
MOTOR FUEL METERING AND QUALITY 
DEVICE REGISTRATION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

KEEP A COPY OF YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY 
ORDER PAYABLE TO TDLR. 

1. APPLICATION TYPE – Check the box that identifies the application type.
• A "New Business" application is for a business that has not held a device registration certificate.
• A "Change of Ownership" application is for a business that has been transferred or acquired from a previous

owner, or a registered business changing its federal tax identification number. Indicate the date of the change of
ownership, and if known, the most recent account number.

2. BUSINESS NAME – Provide the full legal business name as it is registered with the Texas Secretary of State.
3. FACILITY NAME – Provide the name of the facility where the devices are located (if different from the Business

Name). This may be the Doing Business As (DBA) name used by the business submitting this application.
4. FACILITY PHYSICAL LOCATION – Provide the physical street address of the facility location. Post office boxes will

not be accepted. This information will assist the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) staff in
locating your business, if necessary.

5. FACILITY PHONE NUMBER – Provide a telephone number for the facility including the area code.

6. DEVICE CLASSIFICATION – Provide the total number of devices per type in commercial use at your business.

a) Device with a maximum flow rate of less than 20 GPM delivering multiple products per nozzle (includes a fuel
quality fee of $21) $93.

b) Device with a maximum flow rate of less than 20 GPM delivering a single fuel product per nozzle (includes a fuel
quality fee of $7) $31.

c) Device with a maximum flow rate of 20 GPM to 100 GPM (includes a fuel quality fee of $7) $127.

d) Device with a maximum flow rate of greater than 100 GPM $450.
e) Liquid petroleum gas (LPG) meter used to dispense LPG for use as a motor fuel $130.

NOTE: If the number of devices at your business decreases during the registration period, submit a Device 
Change Form to TDLR. No refunds will be made for devices permanently removed from commercial use. 
FEES: 

• To calculate the Total Fee per Device Type, multiply the Total Number of Devices by the Fee per Device.

• To calculate the Subtotal, add all Total Fees per Device Type.

• To calculate the Subscription Fee, multiply the Subtotal by 3%.*

• To calculate the Total Fees Due, add the Subtotal and the Subscription Fee.

* Device registration fees are subject to an additional 3% fee on top of the specified registration fee to cover the
cost of payment processing.

7. BUSINESS TYPE – Check the box that indicates how your business is organized.
8. FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER – Provide the Federal Employer ID number that is used by your business.

Information about the Federal Employer ID numbers can be found by contacting the Internal Revenue Service.
• SOLE PROPRIETORS – Social security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas

Family Code to obtain a license. Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency authorized to
assist in the collection of child support payments. For more information regarding child support payments,
contact the Texas Attorney General or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014.
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9. POINT OF CONTACT – Provide the name, title, and contact information for the person who will be the point of
contact for the business and can discuss and answer questions about registration related matters. Renewal invoices
and account information, including correspondence, registration certificates, and other related documents, will be
sent to the current contact information listed for the Point of Contact.

• EMAIL ADDRESS – By providing the point of contact’s email address, TDLR is authorized to send
communications and required notices by electronic mail. To continue receiving notices, this email address must
be updated, if necessary. This authorization may be revoked in writing. The email address provided will remain
confidential except as permitted or required by law.

• PHONE NUMBER – Provide the Point of Contact’s telephone number, including the area code.
• MAILING ADDRESS – Provide the Point of Contact’s mailing address. The mailing address provided is where we

will send registration-related mail. A post office box can be used.

10. RESPONSIBLE PARTY – Provide the name, title, and contact information of the person responsible for the business.
The Responsible Party may include but is not limited to an officer, partner, manager, or owner of the business.

• EMAIL ADDRESS – By providing the responsible party’s email address, TDLR is authorized to send
communications and required notices by electronic mail. To continue receiving notices, this email address must be
updated, if necessary. This authorization may be revoked in writing. The email address provided will remain
confidential except as permitted or required by law.

• PHONE NUMBER – Provide a telephone number, including the area code, for the Responsible Party.
• MAILING ADDRESS – Provide the mailing address for the Responsible Party. A post office box can be used.

11. ACKNOWLEDGMENT – After reading the statement, print your name and date the form. By providing your name, you
acknowledge that you have read the statement and that you are aware of your responsibilities regarding the issuance
of the requested device registration.

CHECKLIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION TO BE SUBMITTED: 
☐ Completed Application
☐ Required Fee (Application will be returned if total amount, with subscription fee no included)
☐ Copy of Device Performance Review Report**

**A Device Performance Review (DPR) Report (formerly “Calibration Report”) must be submitted with this application. A
DPR must be completed before a device may be placed into service and at least once every two years. Effective 
September 1, 2021, a DPR will also be required for devices with a flow rate of greater than 20 GPM – 100 GPM; 
devices with a flow rate greater than 100 GPM; and LPG meters. 

SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO: 
TDLR 
P.O. Box 12157  
Austin, TX  78711-2157 

Documents submitted with your application will not be returned. Keep a copy of your completed application, all 
attachments, and your check or money order payable to TDLR. Do not send cash. 

For additional information about the Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Program, please visit the TDLR website. You can 
request assistance or submit required attachments via TDLR webform or fax (512) 475-2871. You may contact 
Customer Service Representatives by calling (800) 803-9202 (in-state only) or (512) 463-6599; Relay Texas - TDD (800) 
735-2989. Customer Service Representatives are available Monday through Friday, from 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.
Central Time (excluding holidays).

REMINDER: 
All petroleum underground and aboveground storage tanks must be registered with the Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality (TCEQ). Contact them at (512) 239-2160 or visit the TCEQ website.  
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TDLR Public Information Act Policy:
This document is subject to the Texas Public Information Act. With certain exceptions, information in this document may 
be made available to the public. For more information, view the TDLR Public Information Act Policy.

http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help
http://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/registration/pst/Am_I_Regulated.html
http://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/registration/pst/Am_I_Regulated.html
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help/
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/fmq/fmq.htm
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/disclaimer.htm#PublicInfoPolicy


ARE YOUR FUEL DEVICES CORRECTLY REGISTERED?
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) classifies devices that deliver fuel through a single 
nozzle at a rate of less than 20 gallons per minute (GPM) in two categories: 

● Single product device; and
● Multi-product device.

To aid you in this classification process, listed below are common examples of fuel devices, including fee 
calculations.

Each nozzle represents a single device and most device cabinets have two sides, with nozzles on each side. 
Please remember to count and include all devices on your registration application.

If you have any questions or need additional information, feel free to contact us on our toll-free number: 
1-800-803-9202.

Notes: 
a. �Single product device (includes a fuel quality fee of $7) – $31. A single product device delivers one gasoline, E85 ethanol fuel,

diesel, or other non-gasoline product from a single nozzle.
b. �Multi-product device (includes a fuel quality fee of $21) – $93. A multi-product device delivers 2 or more blends of gasoline or

ethanol-blended fuel from a single nozzle.
c. �These illustrations represent examples of device cabinets commonly found in the marketplace. TDLR does not endorse or

recommend any brand of device cabinet.

3 – Single Product Devices a

Fee: $31 / nozzle

Total Fee / Cabinet: $186 
(as illustrated above)

2 sides x $93 ($31/device) = $186

Single Product Device a

Fee: $31 / nozzle

AND

Multi-Product Device b

Fee: $93 / nozzle

Total Fee / Cabinet: $248 
(as illustrated above):

2 sides x ($31/device + $93/device) = $248

Multi-Product Device b

Fee: $93 / nozzle

Total Fee / Cabinet: $186 
(as illustrated above):

2 sides x $93/device = $186
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MOTOR FUEL METERING AND QUALITY
DEVICE REGISTRATION APPLICATION 

YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE, OR THE APPLICATION 
WILL BE TERMINATED. APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

2. Business Name:

Full legal name of the business (owner's name if sole proprietor - no aliases) 

3. Facility Name:

7. Business Type: 8. Federal Employer ID Number:

5. Facility Phone Number:

(Area Code) Phone Number 

Page 1 of 2

4. Facility Physical Location:

Street Number, Street Name, Suite Number, City, State, Zip Code 

DEVICE CLASSIFICATION6.

Device Type Fee per
Device 

Total No. 
of Devices 

Total Fee
Per Device 

Type
Device delivering multiple products per nozzle (rated flow < 20 GPM) 
Device delivering a single gasoline product per nozzle (rated flow < 20 GPM)

Device delivering a single diesel or non-gasoline product per nozzle (rated flow < 20 GPM) 
Device delivering a single E85 ethanol fuel product per nozzle (rated flow < 20 GPM) 

Device rated flow > 20 GPM – 100 GPM
Device rated flow > 100 GPM

$93 a

Liquid Petroleum Gas (LPG) Meter

(Social Security Number if Sole Proprietors)

(See instruction page for detailed fee information) 

$31 b 
$31 b

$31 b

$127 c

$450 d

$130 e

Subtotal
+ Subscription fee (3%)

Total Fees Due

9. POINT OF CONTACT 
Name: 

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

Title: 

Point of Contact’s Job Title 

☐ Corporation     ☐ Limited Partnership     ☐ Limited Liability Co.

☐ Sole Proprietorship     ☐ General Partnership

1. Submission Type: (Check the box that identifies the submission type)

☐ New Business: (Date you intend to open):

☐ Change of Ownership: Previous Certificate Number: Date of Change:  
Month/Day/Year 
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ACKNOWLEDGMENT 
By signing and submitting this application, I certify that the information on this and any attached form is true and correct. I 
further certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Business and Commerce Code, Chapter 607; 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310; and Texas Administrative Code, Chapters 60 and 97. I understand that 
providing false information on this application may result in revocation and/or denial of the registration I am requesting and 
the imposition of administrative penalties and sanctions.

Print Name: 

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

Job Title: 

Signature: Date Signed: 

Month/Day/Year

***REMINDER***

11.

All petroleum underground and aboveground storage tanks must be registered with the Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). Contact them at (512) 239-2160 or visit the TCEQ website. 

10. RESPONSIBLE PARTY

Name: 

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

Title: 

Responsible Party's Job Title 

Mailing Address: 

P.O. Box, Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number, City, State, Zip Code 

Email Address: 

See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

Phone Number: 

(Area Code) Phone Number 

Email Address: 

See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

Phone Number: 

(Area Code) Phone Number 

Point of Contact Mailing Address: (This is the address where we will send registration-related mail) 

P.O. Box, Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number, City, State, Zip Code 

POINT OF CONTACT (Continued) 

http://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/registration/pst/Am_I_Regulated.html
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