
SENIOR PROPERTY TAX CONSULTANT REGISTRATION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  All information provided must be typed or printed in black 
ink.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.  Use a paperclip to fasten all 
pages together, with the check or money order on top.  Do not use staples.  
 
DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR  
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. 

1. NAME – Write your legal name in the spaces provided.  (Last, First, Middle IName, Suffix)  Examples of a suffix include Jr., Sr., 
and II.  (Mr. is not a suffix.) 

 

2. DATE OF BIRTH –  Write your birthdate. You must be at least 18 years of age. 
 

3. GENDER – Select whether you are male or female. 
 

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER – Social Security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas Family Code in 
order to obtain a license.  Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency authorized to assist in the collection of 
child support payments.  For more information regarding child support payments, contact the Texas Attorney General at: 

 

www.oag.state.tx.us/child/index or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014. 
 

5. MAILING ADDRESS – Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. A post office box can 
be used as a mailing address. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently and accurately. 

  

6. PHONE NUMBER -- Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the day. This may be 
your office phone number where we can leave a message. 

 
7. EMAIL ADDRESS – Write your email address. Please provide your email address so the department may email license infor-

mation and required notices to you. Your email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act, and the de-
partment will not share it with the public. 

 

8. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any misdemeanor or 
felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for each offense. This form 
can be obtained from the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf 

 

 If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your criminal history 
 evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal history evaluation, submit a Criminal 
 History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form for each crime you were convicted of, or placed on  
 deferred adjudication for, and a $25 fee. You can find more information on the process and download the  
 necessary forms on the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm 
 

9. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever had an occupational license, certification, or registration suspend-
ed, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire for each disciplinary ac-
tion. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at:   www/tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action Questionnaire.pdf  

 

10. DESIGNATE YOUR RESIDENT TEXAS AGENT -  If your place of business is not in Texas, you must provide the name, and 
requested contact information of a resident Texas agent for the purpose of service of process. 

 

11. BUSINESS NAME - Write the name of your business and requested business contact information. 
 

12. DID YOU GRADUATE FROM HIGH SCHOOL OR EARN A HIGH SCHOOL EQUIVALENCY - Check YES or NO to indicate if 
you graduated from high school or earned a G.E.D. You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent. 

 

13. DO YOU HOLD AN ACTIVE REAL ESTATE BROKER, REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON, OR REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LI-
CENSE - Check YES or NO to indicate if you are currently licensed as a real estate broker, salesperson, or appraiser. If YES, 
provide your real estate license type, number, and expiration date.  

 

14. HAVE YOU PERFORMED OR SUPERVISED PTC SERVICES FOUR OF THE LAST SEVEN YEARS - Check YES or NO to 
indicate if you have performed or supervised PTC services as your primary occupation for four of the last seven years. If YES, 
attach a resume or letter describing your experience. If NO, you may not be eligible for this license. 

 

15. DO YOU HOLD THE CMI DESIGNATION -  Check YES or NO to indicate if you are a Certified Member of the Institute (CMI) for 
Professionals in Taxation. If YES, attach a copy of your CMI designation certificate. As a CMI, you will not be required to take to 
the senior PTC exam. If NO, you will be required to take the exam once all eligibility requirements have been met. 

 

16. CREDITS FOR SENIOR PROPERTY TAX CONSULTANT - Complete this section to determine your total credits you have from 
PTC experience and higher education.  

 

 (a) enter the number of years your primary occupation involved the performance or supervision of PTC services. Subtract five 
 years and enter the results in the space provided. The Department allows a maximum of 10 credits from occupational experience, 
 if your results are greater than 10, enter 10 in the space provided. 
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 (b) Enter the number of years of higher education you have in the provided space. Multiply that number by two and enter the  
 results in the space provided. The Department allows a maximum of six credits from higher education; if your results are greater 
 than six, enter six in the space provided. A year is a minimum of 24 completed semester hours. 
 
 (c) If you have completed a Bachelor’s Degree, enter four in the space provided, if you have not, enter a zero. Add the total 
 number of credits and enter the total in the space provided. This total and total from your completed PTC educational programs 
 and course must total at least 25. 
 

 You must attach the completion certificate for each PTC related educational program and course.  
 
17. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement of applicant before you sign and date your application. 
 
 
APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES  
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service members, their 
spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service members, military veterans and 
military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or Military Spouse Supplemental Ap-
plication (TDLR form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The form is located on the TDLR web-
site at: http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  
 

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing for military 
service members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page at:  
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm. 
 
 
State law prohibits renewing a license more than once after a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by 
the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement 
with TGSLC. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a stu-
dent loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the appli-
cant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at: Texas 
Guaranteed ATTN: Collections PO Box 83100, Round Rock, TX 78683-3100, Telephone: (800) 222-6297, http://
www.tgslc.org or email: cust.assist@tgslc.org. 



PROPERTY TAX CONSULTANTS CODE OF ETHICS 

Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1152 requires that registrants read and submit to a code of ethics. This requirement 
is part of the Property Tax Consultants registration application. 
 
Rule 66.100 reads as follows: 
 
(a) A registrant shall not participate, whether individually, or in concert with others, in any plan, scheme, or arrangement 

attempting or having as its purpose the evasion of any provision of the Act or commission rule. 
 
(b) A registrant shall not directly or indirectly or in any manner whatsoever lend his/her registration or identification to any 

person, firm or corporation for the purpose of evading any provision of the Act or commission rule. 
 
(c) A registrant shall exercise reasonable care and diligence to prevent persons under his/her supervision from engaging in 

conduct which would violate any provision of the Act or commission rule. 
 
(d)  A registrant shall not engage in any activity that constitutes dishonesty, fraud, or gross incompetence while performing 
 property tax consulting services. 
 
(e)  A registrant shall promptly report to the department any known violation of the Act or commission rule. 
 
(f) A registrant shall cooperate fully with the department in the investigation of an alleged violation of the Act or commission 

rule. 
 
(g)  A registrant shall not offer or promise anything of value with the intent of inducing a person who is performing a public 
 duty to perform or fail to perform any act related to such public duty. 
 
(h)  A registrant shall not contract for or accept compensation or anything of value for services not performed. 
 
(i)  A registrant shall not knowingly or intentionally engage in any false or misleading conduct or advertising with respect to 
 client solicitation. 
 
(j) A registrant shall not knowingly furnish inaccurate, deceitful, or misleading information to a client or employer, a  
 prospective client or employer, or a public agency or representative of a public agency. 
 
(k)  A registrant shall not reveal information known to be confidential unless the release of such information is authorized by
 the source or required by law. 
 
(l) A registrant shall not state or imply that the registrant represents a person or firm that the registrant does not in fact  
 represent. 
 
(m) A registrant shall not solicit or advertise property tax consulting services by claiming a specific result or stating a  
 conclusion regarding such services without prior analysis of the facts and circumstances pertaining thereto. 
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MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE, OR THE APPLICATION WILL BE TERMINATED. 
 

APPLICATION FEE: $75 
REGISTRATION FEE: $40 

TOTAL FEE: $115 
(APPLICATION FEE IS NON REFUNDABLE) 

 

SENIOR PROPERTY TAX CONSULTANT REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
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1. Name:  
 
 
 
 

 _______________________________________       _________________________ ___________     ___________ 
                    Last                                   First                                                          Middle  Name                    Suffix (JR, SR, III)   

2. Date of Birth:  

 
 

                            ____________ -  _________ - ____________ 
                      Month                                   Day                                 Year 

3. Gender:                          

  Male Female 

4. Social Security Number:                                                                                  

     (See instruction sheet for disclosure information)      ______ ______ ______     _____ _____     ______ ______ ______ ______ 

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 
City                                                                                                                                                       State                                                                                         Zip Code 

5. Mailing Address: (Used to receive mail from TDLR) (A PO box is allowed for this address) 

6. Phone Number: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(_______________) ____________________________________________________     
        Area Code         Phone Number 

7. Email Address: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                   (Ex: johndoe@aol.com) See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

9.  Have you ever had an occupational license, certification         
    or registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state? 
      If YES, attach a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire to this application. (This does not include your driver license.) 

8. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any 
  felony or misdemeanor, other than a minor traffic violation? If YES, complete and  
 attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for each offense.  

 
 
 

See instruction sheet for more information 

  Yes No 

  Yes No 

10.  Designate your resident Texas agent for “service of process” if you DO NOT have a place of business in  
 Texas. (If you have a place of business in Texas, skip this section and go to section 11. 

Agent’s Name:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 _______________________________________       _________________________ ___________     ___________ 
                    Last                                   First                                                          Middle  Initial                    Suffix (JR, SR, III)   

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 
City                                                                                                                                                   State                                                                                           Zip Code 

Agent’s Mailing Address: (A PO box is allowed for this address) 

Agent’s Phone Number: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(_______________) ____________________________________________________     
        Area Code         Phone Number 

Agent’s Email Address: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                   (Ex: johndoe@aol.com) See instruction sheet for disclosure information 
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11. Business Name: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Number, Street Name, Suite Number 

 
City                                                                                                            County                                                                                                           State                                                 Zip Code 

Business Physical Address: (A PO box cannot be used for this address) 

Business Phone Number: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(_______________) ____________________________________________________     
        Area Code         Phone Number 

Business Email Address: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                   (Ex: johndoe@aol.com) See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

12. Did you graduate from high school or earn a high school equivalency certificate (G.E.D.)?   Yes No 

13. Do you hold an active real estate broker, real estate salesperson or real estate appraiser  
 license? 
 
If YES, provide the license type: ____________________________  License Number:_______________________ 
 
 Expiration Date: _______________________ 

  Yes No 

I certify all information submitted on this and attached forms are true and accurate. I authorize TDLR to conduct any investigations of me which it 
deems prudent. I understand that the information revealed in any investigation may be cause for disapproval of the application even though other re-
quirements for a license have been met. I further certify that I have read the Registration of Property Tax Consultants Act, Occupations Code, Chapter 
1152, and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation rules promulgated thereunder and will abide by the Code of Ethics, Section 66.100 of 
those rules. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

_______________________________         ___________________________________________________________ 
                             Date Signed                                                                    Signature of Applicant 

17.                                                                  STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

  

 Yes  No 
14. Have you performed or supervised persons in the performance of property tax consulting services as your 

primary occupation for at least four of the last seven years?  
 
 
 
 
 

If YES, attach a resume or letter describing your experience. 

ATTACHMENTS 

  Yes No 
15. Do you hold the Certified Member of the Institute for Professionals in Taxation (CMI)  
 designation?  
 
 
 
 
 

If YES, attach a copy of your certificate. (CMI designation satisfies the senior PTC exam requirement) 

16. Credits for Senior Property Tax Consultant: 
 
 You must have a total of 25 credits granted by the Department from educational programs and courses,  
 experience, and higher education 
 
 Attach completion certificates of approved courses and certificates for courses you want evaluated for credit. Depart-

ment approved courses can be found at:  http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/ptc/ptccreditlist.htm 
 Complete the following to compute credits to be granted by the Department: 
 
List the number of years your primary occupation involved the performance or supervision of property tax consultant ser-
vices or property appraisal, assessment, or taxation. 
 
 (a) Work Experience: Number of Years ________  minus first 5 years =  _________ (10 credit maximum) 
  
 (b) Higher Education: Number of Years ________  X  2  =                        _________ (6 credit maximum) 
            (One Year = 24 semester hours) 
 
 
 
 
 

   (c) Bachelor’s Degree: Yes = 4 credits  No = 0 credits                               _________ 
              
                                                                                                      TOTAL      _________ (add to total of education courses) 
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