
ELECTRICAL OR ELECTRICAL SIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  All information provided must be typed or printed in black ink.  
Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper. Use a paperclip to fasten all pages 
together, with the check or money order on top.  Do not use staples. 

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR  
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. 

1. LICENSE TYPE - Check the license type you are applying for. 

2. BUSINESS NAME - Write the full name of your business as it will appear on your license. (40 characters maximum). 

 If there is more than one business name, an assumed name certificate is required. If your business 
is incorporated, contact the Texas Secretary of State’s office for a certificate. If your business is not 
incorporated, contact your local county clerk’s office. 

 List the full assumed names or DBA’s for this business on the certificate of liability Insurance form. 
      The name/assumed business name on the certificate of liability must match the name on the 
 application. 
 Assumed names will NOT print on the actual license. 
 All business names will be listed on the TDLR website. 

3. FEDERAL ID NUMBER - Write the federal ID number that is used by your business. Information about Federal or 
      Employer ID numbers can be found at: www.irs.gov/businesses. 

4. TYPE OF OWNERSHIP - Check the box that shows how your business is organized. 

5. MAILING ADDRESS - Write your current business mailing address. This is the address where we can send you mail. 
A post office box can be used. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently and 
accurately.  

6. PHYSICAL ADDRESS - Write the physical address (location) of your business. Do not use a post office box. 

7. PHONE NUMBER - Write a telephone number, including the area code where we can reach you during the day or 
where we can leave you a message. 

8. EMAIL ADDRESS - Write your email address. Please provide your email address so the department may email li-
cense information and required notices to you. Your email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Infor-
mation Act, and the department will not share it with the public.  

9. POINT OF CONTACT - Write the contact information of a person we can contact about your business. See item 8 for 
email address disclosure information. 

10. GENERAL LIABILITY INSURANCE - You must attach proof that your business has the minimum liability insurance 
required by law and rule. A certificate of insurance must be attached to your application. Electrical contractors are 
required to have at least the minimum general liability insurance coverage at all times to satisfy proof of financial re-
sponsibility. The insurance must: 

 be at least $300,000 per occurrence (combined for property damage and bodily injury); 

 be at least $600,000 aggregate (total amount the policy will pay for property damage and bodily injury); and 

 be at least $300,000 aggregate for products and completed operations. 

 Proof of your general liability insurance may be submitted on an industry standard certificate of insurance form with a 
 30-day cancellation notice. Insurance must be obtained from an admitted company or an eligible surplus lines carrier, 
 as defined in the Texas Insurance Code, Article 1.14-2, or other insurance companies that are rated by A.M. Best
 Company as B+ or higher. 
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11. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE - Check the box that identifies how you have satisfied the Workers’ 
Compensation Insurance requirement. 

 I have workers’ compensation insurance. Proof of workers’ compensation insurance can be submitted on an 
industry standard certificate of insurance form with a 30-day cancellation notice. Insurance must be obtained 
from an admitted company or an eligible surplus lines carrier, as defined in the Texas Insurance Code, Arti-
cle 1.14-2, or other insurance companies that are rated by A.M. Best Company as B+ or higher. 

 I have self-insurance. The Self-Insurance program administered through the Texas Department of Insur-
ance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DCW) is limited to larger-size employers. Employers must show 
a manual premium of at least $500,000 in Texas or $10,000,000 nationally, post a minimum security deposit 
of $300,0000, in addition to other substantive requirements in order to be approved as a Certified Self-
Insurer. Generally, companies with less than 200 employees will not meet the above criteria. 

 For more information or to request an initial application packet, contact Division of Workers’ Compensation  
 Self-insurance Regulation by calling (512) 804-4345 or faxing (512) 804-4346 during normal business hours 
 of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday CST. 
 

Self-Insurance Regulation 
Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
7551 Metro Center Drive Suite 100, MS-96 

Austin, Texas 78744-1609 
 

 I do not have workers’ compensation insurance. Subchapter A, Chapter 406, Labor Code and the rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance provide for employers to not have workers’ compensation insurance. An 
Employer Notice of No Coverage or Termination of Coverage Form (DWC Form-005) is filed and can be 
obtained by calling TDI/DWC forms management at (512) 804-4990. The form and related instructions can 
be downloaded at: www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. Contact TDI/DWC at (800) 372-7713 or (512) 
804-4000 for additional information. 

12. TEXAS MASTER ELECTRICIAN/MASTER SIGN ELECTRICIAN ASSIGNED TO THIS CONTRACTOR - This sec-
tion must be completed by the master electrician or master sign electrician.  

 An Electrical Contractor can ONLY have a master electrician assigned to the electrical contractor. 

 An applicant for an electrical contractor license must be: 

 licensed in Texas as a master electrician or 

 employs a person licensed in Texas as a master electrician. 

 An Electrical Sign Contractor can have EITHER a master electrician or master sign electrician assigned to the 
electrical sign contractor.  

 An applicant for an electrical sign contractor license must be: 

 licensed in Texas as a master electrician or master sign electrician or 

 employs a person licensed in Texas as a master electrician or master sign electrician. 

 Do you own more that 50 percent of this contracting business? - Check YES or NO to this question.  

 A person who holds a Texas master electrician or master sign electrician license can only be assigned to a 
single electrical contractor, unless the master electrician owns more than 50 percent of the electrical con-
tracting business. 

 Name, license number, date, and signature of master electrician/master sign electrician - Sign this section, print 
your name and license number as it appears on your master electrician/master sign electrician license issued by 
TDLR.   

13. STATEMENT OF OWNER - Carefully read the statement before signing and dating your application. This section 
can be completed by an officer of the business.  



DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 

2. Business Name: (as it will appear on your license, 40 character limit) See instruction sheet for more information 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

     ______________________________________________________________________________________________      

3. Federal ID Number:  
    See instruction sheet                _______________________________ 
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YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN TWELVE MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE, OR THE APPLICATION WILL BE TERMINATED. 
 

APPLICATION FEE: $110 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE)  

 ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR  ELECTRICAL SIGN CONTRACTOR 

1. License Type: 

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 

City                                                                                                                                                               State                                                                                               Zip Code 

5. Mailing Address: (PO box can be used for this address) 

7. Phone Number: 8. Email Address:  

(______) ______________________ 
 

   Area Code Phone Number Email address (ex: johndoe@aol.com) (See Instruction sheet for disclosure information) 

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 

City                                                                                                                                                               State                                                                                               Zip Code 

6. Physical Address: (PO box cannot be used for this address) 

9. Point of Contact:  

 
_______________________________________       _________________________ ___________     ___________ 
                    Last                                   First                                                          Middle  Initial                    Suffix (JR, SR, III)   

 
 

(___________)        ________________________________          __________________________________________________________________ 
      Area Code                    Phone Number                                                                           Email Address  (Ex: johndoe@aol.com)  See instructions sheet for disclosure information 

 Sole Proprietorship Corporation Limited Partnership 

 Limited Liability Company Limited Liability Partnership General Partnership 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Type of Ownership:  

 

  OR 

A separate application must be completed for EACH separate license type.  



10. General Liability Insurance: 

 Electrical contractors are required to satisfy proof of financial responsibility by maintaining general liability insurance 
 coverage as stated below: 
   (a) at least $300,000 per occurrence (combined for property damage and bodily injury); 
  (b) at least $600,000 aggregate (total amount the policy will pay for property damage and bodily injury coverage); 
  (c) at least $300,000 aggregate for products and completed operations. 
 

A certificate of insurance must be attached to your application. The name/assumed business name on the certificate of 
liability insurance must match the business name on your application.  See instructions sheet for more information. 

THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY A MASTER ELECTRICIAN OR MASTER SIGN ELECTRICIAN 

Do you own more than 50 percent of this electrical/electrical sign contractor business? 

 

 An Electrical Contractor can ONLY have a master electrician assigned to the electrical contractor. 

 An applicant for an electrical contractor license must be: 

 licensed in Texas as a master electrician or 

 employs a person licensed in Texas as a master electrician. 
 

 

 An Electrical Sign Contractor can have EITHER a master electrician or master sign electrician assigned to the 
electrical sign contractor.  

 An applicant for an electrical sign contractor license must be: 

 licensed in Texas as a master electrician or master sign electrician or 

 employs a person licensed in Texas as a master electrician or master sign electrician. 
 

 

I agree to assign my license to this contractor and certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of Texas Electri-
cal Safety and Licensing Act; Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1305 and Chapter 51; Texas Administrative Code, 
Chapter 60; and the Electricians Administrative Rules, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 73. I understand that provid-
ing false information on this application may result in the revocation of my electrician license and this contractor license 
and the imposition of administrative penalties. 
 
  ________________________________     ____________________________________________________________ 
            Assigned Electrician License Number                                                                                     Print Name 

 
  ________________________________     ____________________________________________________________ 
                               Date Signed                                                                                                Assigned Electrician Signature 

 

 

I have workers’ compensation insurance 

I have self-insurance.  

 

11. Workers’ Compensation Insurance: (Choose one of the following) 

  

 

 

 

See instructions sheet for more information 

I do not have workers’ compensation insurance 

12.                              ELECTRICIAN ASSIGNED TO THIS CONTRACTOR 

  Yes No 

13.                                        STATEMENT OF OWNER 
I certify that I will maintain the required insurance and I will comply with all applicable provisions of Texas Electrical Safety and Licens-
ing Act; Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1305 and Chapter 51; Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60; and the Electricians Ad-
ministrative Rules, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 73. I understand that providing false information on this application may result 
in the revocation of the license I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties. 
 
                                                                                _______________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                          Printed Name 
 
    ________________________                             _______________________________________________________ 
                             Date                                                                                                               Applicant Signature 
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