Instructions on How to Apply for a New Massage Therapist License
On this page:
Texas Massage School students registered as of September 1, 2020 will receive an email from TDLR with instructions on how to apply for their Massage Therapist license upon graduation. The instructions below are only for out of state students and applicants who attended school in Texas before September 1, 2020.
In Texas, a person must be licensed as a massage therapist to practice or administer massage therapy or other massage services to a client in exchange for compensation.
Begin Your Application
Please be sure to include all required documentation on the “Attachments” section of the application form:
- Official transcripts showing completion of required education and training from the massage school(s) you attended
- Proof of passing the Jurisprudence Exam
- Proof of passing the MBLEx Exam (within time limitations)
The non-refundable application fee is $100.
A massage therapist license is valid for two years from the date of issue.
After submitting your license application, you must be fingerprinted for a national criminal history record review before a license may be issued.
This is a one-time requirement, and TDLR will be notified of any arrests or criminal convictions that occur after you are fingerprinted.
Please see the Fingerprinting Instructions for New Massage Applicants page for detailed instructions on the fingerprinting process, including any fees you will be responsible for.
Education and Training Requirements
To apply for a massage therapist license, you must be able to show proof of having completed at least 500-hours of coursework in massage therapy studies at a massage school licensed in Texas.
Your documentation should prove that you meet the minimum educational requirements specified in Section 117.20(a)(8) of the Massage Rules.
You must include with your application materials, official certified original transcript(s) of all relevant coursework that you have completed at massage schools. The transcript does not have to be in a sealed envelope from the school.
Out of State Applicants
If you are currently licensed in another state, or if you attended massage school in a state other than Texas, you will need to apply as an out-of-state applicant.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.