
		   TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING & REGULATION

ELEVATORS, ESCALATORS & RELATED EQUIPMENT  
AT A GLANCE
Statutes: Chapter 754, Health and Safety Code
Rules: Title 16 T.A.C. Chapter 74
Practice Act? No 
Title Act? No
Number of Licenses: 43,153 (FY 19)

Insurance Required
An elevator contractor must maintain general liability insurance at all 
times during a license period. The required general liability insurance 
must be not less than:

●● $1,000,000 for each single occurrence of bodily injury or death; and
●● $500,000 for each single occurrence of property damage.

Safety Measures 
●● Door restrictors are devices that prevent the elevator cab 
doors from opening when an elevator is not within its “landing 
zone” and they are installed for one primary reason: to prevent 
serious injury or death. They keep people from opening the 
doors of a stalled elevator car and attempting to crawl out. For 
safety reasons, any passenger elevator in Texas without door 
restrictors OR found to have non-working door restrictors must 
be immediately removed from service. The elevator will not be 
placed back into service until it is inspected and has all required 
safety features verified by a registered elevator inspector.

●● Firefighters’ service is a special operating mode for elevators 
that protects the public by sending elevator cabs to a safe 
floor for exiting. To make buildings safer during a fire, the Texas 
Elevator Law requires all passenger elevators to be equipped 
with firefighters’ service. To protect the public, any passenger 
elevator in Texas without firefighters’ service OR found to have 
non-working phase one firefighters’ service must be immediately 
removed from service.

TDLR has the authority to protect the public from dangerous 
conditions that may exist due to an elevator or escalator 
operating improperly.

Inspection history for elevators or related equipment is 
available on the TDLR website (www.tdlr.texas.gov/Elevator_
SearchApp/Elevator) or at (800) 803-9202. 
 
File a complaint against a building owner, elevator inspector 
or elevator contract on the TDLR website  
(www.tdlr.texas.gov). 

Overview:
TDLR regulates elevators, escalators and related equipment to ensure the 
safety of passengers. TDLR also regulates contractors and inspectors who 
work with elevators, escalators, and other related equipment. 

Single family dwellings are not regulated by TDLR except for provisions in 
Section 754.0141 which include that the equipment must be installed by 
a licensed elevator contractor and inspected, but the paperwork is not 
turned in to TDLR. These requirements are to ensure that the homeowner 
receives and purchases a code-compliant piece of equipment.

Inspection and Certificate of Compliance
Elevators and related equipment must be inspected every 12 months. 
The inspection report and all required documents and fees must be 
submitted to TDLR to receive a Certificate of Compliance. The building 
owner is responsible for obtaining a Certificate of Compliance for 
each elevator and escalator in the building.

There are approximately 150 third-party inspectors who perform 
inspections of elevators and escalators in Texas.  

Every five years, a Category 5, full-load test must be performed. 
Category 5 testing is required on Electric (a.k.a. traction) elevators 
only by the adopted Safety Code for Elevators, Escalators and Related 
Equipment (ASME A17.1).

Installation/Alteration
●● Before installing or altering an elevator or escalator, the 
registered elevator contractor must submit detailed plans to TDLR 
and obtain approval of the plans.

●● If an elevator or escalator is being altered, the registered elevator 
contractor must submit a written description of the scope of work, 
on company letterhead, describing each alteration to be performed.

●● Installation or alteration of elevators and escalators must conform 
to ASME Code A17.1.

“Incident” vs. “Accident”
An “incident” is any injury that happens from riding elevator 
equipment. An “accident” is an incident where the injured party 
sustains serious bodily injury from riding elevator equipment.

For more information, please contact the TDLR Office of Strategic Communication: media.inquiries@tdlr.texas.gov.

http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/Elevator_SearchApp/Elevator
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
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CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION

Original Application $115

Renewal Application $115

Revised/Duplicate Registration card $25

INSPECTOR REGISTRATION

Original Application $50

Renewal Application $50

Revised/Duplicate Registration card $25

FILING FEES (PER UNIT OF EQUIPMENT)

Inspection report $20

Late Filing fee - for every 30-day period filed after the required 60th day submission (see 
Elevator Late Fee Calculator for information on how to determine your late filing fees.) $10

Revised/Duplicate Certificate of Compliance $25

Waiver/Delay Application - each violation per unit of equipment requested to be waived 
or delayed $50

ELEVATOR/ESCALATOR PLAN REVIEW (INSTALLATION OR ALTERATION)

Standard Review $200 per unit, max. fee $5,000

Expedited Review $1,000 per unit, no max. fee

Amending previously-approved plans $100 per unit, max. fee $2,500

VARIANCE OR APPEAL FEES FOR NEW TECHNOLOGY

Variance New Technology Application $2,500

Appeal New Technology Application Denial $200

NOTE: All fees submitted are non-refundable

The Elevator Advisory Board has 9 members serving staggered 3-year terms, which includes:
●● a representative of the insurance industry or a registered elevator inspector;
●● a representative of equipment constructors;
●● a representative of owners or managers of a building having fewer than six stories and having equipment;
●● a representative of owners or managers of a building having six stories or more and having equipment;
●● a representative of independent equipment maintenance companies;
●● a representative of equipment manufacturers;
●● a licensed or registered engineer or architect;
●● a public member; and
●● a public member with a physical disability.
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