P.0. Box 12157 » Austin, Texas 78711-2157
www.tdlr.texas.gov

DYSLEXIA THERAPIST OR DYSLEXIA PRACTITIONER APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

This application is for an individual who chooses to become licensed as a dyslexia therapist or a dyslexia practitioner
under the provisions of Occupations Code, Chapter 403. State law requires that only a person who holds a license is
authorized to use the titles “licensed dyslexia therapist” or “licensed dyslexia practitioner.” A person who does not use
those titles is not required by law to hold a license.

Enclose with this application a check or money order for $150.00 made payable to Texas Department of Licensing and
Regulation and mail to the address shown above. Your initial license will be valid for two years.

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant. An application is not considered complete and will not
be processed until all required items have been submitted. Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of
single-sided, 8%5" x 11” paper.

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.

1. NAME — Write your legal name in the spaces provided. (Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix
include Jr., Sr., and II. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

GENDER - Select whether you are male or female.
DATE OF BIRTH — Write your birthdate.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER - Social Security Number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(c)(1) of the
Texas Family Code in order to obtain a license. Your Social Security Number is subject to disclosure to an agency
authorized to assist in the collection of child support payments. For more information regarding child support
payments, contact the Texas Attorney General at:

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/cs or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014.

5. EMAIL ADDRESS — Write your email address. By providing my email address | authorize the Texas Department of
Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to send licensing communications and required notices to me by electronic mail.
| understand that | may revoke this authorization in writing and that | must update my email address or | will not
receive these notices. | understand that the email address | have provided in this application will remain
confidential except as permitted or required by law.

6. PERSONAL PHONE NUMBER — Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you
during the day. This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message.

WORK PHONE NUMBER - Write your telephone number, including the area code.

MAILING ADDRESS — Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This
address can be a post office box. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently
and accurately.

9. TYPE OF LICENSE FOR WHICH YOU ARE APPLYING - Place a check mark in the box next to the type of license
for which you are eligible. You may need to read the information provided in items 10 and 11 to make this
determination

10. DYSLEXIA PRACTITIONER — Place a check mark in the appropriate box to indicate whether you are certified or
not certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association (ALTA) and provide the required items.

A. Certified
1. Proof of current certification as an academic language practitioner issued by ALTA.
B. Not Certified
1. An original transcript that verifies the award of a bachelor’s degree (or an advanced degree) from an

accredited college or university. If you hold an advanced degree, submit proof of the highest-level
degree that you hold.

TDLR Form DYS001 rev October 2018




2. Proof of successful completion of a training program accredited by the International Multisensory
Structured Language Education Council (IMSLEC) that includes, at a minimum:
e 45 contact hours of coursework in multisensory structured language education;
e 60 hours of supervised clinical experience providing multisensory structured language education to
students or adults, either individually or in small groups; and
e 5 demonstration lessons of multisensory structured language education observed by an instructor
and followed by a conference with and a written report by the instructor.
3. Proof of successful completion of the Alliance National Registration Examination for Multisensory
Structured Language Education Practitioner Level administered by ALTA.

11. DYSLEXIA THERAPIST — Place a check mark in the appropriate box to indicate whether you are certified or not
certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association (ALTA) and provide the required items.

A. Certified
1. Proof of current certification as an academic language therapist issued by ALTA.
B. Not Certified

1. An original transcript that verifies the award of a master’s degree from an accredited college or
university. If you hold a more advanced degree, submit proof of the highest-level degree that you hold.
2. Proof of successful completion of a training program accredited by the International Multisensory
Structured Language Education Council (IMSLEC) that includes, at a minimum:
e 200 contact hours of coursework in multisensory structured language education;
e 700 hours of supervised clinical experience providing multisensory structured language education to
students or adults, either individually or in small groups; and
o 10 demonstration lessons of the practice of multisensory structured language education observed
by an instructor and followed by a conference with and a written report by the instructor.
3. Proof of successful completion of the Alliance National Registration Examination for Multisensory
Structured Language Education Therapist Level administered by ALTA.

12. ACADEMIC TRAINING - List all colleges and universities attended and attach additional pages if necessary.

13. POSSESS ANY PROFESSIONAL OR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE, REGISTRATIONS, CERTIFICATES OR
PERMITS ISSUED BY ANY STATE, JURISDICTION, OR TERRITORY - Indicate by checking Yes or No whether
you have any other licenses, registrations, certificates or permits. If Yes, give the profession or occupation, license
or certificate number, name of the issuing jurisdiction, and date issued.

14. CRIMINAL HISTORY - Indicate by checking Yes or No whether you have ever been convicted of, or placed on
deferred adjudication for, any misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and
attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at
www.tdIr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf.

If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your
criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal

history evaluation, submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form for
each crime you were convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, and a $25 fee. You can find more
information on the process and download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at
www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm.

15 DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY - Indicate by checking Yes or No whether you have ever had a professional or
occupational license, certification, registration, or permit suspended, revoked, or denied in any state. If YES,
complete and attach a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire for each disciplinary action. This form can be obtained
from the TDLR website at www.tdIr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action Questionnaire.pdf.

16. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement before dating and signing your application.
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING NON-ACCREDITED TRAINING PROGRAMS

A person who seeks licensure as a dyslexia therapist or a dyslexia practitioner and who completed a training program
that is not accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council (IMSLEC) must seek
approval by TDLR of the person’s training program prior to applying for licensure.

APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service
members, their spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service
members, military veterans and military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or
Military Spouse Supplemental Application (TDLR form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The form
is located on the TDLR website at http://www.tdIr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing
for military service members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page
at http://www_.tdIr.texas.gov/military.htm.

SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Documents submitted with your application will not be returned. Keep a copy of your completed application, all
attachments, and you check or money order. Do not send cash.

For additional information and questions, please visit the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation website at
tdiIr.texas.gov or reach Customer Service via webform where you can submit your request for assistance and include
attachments needed at https://www.tdIr.texas.gov/help or (800) 803-9202 [in state only], (512) 463-6599, Relay Texas-
TDD: (800) 735-2989 or Fax: (512) 463-9468. Customer Service Representatives are available Monday through Friday
7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Central Time (excluding holidays).
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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING & REGULATION
P.0. Box 12157 » Austin, Texas 78711-2157
www.tdlr.texas.gov

DYSLEXIA THERAPIST OR DYSLEXIA
PRACTITIONER APPLICATION

DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE

APPLICATION FEE: $150 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE)

This completed form must be accompanied by required educational documents and the application fee

1. Name: 2. Gender:
Om [OF
Last First Middle Name Suffix
3. Date of birth: 4. Social Security Number: 5. Email Address:
Month Day Year See Instruction Sheet for Disclosure Information | (Ex: johndoe@aol.com) See Instructions Sheet for Disclosure Information)
6. Personal Phone Number: 7. Work Phone Number:
Area Code Number Area Code Number

8. Mailing Address:

(P.O. Box, Number, Street Name/Apartment Number)

City State Zip Code

9. Type of license for which you are applying:
Please check the box next to the type of license for which you are eligible. You may need to read the information provided in
items 10 and 11 to make this determination.

[] DYSLEXIA PRACTITIONER - | hold a BACHELOR'’S degree (or an advanced degree) from an accredited college
or university and | have completed the additional training, experience, and examination qualifications for licensure
as a dyslexia practitioner. (See item 10 below for more information.)

[] DYSLEXIA THERAPIST - | hold a MASTER’S degree (or a more advanced degree) from an accredited college or
university and | have completed the additional training, experience, and examination qualifications for licensure as
a dyslexia therapist. (See item 11 below for more information.)

10. Dyslexia Practitioner: (place a check mark in the box of your certification)

[] lam certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association. (checklist of documentation required for licensure)

A person who holds current certification as an academic language practitioner issued by the Academic Language
Therapy Association (ALTA) is required to submit proof of current certification as an academic language teacher or
an academic language practitioner issued by ALTA.

[ ] lam not certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association. (checklist of documentation required for licensure)

A person who does not hold current certification as an academic language practitioner issued by ALTA is required
to submit the following three items with this application:

A. An original transcript that verifies the award of a bachelor’s degree (or an advanced degree) from an
accredited college or university. If you hold an advanced degree, submit proof of the highest-level degree that
you hold.
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B. Proof of successful completion of a training program accredited by the International Multisensory Structured
Language Education Council (IMSLEC) that includes, at a minimum:
e 45 contact hours of coursework in multisensory structured language education;
e 60 hours of supervised clinical experience providing multisensory structured language education to
students or adults, either individually or in small groups; and
e 5 demonstration lessons of multisensory structured language education observed by an instructor and
followed by a conference with and a written report by the instructor.
C. Proof of successful completion of the Alliance National Registration Examination for Multisensory Structured
Language Education Practitioner Level administered by ALTA.

11. Dyslexia Therapist: (place a check mark in the box of your certification)
[] Iam certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association. (checklist of documentation required for licensure)

A person who holds current certification as an academic language therapist issued by the Academic Language
Therapy Association (ALTA) is required to submit proof of current certification as an academic language therapist
issued by ALTA.

[ ] Iam not certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association. (checklist of documentation required for licensure)

A person who does not hold current certification as an academic language therapist issued by ALTA is required to
submit the following three items with this application:
A. An original transcript that verifies the award of a master’s degree from an accredited college or university. If
you hold a more advanced degree, please submit proof of the highest-level degree that you hold.
B. Proof of successful completion of a training program accredited by the International Multisensory Structured
Language Education Council (IMSLEC) that includes, at a minimum:
e 200 contact hours of coursework in multisensory structured language education;
e 700 hours of supervised clinical experience providing multisensory structured language education to
students or adults, either individually or in small groups; and
¢ 10 demonstration lessons of the practice of multisensory structured language education observed by an
instructor and followed by a conference with and a written report by the instructor.
C. Proof of successful completion of the Alliance National Registration Examination for Multisensory Structured
Language Education Therapist Level administered by ALTA.

12. Academic Training: (List all colleges and universities attended and attach additional pages if necessary

Name of College/University/Institution:

Location (city, state, zip):

Inclusive dates attended,

Beqin (Mo/YT): End (Mo/Yr):
Type of Degree
Granted: Major Field:

13. Do you possess any professional or occupational licenses, registrations, certificates, or
permits issued by any state, jurisdiction, or territory? [lYes []No

If YES, state profession or occupation; license or certificate number; name of the issuing jurisdiction,
and date issued:

14. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any

misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation? [1Yes []No
If YES, complete and submit a Criminal History Questionnaire (CHQ) for each offense.

See instructions sheet for more information

15. Have you ever had a professional or occupational license, certification, registration or

permit suspended, revoked or denied in any state? (This does not include your driver license) []Yes []No
If YES, complete and submit a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire (DAQ) with this application.

16. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT

| certify that | will comply with all applicable laws and rules of the Dyslexia Therapy Program. All information | have provided is true
and correct. | understand that providing false information may result in denial of this application and/or revocation of the license.

Applicant Signature Date Signed

TDLR Form DYS001 rev October 2018 Page 2 of 2






