During the 85th Texas Legislative Session, the Legislature passed Senate Bill 674 to change the registration requirements for the Medical Radiologic Technology Program at the Texas Medical Board (TMB) as recommended by the Texas Sunset Commission. TDLR is currently studying impacts of Senate Bill 674 on a Podiatric Medical Assistant’s (PMA) ability to perform radiological procedures under the delegation/supervision of a Podiatric Physician. This webpage will be updated accordingly.
Any person performing Podiatric radiological procedures in the practice of a licensed Podiatric Physician (other than the Podiatric Physician or a Non-Certified Technician (NCT) registered with the Texas Medical Board) must be registered with TDLR as a Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician.
The TDLR Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician registration is for a Podiatric Medical Assistant who has completed an alternate 20-hour radiology training course.
Radiology training courses are approved by the Texas Medical Board.
|Radiological Technician Training Type:||Which training course did you complete?:
(Look at your Training Program Certificate)
|Are you working under a Podiatric Physician?:||Then you must register as a:|
|Full 125 Hour Course||Yes||NCT with the Texas Medical Board|
|Partial 67 Hour Course||Yes||NCT with the Texas Medical Board|
|Podiatric Medical Assistant
|TPMA or Other Provider Alternate
20 Hour Course
|Yes||Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician with TDLR|
Radiology Technician Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is the fee associated with a TDLR Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician (initial & renewal) registration?
Effective September 1, 2017, in accordance with SB674 (85th Texas Legislative Session), no fee is required at this time. The previous $35.00 fee has been discontinued. You must however complete and return the required application.
2. Where can I find the enabling statute (Texas Occupations Code Chapter 601) for Medical Radiologic Technologists?
3. Where can I find the Texas Medical Board’s Medical Radiologic Technology rules for Training Programs, Certificate Holders, Non-Certified Technicians and Other Authorized Individuals or Entities?
4. Where can I find TDLR’s rules on Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician regulation?
5. Does a TDLR Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician registration authorize a person to operate (office) lower extremity MRI equipment?
No. A TDLR Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician registration only authorizes the performance of lower extremity X-rays (ionizing radiation), not Magnetic Resonance Imaging.
6. Does a TDLR Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician registration authorize a person to operate a mobile fluoroscopic machine, such as the Orthoscan Mobile DI?
No. Only a practitioner (defined as a Texas licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, dentistry, or chiropractic who prescribes radiologic procedures for medical reasons), or a medical radiologic technologist (MRT), may operate this unit.
7. Can a PMA or NCT perform a radiological procedure which has been identified as “Dangerous” or “Hazardous” as defined in Texas Medical Board Rule §194.17 “Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures”?
No. “Dangerous” or “Hazardous” procedures may only be performed by a practitioner (defined as a Texas licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, dentistry, or chiropractic who prescribes radiologic procedures for medical reasons), medical radiologic technologist (MRT) or limited medical radiologic technologist (LMRT).
8. Does TDLR register and inspect X-ray machines in a podiatrist’s practice?
No. Every podiatry practice is required to have their X-ray machines registered with the Radiation Control Program at the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS). DSHS Radiation Control Inspectors travel the state to ensure the safety of X-ray machines and to also ensure that staff operating such machines are appropriately trained. Please visit the DSHS Radiation Control Program.