
The Supervised Practicum Affidavit follows this page. 

This form is not to be returned with the Temporary Training Permit application. 

• This form should only be returned once the Temporary Training Permit has been
issued and the supervised practicum hours are complete.

• The logs do not need to be turned in unless requested by TDLR.

Please Note: 

§112.53. Temporary Training Permit--Supervision and Temporary Training Requirements.
(c) A person must obtain a temporary training permit prior to beginning the supervision and must maintain a valid
temporary training permit during his or her supervised practicum experience.

Once you have obtained your Temporary Training Permit, you may begin your supervised practicum. 

(g) A temporary training permit holder shall have at least 150 hours of directly supervised practicum that shall include the
following:

(1) 25 contact hours of pure tone air conduction, bone conduction, and speech audiometry, recorded and live voice,
with 15 of the required hours being with actual clients;
(2) 25 client contact hours of hearing instrument evaluations, including sound-field measurements with recorded and
live voice;
(3) 20 contact hours of instrument fittings with actual clients;
(4) 10 contact hours of earmold orientation types, uses, and terminology;
(5) five contact hours of earmold impressions and otoscopic examinations of the ear;
(6) 15 contact hours of troubleshooting of defective hearing instruments;
(7) 20 contact hours of case history with actual clients;
(8) 10 contact hours regarding the laws governing the licensing of persons fitting and dispensing hearing
instruments and federal Food and Drug Administration and Federal Trade Commission regulations relating to the
fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments; and
(9) 20 contact hours of supplemental work in one or more of the areas described by paragraphs (1) through (8).

(h) Pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §402.254, in addition to the contact hours under subsection (g), a temporary
training permit holder shall complete at least 10 contact hours of masking under the direct supervision of the supervisor.

Upon completion of the 160 hours of supervised practicum, the Supervisor must complete and sign the Temporary 
Training Permit Supervised Practicum Affidavit. It is the responsibility of the Temporary Training Permit holder and 
the Supervisor to submit the Temporary Training Permit Supervised Practicum Affidavit to Texas Department of 
Licensing and Regulation. Once the document has been received and approved by TDLR, the Temporary Training 
Permit holder will be notified by the department’s designee about eligibility to take the written test and the practical test. 
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HEARING INSTRUMENT FITTERS AND DISPENSERS  
TEMPORARY TRAINING PERMIT SUPERVISED PRACTICUM AFFIDAVIT INSTRUCTIONS 

A temporary training permit holder must complete 150 hours of directly supervised practicum, plus 10 contact 
hours of masking under the direct supervision of the supervisor. Once the 160 hours of supervised practicum are 
complete, the approved supervisor must complete the Supervised Practicum Affidavit. The completed Supervised 
Practicum Affidavit must be submitted to TDLR. Once the Supervised Practicum Affidavit has been reviewed and 
approved, the Temporary Training Permit holder will be notified by the department’s designee about eligibility to take 
the written test and the practical test. 

1. TEMPORARY TRAINING PERMIT HOLDER’S NAME – Write the temporary training permit holder’s legal name in
the space provided. (Last Name, First Name, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix include Jr., Sr., and II.
(Mr. is not a suffix.)

2. TEMPORARY TRAINING PERMIT NUMBER – Write the number of the temporary training permit.

3. TEMPORARY TRAINING PERMIT HOLDER’S STATEMENT – Carefully read the statement and sign and date.

4. SUPERVISOR’S NAME – Write the supervisor’s legal name in the space provided. (Last Name, First Name, Middle
Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix include Jr., Sr., and II. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

5. SUPERVISOR’S HEARING INSTRUMENT FITTERS AND DISPENSERS LICENSE NUMBER – Write the number
of the supervisor’s Texas license. 

6. SUPERVISOR’S STATEMENT – Carefully read the statement and sign and date.

Please read the supervised practicum requirements below: 
§112.53. Temporary Training Permit--Supervision and Temporary Training Requirements.
(a) The training of a temporary training permit holder must be done under the supervision of an individual who holds a
valid license to fit and dispense hearing instruments under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 401 or 402, other than an
individual licensed under §401.311 or §401.312.
(b) A supervisor licensed under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 401, shall comply with all provisions of Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 402, and this chapter that relate to the supervision and training of a temporary permit
holder. A supervisor licensed under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 402, shall comply with all provisions of the Act
and this chapter.
(c) A person must obtain a temporary training permit prior to beginning the supervision and must maintain a valid
temporary training permit during his or her supervised practicum experience.
(g) A temporary training permit holder shall have at least 150 hours of directly supervised practicum that shall include
the following:

(1) 25 contact hours of pure tone air conduction, bone conduction, and speech audiometry, recorded and live voice,
with 15 of the required hours being with actual clients;
(2) 25 client contact hours of hearing instrument evaluations, including sound-field measurements with recorded and
live voice;
(3) 20 contact hours of instrument fittings with actual clients;
(4) 10 contact hours of earmold orientation types, uses, and terminology;
(5) five contact hours of earmold impressions and otoscopic examinations of the ear;
(6) 15 contact hours of troubleshooting of defective hearing instruments;
(7) 20 contact hours of case history with actual clients;
(8) 10 contact hours regarding the laws governing the licensing of persons fitting and dispensing hearing
instruments and federal Food and Drug Administration and Federal Trade Commission regulations relating to the
fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments; and
(9) 20 contact hours of supplemental work in one or more of the areas described by paragraphs (1) through (8).

(h) Pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §402.254, in addition to the contact hours under subsection (g), a temporary
training permit holder shall complete at least 10 contact hours of masking under the direct supervision of the supervisor.
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HEARING INSTRUMENT FITTERS AND DISPENSERS 
TEMPORARY TRAINING PERMIT SUPERVISED PRACTICUM AFFIDAVIT 

1. Temporary Training Permit Holder’s Name: 2. Temporary Training Permit #:

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III)

I do hereby certify that I have completed the 160 hours of directly supervised practicum in accordance with 16 TAC
§112.52(g) and (h). I certify that I have read and will comply with all applicable provisions of the Hearing Instrument
Fitters and Dispensers Act; Texas Occupation Code, Chapter 402 and Chapter 51; and the Hearing Instrument Fitters
and Dispensers Administrative Rules; Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 112. I understand that providing false
information on this application may result in denial of this application and/or revocation of the license I am requesting
and the imposition of administrative penalties.

Signature of Temporary Training Permit Holder Date Signed 

4. Supervisor’s Name: 5. Supervisor’s License #:

Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix (Jr., Sr., III) 

I do hereby certify that the above temporary training permit holder has completed the 160 hours of directly supervised 
practicum in accordance with 16 TAC §112.52(g) and (h). I certify that I have read and will comply with all applicable 
provisions of the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Act; Texas Occupation Code, Chapter 402 and Chapter 51; 
and the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Administrative Rules; Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 112. I 
understand that providing false information on this application may result in denial of this application and/or revocation of 
the license I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties.
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3. TEMPORARY TRAINING PERMIT HOLDER'S STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT

6. SUPERVISOR'S STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT

Supervisor's Signature Date Signed 
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