproved vehicle is a violation of Title 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 84, 
Section 84.42.  

Signature of Owner and or Authorized Representative  Date Signed 

Printed Name of Owner and/or Authorized Representative   Title  

MOTOR VEHICLE FLEET FORM
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C

Year Make Model VIN Number Add Remove 
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Instructions:

Write name(s) and license number(s) for every instructor to be added or removed from your staff roster. A separate staff roster 
must be submitted for each branch location.
Use this form when adding or removing instructors, check the box to indicate if you are adding or removing an instructor. 
Schools offering classroom instructional phase must have a current Supervising Driver Education Teacher or Driver Education 
Teacher on file before the school license will be processed. 

First and Last Name of Instructor(s) Instructor License # Adding Removing 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

7. 

8. 

9. 

10. 

DRIVER EDUCATION SCHOOL STAFF ROSTER

School License Number:  C School Name: 

Signature of Owner and or Authorized Representative   Date Signed 

Printed Name of Owner and/or Authorized Representative     Title  
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          Important Note: Courses marked by an asterisk (*) may have additional fees or application forms required. 

Types of Driver Education Courses Taught at School 
(Check box to indicate school course offering) 

YES     NOMinor & Adult 14 and Older: Traditional Classroom 

Exclusively for Adults Course* 
18 to under 25: 6-hour Traditional Classroom 

Minor & Adult In-Car 15 and Older 

Minor & Adult* 14 and Older: Alternative Method of Instruction 

Exclusively for Adults Course 6 - Hour Online*

Exclusively for Adults Course 6 - Hour Spanish Traditional*

Exclusively for Adults Course 6 - Hour Spanish Online*

Instructor Development Course*
9 Semester Hour Driver Education Instructor Development Course

Instructor Development Course*
6 Semester Hour Driver Education Supervising Instructor 
Development Course 

DRIVER EDUCATION COURSE LIST

YES     NO

YES     NO

YES     NO

YES     NO

YES     NO

YES     NO

YES     NO

YES     NO
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