
MOTOR FUEL METERING AND QUALITY 
SERVICE COMPANY APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

KEEP A COPY OF YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY 
ORDER PAYABLE TO TDLR. 
1. APPLICATION TYPE – Check the box that identifies the application type.

• A “New Business” application is for a business that has not held a service company license.
• A “Change of Ownership” application is for a business that has been transferred or acquired from a previous

owner, or a registered business changing its federal tax identification number. Indicate the date of the change of
ownership, and if known, the most recent license number.

2. BUSINESS NAME – Provide the full legal business name as it is registered with the Texas Secretary of State.
3. DOING BUSINESS AS (DBA) – Provide all DBAs used by the business applying for a license (if applicable).

4. BUSINESS PHYSICAL ADDRESS – Provide the physical street address of the location. Please do not enter a post office
box. This information will assist the TDLR inspectors in locating your business if an inspection is needed.

5. BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER – Provide a telephone number for the business, including the area code.

6. BUSINESS TYPE – Check the box that indicates how your business is organized.
7. FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER – Provide the Federal Employer ID number that is used by your business.

Information about Federal Employer ID numbers can be found by contacting the Internal Revenue Services.
• SOLE PROPRIETORS – Social Security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(c)(1) of the Texas

Family Code to obtain a license. Your Social Security number is subject to disclosure to an agency authorized to
assist in the collection of child support payments. For more information regarding child support payments,
contact the Texas Attorney General or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014.

8. POINT OF CONTACT – Provide the name, title, and contact information for the person who will be the point of contact
for the business and can discuss and answer questions about registration related matters. Renewal invoices and
account information, including correspondence, registration certificates, and other related documents, will be sent to
the current contact information listed for the Point of Contact.
• EMAIL ADDRESS – By providing the point of contact’s email address, TDLR is authorized to send

communications and required notices by electronic mail. To continue receiving notices, this email address must
be updated, if applicable. This authorization may be revoked in writing. The email address provided will remain
confidential except as permitted or required by law.

• PHONE NUMBER – Provide the Point of Contact's telephone number, including the area code.

• MAILING ADDRESS – Provide the Point of Contact’s mailing address. The mailing address provided is where we
will send mail related to this license. A post office box can be used.

9. DEVICE CATEGORIES – Indicate the category(ies) of motor fuel metering devices on which your company will
perform device maintenance activities. You may choose more than one category. A $300 fee is required for the first
device category, and $200 for each additional category.
For your reference:

• Low Flow: Devices with a maximum flow rate of 20 gallons per minute (GPM); requires at least one five-gallon
or greater test measure or prover (Formerly Class 5)

• High Flow: Devices with a maximum flow rate of greater than 20 GPM; requires at least one prover
with a capacity that exceeds the amount of liquid delivered by the device in one minute at the maximum
flow rate (Formerly Class 6)

• LPG: Devices used to deliver liquid petroleum gas for use as a motor fuel; requires at least one LPG
prover (Formerly Class 7)
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A Certificate(s) of Calibration must be submitted with this application. You are required to have certified calibrated 
test standards that meet the specifications in NIST Handbook 105 for each device category. Test standards must be 
calibrated annually by a recognized or accredited laboratory that adheres to ISO 17025 standards.

https://www.irs.gov/businesses
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support
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10. ACKNOWLEDGMENT – After reading the statement, print and sign your name, and date the form. By providing your
name, you acknowledge that you have read the statement and that you are aware of your responsibilities regarding
the issuance of this requested license.

APPENDIX A: CONTROLLING PERSON BACKGROUND HISTORY 
Effective September 1, 2020, all controlling persons for a service company are subject to a criminal history check. This 
section must be completed for each controlling person of the business and submitted with the application. Use 
additional sheets if necessary. 
A controlling person is an individual; is a sole proprietor; is a general partner of a partnership; is a controlling person of 
a business entity that is a general partner of a partnership; possesses direct or indirect control of at least 25 percent of 
the voting securities of a corporation; is the president, the secretary, or a director of a corporation; or possesses the 
authority to set policy or direct the management of a business entity. 
1. BUSINESS NAME – Provide the full legal business name of the service company as it appears on the license

application. 
2. BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER – Provide the full name of the controlling person submitting the background history,

including first, middle and last name, and suffix (if applicable).
3. TITLE – Provide the controlling person’s title in the business.
4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER – Provide the controlling person’s Social Security number. Social Security number

disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas Family Code to obtain a license. Your Social Security
number is subject to disclosure to an agency authorized to assist in the collection of child support payments. For more
information regarding child support payments, contact the Texas Attorney General or call (512) 460-6000 or (800)
252-8014.

5. DATE OF BIRTH – Provide the controlling person’s date of birth.
6. GENDER – Select whether the controlling person is male or female.

7. PERCENTAGE OF OWNERSHIP – Provide the controlling person’s percentage of ownership in the business.

8. MAILING ADDRESS – Provide the controlling person’s current mailing address. A post office box can be used.

9. EMAIL ADDRESS – By providing the controlling person’s email address, TDLR is authorized to send
communications and required notices by electronic mail. To continue receiving notices, this email address must be
updated, if applicable. This authorization may be revoked in writing. The email address provided will remain
confidential except as permitted or required by law.

10. PHONE NUMBER – Provide the controlling person’s telephone number, including the area code.

11. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate whether the controlling person has ever received deferred adjudication for, or been
convicted of, any misdemeanor or felony (other than a minor traffic violation). If yes, attach Criminal History
Questionnaire (PDF).

12. ACKNOWLEDGMENT – After reading the statement, print and sign your name, and date the form. Your signature here
indicates that you have read the statement and that you are aware of your responsibilities regarding the issuance of
the requested registration.

https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf
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CHECKLIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION TO BE SUBMITTED WITH APPLICATION AND FEE: 

☐ Completed Application

☐ Required Fee (Application will be returned if fee not included)

☐ Copy of TDLR Certificate of Insurance. (At all times during the license period, the service company must maintain
at least the following minimum general liability insurance coverages: (1) $25,000 per occurrence; or (2) $50,000
aggregate.)

☐ Copy of Certificate(s) of Calibration

☐ Appendix A (May require additional sheets)

SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO: 

TDLR 
P.O. Box 12157 
Austin, TX  78711-2157 
Your license application will not be returned. Keep a copy of your completed application, all attachments, and your check 
or money order payable to TDLR. Do not send cash. 

For additional information about the Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Program, please visit the TDLR website. You can 
request assistance or submit required attachments via TDLR webform or fax (512) 475-2871. You may contact 
Customer Service Representatives by calling (800) 803-9202 (in-state only) or (512) 463-6599; Relay Texas - TDD (800) 
735-2989. Customer Service Representatives are available Monday through Friday, from 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.
Central Time (excluding holidays).

TDLR Public Information Act Policy:

This document is subject to the Texas Public Information Act. With certain exceptions, information in this document may 
be made available to the public. For more information, view the TDLR Public Information Act Policy.

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/fmq/fmq.htm
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help/
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/disclaimer.htm#PublicInfoPolicy
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MOTOR FUEL METERING AND QUALITY SERVICE COMPANY APPLICATION 

YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE, OR THE APPLICATION 
WILL BE TERMINATED. 

1. Submission Type: (Check the box that identifies the submission type)

☐ New Business:

☐ Change of Ownership:  Previous Certificate Number: Date of Change:  
Month/Day/Year 

2. Business Name:

Full legal name of the business (owner's name if sole proprietor - no aliases) 

3. Doing Business As (DBA) Name:

4. Business Physical Address:

Street Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number, City, State, Zip Code 

5. Business Phone Number:

(Area Code) Phone Number 

6. Business Type:
☐ Corporation     ☐ Limited Partnership     ☐ Limited Liability Co.

☐ Sole Proprietorship     ☐ General Partnership

7. Federal Employer ID Number:
(Social Security Number if Sole Proprietor)

8. POINT OF CONTACT 

Name: 

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

Title: 

Point of Contact’s Job Title 

Email Address: 

See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

Phone Number: 

(Area Code) Phone Number 

Point of Contact Mailing Address: (This is the address where we will send mail related to this license)

P.O. Box, Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number, City, State, Zip code 

Page 1 of 3 
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9. DEVICE CATEGORIES 

Indicate the category(ies) of motor fuel metering devices on which your company will perform device maintenance 
activities. You may choose more than one category. 

Category Type 
(see instruction page for detailed device information) 

Fees 
($300 first device category, $200 per additional category) 

☐ Low Flow (devices with a maximum flow rate of less than 20 GPM)

☐ High Flow (devices with a maximum flow rate of 20 GPM or greater)

☐ LPG (devices used to deliver liquid petroleum gas as a motor fuel)

Total Fees Due 

10. ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

By signing and submitting this application, I certify that the information on this and any attached form is true and correct, 
and all standards required to perform device maintenance activities for the categories listed on this application are in 
compliance with calibration requirements. I further certify that I have at least the minimum general liability insurance 
coverages required, and I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Business and Commerce Code, 
Chapter 607; Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310; and Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60 and 97. I 
understand that providing false information on this application may result in revocation and/or denial of the license I am 
requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties and sanctions.

Print Name: 

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

Job Title: 

Signature: Date Signed: 

Month/Day/Year 

CHECKLIST OF DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED TO BE SUBMITTED 

☐ Completed Application

☐ Required Fee (Application will be returned if fee not included)

☐ Copy of TDLR Certificate of Insurance. (At all times during the license period, the service company must maintain
at least the following minimum general liability insurance coverages: (1) $25,000 per occurrence; or (2) $50,000
aggregate.)

☐ Copy of Certificate(s) of Calibration

☐ Appendix A (may require additional sheets)
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APPENDIX A: CONTROLLING PERSON BACKGROUND HISTORY 
This information is required for each controlling person for a service company. Use additional sheets if 
necessary. See instructions for more information. 

1. Business Name:

2. Controlling Person's Name:

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

3. Title:

4. Social Security Number: 5. Date of Birth: 6. Gender:

☐ Male  ☐ Female

7. Percentage of Ownership:

See instruction sheet for disclosure information Month/Day/Year 

8. Mailing Address:

P.O. Box, Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number, City, State, Zip Code 

9. Email Address:

See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

10. Phone Number:

(Area Code) Phone Number 

11. Have you ever received deferred adjudication for, or been convicted of, any misdemeanor
☐ Yes   ☐ Noor felony, other than a minor traffic violation?

If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) for each offense.

12. ACKNOWLEDGMENT 
By signing and submitting this application, I certify that the information on this and any attached form is true and correct. I 
further certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Business and Commerce Code, Chapter 607; 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310; and Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60 and 97. I understand that 
providing false information on this application may result in revocation and/or denial of the license I am requesting and 
the imposition of administrative penalties and sanctions. 

Print Name: 

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

Title: 

Signature: Date Signed: 

Month/Day/Year 

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf
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