Renew a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine License

If your professional information has changed, please update your physician profile prior to renewing.

Human Trafficking Training

A human trafficking prevention training course, approved by the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), must be completed to renew your registration.

For more information on the training requirement, please visit our Human Trafficking Prevention Training for Health Care Practitioners webpage.


Continuing Education Requirements

Each person licensed to practice podiatric medicine in the State of Texas is required to have 50 hours of continuing medical education (CME) every two years for the renewal of the license to practice podiatric medicine.

Please see the continuing education page for more details.


Renewal Application

To renew your license, complete an online application form and pay the non-renewable $700 application fee.

Renew Online

Need help? Read the documentation on how to create an account and renew online.

DPM licenses must be renewed every two years.

Additional Permits

Hyperbaric Oxygen Permits and Nitrous Oxide Permits can be applied for or renewed online.

Permit Type Apply Instructions Renew Instructions
Hyperbaric Oxygen Permit Apply for a Hyperbaric Oxygen Permit Renew a Hyperbaric Oxygen Permit
Nitrous Oxide Permits Apply for a Nitrous Oxide Permit Renew a Nitrous Oxide Permit

 


Renewal of Expired Licenses

A person whose license has expired may not legally offer podiatric services in Texas.

If a license has been expired for 90 days or less, you may renew the license by paying to the department a renewal fee that is equal to 1-1/2 times the normally required renewal fee.

A license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may be renewed by paying the department a renewal fee that is equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.

On approval by the executive director (see Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form - PDF), a license that has been expired for at least 18 months but less than three years may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.


Applicants with Criminal Convictions

If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.

The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for or renew a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.

Individuals may request TDLR review their Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.

Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.