Tropical Storm Imelda Response
On this page:
- Texans Helping Texans
- How to Contact TDLR
- Rebuilding & Recovery
- Emergency Suspension of Certain VSF Technical Requirements
- Emergency Tow License Applications Are Now Available
- Out-of-State Healthcare Providers
- Was Your Elevator or Escalator Damaged During Imelda?
- Plan Reviews & Inspections
- Boilers: Recovering Boiler Systems After a Flood; Boiler Extensions
- Water Wells: Private Wells Under Flood Waters
- Online Resources
Texans Helping Texans
On September 19, 2019, Governor Greg Abbott issued a State Disaster Declaration for Texas counties affected by Tropical Storm Imelda. All Texas counties declared disaster areas will continue to be eligible for assistance as they recover and rebuild after Tropical Storm Imelda. State Disaster Declarations must be renewed every 30 days for assistance to remain available.
As Texans respond to the ongoing disaster caused by Tropical Storm Imelda, TDLR is reaching out to help those in the affected areas. During this difficult time, we are streamlining procedures to help our licensees and small businesses recover as quickly as possible
Governor Greg Abbott’s disaster proclamation includes the following Texas counties: Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, San Jacinto.
How to Contact TDLR
TDLR licensees in the affected areas can email firstname.lastname@example.org to receive expedited assistance with questions, plan reviews, and inspections, or call 1-800-803-9202 between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Please identify the program you are calling about and have your license number ready.
Rebuilding & Recovery
Emergency Suspension of Certain VSF Technical Requirements
To assist with the ongoing recovery efforts in the wake of Tropical Storm Imelda, Governor Greg Abbott has temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules related to the physical requirements for establishing a licensed Vehicle Storage Facility (VSF). Read More >>
Emergency Tow License Applications Are Now Available
- Emergency Consent Tow Operator License. Apply online.
To be eligible, you must:
- complete the online application;
- hold a valid driver’s license issued by a state in the United States;
- pass a background check; and
- pay the consent tow operator license fee of $100.
An emergency consent tow operator must carry this license at all times when performing tow operations, and must allow TDLR and law enforcement personnel to inspect their tow truck at any time. See Requirements for Emergency Consent Tow Operator License.
- Emergency Consent Tow Company License. Call 800-803-9202. TDLR’s licensing team will expedite your emergency consent tow company license application over the phone. You can also add your tow truck(s) during this process to get your emergency consent tow truck permit (cab card). Note: the tow company application process requires that your insurance company file your insurance information using TDLR’s online TOOLS system. See Requirements for Emergency Consent Tow Company License.
- Emergency Consent Tow Truck Permit. Call 800-803-9202. To receive an emergency consent tow truck permit, your tow truck must be affiliated with a TDLR-licensed tow company. See Requirements for Emergency Consent Tow Truck Permit.
If your tow truck is already affiliated with a TDLR-licensed tow company, the company can simply add your vehicle information to their account online using the online TOOLS system and print out the permit (also referred to as a “cab card”). If your tow truck is not affiliated with a TDLR-licensed tow company, you must apply for an emergency consent tow company license in order to receive the emergency consent tow truck permit.
Out-of-State Healthcare Providers
On September 19, in accordance with Sections 418.016 and 418.171 of the Texas Government Code, Governor Greg Abbott temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules to allow a healthcare professional licensed and in good standing in another state to practice in various facilities in Texas to assist with disaster response operations for Tropical Storm Imelda. See the program pages at the links below for more information on the requirements and procedures for out-of-state healthcare providers:
- Athletic Trainers
- Behavior Analysts
- Dyslexia Therapy
- Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers
- Orthotists and Prosthetists
- Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
Was Your Elevator or Escalator Damaged During Imelda?
If your elevator or escalator was damaged or submerged, then it is important that the equipment be assessed by a TDLR-licensed Elevator Contractor prior to being placed back into operation. To help with Imelda recovery efforts, TDLR is waiving certain fees for plan reviews and removal from service. Read More >>
Plan Reviews & Inspections
During the disaster proclamation period, TDLR will fast-track all state-required plan reviews and inspections in the affected areas for:
- Boilers (internal extension requests)
Boilers: Recovering Boiler Systems After a Flood; Boiler Extensions
Water Wells: Private Wells Under Flood Waters
If you own a private water well and the well was under flood waters, you may want to have the well tested or disinfected. Download the Well Disinfection Guide (PDF).
- Update your contact information
- Renew your license
- Sign up for email updates regarding TDLR’s disaster assistance and recovery efforts.
- Share with us on Facebook and Twitter.
- The Governor's Office has set up the Texas Hurricane Center, a web portal with a wide range of information regarding assistance and opportunities
TDLR is committed to helping our fellow Texans through the recovery process, and we stand ready to assist in any way we can.