
                                                                                                                                              March 2018 

 
 
 

INFORMED CHOICE AND DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
 

 
I ______________________________________am required to provide and explain this form to you. 
                               (Midwife) 
 
 
My Texas license number is __________________. My license expires on _________________. 
 
My Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) expires on _______________________. 
 
My Neonatal Resuscitation Certificate expires on _____________________________________. 
 
I am required to take at least 20 contact hours of continuing education every 2 years. 
 

___ I am in compliance with these requirements.  ___ I am not in compliance with these requirements. 
 
 
 
I have practiced Midwifery for ____ years.  I first received my Texas license on _____________ date. 
 
I have attended _______________ births and was the primary caregiver in _______________. 
 
            I have been licensed in another state.                         I have not been licensed in another state. 
 
If so, the state and my license number(s) are/were: _________________________________________ 
  

__________________________________________________________________________________ 
   
 
 

I am required to: 
 

 Ensure all births and deaths are registered 
 

 Comply with the Dangerous Drug and Controlled Substances Acts 
 

 Comply with State laws regarding communicable diseases, including testing for HIV,  
Hepatitis B, and syphilis  

 

• Put eye prophylaxis (ointment) on your newborn’s eyes within 2 hours of birth 
 

 Perform a blood test on your newborn to screen for heritable diseases and hypothyroidism. 
 

______ I am approved to collect blood specimens to perform these tests 
 

______ I am not approved to collect the blood specimens.  I will be referring you to:   
 
______________________________________ for the collection of the specimens. 
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I may not: 
 

 use a medicine or mechanical device to help slow down labor or speed up delivery 
 

 administer a prescription drug unless I am under the supervision of a licensed Texas physician,  
you need oxygen, or I am administering eye prophylaxis 

 

 use forceps or surgical instruments unless cutting the umbilical cord or providing emergency  
first aid during delivery 
 

 remove the placenta by invasive techniques 
 

 make a false statement or record on a birth certificate 
 

 make a false statement in an advertisement or when listing my credentials 
 

 
 
 

I do not have malpractice insurance.    _________ (client initials) 
 

I do have malpractice insurance through ____________________________________________.   
 
 

 If there is an emergency before, during, or after delivery, anyone can call 911. 
 If there is an emergency before, during, or after delivery, I must initiate an immediate transfer 

 of care either by private vehicle or by calling 911. 
 
In the event of an emergency and you are not transported by an ambulance: 
 
You will go to, and the exact address is:                  
                 or    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Note: Additional hospitals may be attached to this form.   

 My non-transport medical backup arrangements are _____________________________________ 
 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Midwives are regulated by: 
 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) 
P.O. Box 12157, Austin, Texas 78711 

1-800-803-9202 * 512-463-6599 * 512-539-5698 (fax) 
 

To file a complaint, go to www.tdlr.texas.gov and select “File a Complaint” in the toolbar, or call the 
numbers above.  The statutes and rules midwives are required to follow can be found at the website listed 
above. 
 
____________________________________  ____________________________ 
Signature of Client   Date 
 
____________________________________ ____________________________ 
Signature of Midwife   Date  

http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/

