
 
Student Notification Form 

Required for enrollment in a massage therapy educational program exceeding 500 hours 
 

This form has been designed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to provide you, the student, with notice that this 
approved massage therapy educational program exceeds the minimum number of hours required by law  

for licensure as a Massage Therapist in Texas. 
 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name of Licensed Massage School - Name of Massage Therapy Educational Program)  

 
A licensed massage school is required to offer you the choice to enroll in a minimum 500 hour massage therapy educational program. If you 

voluntarily choose to enroll in this program, you will be required to complete more hours in one or more subject areas than the minimum 
number of hours required to obtain a license in Texas in order to graduate.  

 
You should review the educational opportunities provided by this approved program carefully before enrolling.  

 
The school may benefit financially by enrolling you in this longer program, either by collecting additional tuition or fees, and/or by receiving 

compensation from clients for any additional internship massages or other massage therapy services you agree to perform while enrolled in 
an internship which exceeds the 50 hour minimum required for licensure. However, you may benefit from the opportunity to complete 

additional hours of training in core subjects, expanded subject areas or a range of modalities, and/or through additional supervised practice  
providing massage therapy or other massage services to the public during an extended internship.  

 
Subject Area Number of Hours Required for 

Licensure in Texas 
Number of Hours Required by 

This Program 
Massage therapy techniques (may include Swedish) and 

theory and the practice of manipulation of soft tissue  
75  

Swedish massage therapy techniques 125  
Anatomy 50  

Physiology 25  
Kinesiology 50  
Pathology 40  

Hydrotherapy 20  
Massage therapy laws and rules, business practices and 

professional ethics 
45  

Health, hygiene, first aid, universal precautions, and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 

20  

Internship 50  
Total Number of Hours 500  
Total Cost of Program  $ $ 

 
If you fail to complete the program and request a partial refund and/or partial transcript, the massage school will utilize the total number of 
hours for the program in which you have enrolled, not the 500 hour minimum, to meet the requirements in the rules regarding refunds and 
transcripts (16 Texas Administrative Code §117.66). By signing this form, you agree that: 
1. You have voluntarily chosen to enroll in a program which exceeds the minimum number of hours required for licensure as a massage 
therapist in Texas; 
2. You have a complete understanding of the information provided in this form; and 
3. You have read and understand the laws and rules associated with the Massage Therapy Program. 
 
_________________________________________  ____________________________________ 
 (Signature of Student)     (Date) 
 
_________________________________________                        Rev. 11/17 
 (Printed Name of Student)     


