TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION

Elevator Program
P. O. Box 12157 « Austin, Texas 78711 « (512) 463-6599 « (800) 803-9202
(512) 475-2871 « Email: CS.Elevators.Escalators@tdlr.texas.gov * Web site: www.tdIr.texas.gov

Instructions for Obtaining an Elevator/Escalator
Certificate of Compliance

The Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 754, requires building owners to hire a registered elevator
inspector (a list is available on our website) to conduct an annual safety inspection on all elevators,
escalators and related equipment. Per Elevator Safety and Licensing Administrative Rule, 874.50, the
owner must submit all required documentation to the department within 30 days of the equipment
inspection date.

***Penalties of up to $5,000 may be assessed for each violation of this law and rule. ***

Building Owner Responsibility: The building owner is responsible for submitting the following
documentation and fees annually, within 30 days of the date of inspection.

1. The owner, or owner’s agent, will obtain the original Elevator Equipment Report of
Inspection form from the inspector, for each elevator, escalator or piece of related
equipment.

2. The owner must complete the owner and contact person information on the front of the
Report of Inspection form.

3. The inspector will fill out the Violation Code and Description sections, and the Equipment
Specifications section.

4. The owner and inspector both must sign and date the inspection form to acknowledge the
inspection was conducted and any violations have been corrected or are under an active
and legitimate contract to be corrected, prior to the next inspection.

5. The completed Elevator Equipment Report of Inspection Form(s) and total amount of all
fees owed must be made payable by check or mone}y order fo Texas Department of
!_lcenstlné; and Regulation. Thé owner'must pay a fee of $20 for each piece of equipment
inspected.

6. Late Filing: If an inspection report is filed 60 days after the date of inspection, each
piece of equipment WilllO be assess%d a late fee of $10 for every 30 day periog

Repeat Violations: If any violations are marked as “REPEAT VIOLATION”, they must
immediately be corrected and the corrections must be verified by the inspector. The inspector must
submit verification in writing to TDLR in order for the owner to obtain a certificate of compliance.

Waiver and Delay Consideration and Information: For Waiver and Del\% consideration and
information, go to the Elevator or Escalator Delay and aiver Form at:
http://www.tdIr.texas.gov/elevator/ele012.pdf

***Mail all required documents and fees to the Texas Department of L_icensindg and Regulation, P.O.
Box 12157, Austin, TX 78711. For overnight or walk-in, use physical address of 920 Colorado

Street, Austin, TX 78701.
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