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SANITARIAN IN TRAINING REGISTRATION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

1. NAME – Write your legal name in the spaces provided.  (Last Name, First Name, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples 
of a suffix include Jr., Sr., and II. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

2. GENDER – Select whether you are male or female.

3. DATE OF BIRTH – Write your birthdate.

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER – Social security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(c)(1) of the 
Texas Family Code to obtain a license. Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency 
authorized to assist in the collection of child support payments.  For more information regarding child support 
payments, contact the Texas Attorney General at:

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014

5. EMAIL ADDRESS – By providing my email address I authorize TDLR to send licensing communications and
required notices to me by electronic mail.  I understand that I may revoke this authorization in writing and that I
must update my email address or I will not receive these notices.  I understand that the email address I have
provided in this application will remain confidential except as permitted or required by law.

6. PERSONAL PHONE NUMBER – Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you
during the day. This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message.

7. MAILING ADDRESS – Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This
address can be a post office box. You can add the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently
and accurately.

8. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION – Enter the information of your place of employment; address, phone number, fax
number, your job title, the date you started work and place a check in the box for the category which you spend
most your time.

9. EDUCATION – Submit an official transcript from your college, university, and/or graduate record which verifies that
degree and science requirements have been met.  (Transcript(s) must be original).  List additional universities on a
separate sheet if necessary.  You must document 30 hours of coursework in basic or applied sciences on
pages 2-5 of this packet. If you are applying for an Upgrade, you do NOT have to document your 30 hours
or resubmit your transcripts.

10. EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR EXAMINATIONS AND REGISTRATION - In the space provided below,
please document the 30-semester hour (or its equivalent) coursework minimum requirement in basic or applied
sciences that you completed at an accredited college or university.  You are only required to complete a minimum
of 30 hours in any of the following acceptable courses.  Your application must include official transcripts verifying
completion of courses.  Dropped courses are not acceptable.

11. EMPLOYMENT RECORD – If the experience obtained is applicable, begin with your present position and work
back to your first position. 

12. LICENSING REQUIREMENTS – Once your application has been approved, you will be eligible to take the
examination. The exam provider will contact you on how to schedule your examination. The candidate information
bulletin (CIB) will provide further details. The link for the CIB information can be found on the Sanitarian webpage.

13. PRIOR REGISTRATION AS A SANITARIAN – If you have previously held a sanitarian registration, list the
registration number, state or licensing jurisdiction, and your name, if different than in item 1.  If you are currently
certified by the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) as a Registered Environmental Health
Specialist/Registered Sanitarian (REHS/RS), please attach proof of your certification.

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of 
insingle-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR 
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.
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14. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever had a professional license, certification, or
registration suspended, canceled, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a Disciplinary
Action Questionnaire for each disciplinary action. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at
www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action Questionnaire.pdf.

15. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of or placed on deferred adjudication for any
Misdemeanor or Felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History
Questionnaire for each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at
www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf.

If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your
criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal
history evaluation, submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form
for each crime you were convicted of or placed on deferred adjudication for and a $25 fee. You can find more
information  on the process and download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at
www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm.

16. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement before dating and signing your application.

CHECKLIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION TO BE SUBMITTED: 

1. an official transcript with conferred bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university that includes at
least thirty (30) semester hours or its equivalent in a basic or applied science;

2. a copy of your certificate, if you are certified by the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) as a
Registered Environmental Health Specialist/Registered Sanitarian (REHS/RS);

3. a completed department-approved application; and

4. the required application fee.

APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY 
SPOUSES 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service 
members, their spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service 
members, military veterans and military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or 
Military Spouse Supplemental Application (TDLR form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The 
form is located on the TDLR website at: http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  
If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation 
licensing for military service members, military veterans or military spouses, please go to the TDLR Military Information 
web page at: http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm. 

SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Documents submitted with your application will not be returned.  Keep a copy of your completed application, all 
attachments, and you check or money order.  Do not send cash.

For additional information and questions, please visit the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation website at 
tdlr.texas.gov or reach Customer Service via webform where you can submit your request for assistance and include 
attachments needed at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/help or (800) 803-9202 [in state only], (512) 463-6599, Relay Texas-
TDD: (800) 735-2989 or Fax: (512) 463-9468.  Customer Service Representatives are available Monday through 
Friday 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Central Time (excluding holidays).

http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary%20Action%20Questionnaire.pdf
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm
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DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 

INITIAL APPLICATION FEE: $120.00 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE) 

The completed forms must be accompanied by all required documents and the application fee. 

1. 1. Name:

Last Name First Name Middle Name Suffix 

2. Gender:

  Male   Female

3. Date of Birth: 4. Social Security Number:

Month  Day  Year See Instruction Sheet for Disclosure Information 

5. Email Address: 6. Personal Phone Number:

Ex: johndoe@aol.com See Instruction Sheet for Disclosure Information        Area Code     Number

7. Mailing Address:

(P.O. Box, Number, Street Name/Apartment Number) 

City  State Zip Code 

8. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer Name: 

Employer 
Mailing Address: 

(P.O. Box, Number, Street Name/Apartment Number, City, State, Zip) 

Employer Phone No. 
(include area code) 

Employer Fax No. 
(include area code) 

Job Title: 
Date of 
Employment From: To: 

Mo./Yr. Mo./Yr. 

9. EDUCATION

Submit an official transcript from your college, university, and/or graduate record which verifies that degree and science 
requirements have been met.  (Transcript(s) must be original).  List additional universities on a separate sheet if 
necessary.  You must document 30 hours of coursework in basic or applied sciences on pages 2-5 of this 
packet.  

College/University: 

Location: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Science Hrs. 
Completed: 

Did you 
graduate? 

Conferred 
Degrees/Yr.: 

Major: 

SANITARIAN IN TRAINING REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
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EDUCATION (cont.) 

College/University: 

Location: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Science Hrs. 
Completed: 

Did you 
graduate? 

Conferred 
Degrees/Yr.: 

Major: 

College/University: 

Location: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Science Hrs. 
Completed: 

Did you 
graduate? 

Conferred 
Degrees/Yr.: 

Major: 

College/University: 

Location: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Science Hrs. 
Completed: 

Did you 
graduate? 

Conferred 
Degrees/Yr.: 

Major: 

10. EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR EXAMINATIONS AND REGISTRATION

In the space provided below, please document the 30-semester hour (or its equivalent) coursework minimum
requirement in basic or applied sciences that you completed at an accredited college or university.  You are only
required to complete a minimum of 30 hours in any of the following acceptable courses.  Your application must include
official transcripts verifying completion of courses.  Dropped courses are not acceptable.

Course 
Course title & number 

on transcript 

Number of 
semester 

hours 

Final 
Grade 

Full title of course 

Air Pollution 

Anatomy 

Animal Science 

Bacteriology 

Biochemistry 

Biology 

Biomedical Science 

Biophysics (no more 
than 6 semester 
hours or its 
equivalent) 
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Course 
Course title & number 

on transcript 

Number 
of 

semester 
hours 

Final 
Grade 

Full title of course 

Biostatistics 

Botany 

Cell Physiology 

Chemical 
Engineering 

Chemistry 

Community Health 

Computer Science 
(no more than 6 
semester hours or its 
equivalent) 

Dairy Science 

Ecology 

Embryology (no 
more than 6 
semester hours or its 
equivalent) 

Entomology 

Environmental 
Health 

Environmental 
Science 

Environmental 
Diseases 

Environmental Law 

Epidemiology 

Food Bacteriology 

Food Science 

Food Technology 

Genetics 

Geophysics 

Geology 

Hazardous Waste 

Histology 

Hydrogeology 

Hydrology 

Industrial Hygiene 

Infectious Diseases 

Limnology 
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Course 
Course title & number 

on transcript 

Number of 
semester 

hours 

Final 
Grade 

Full title of course 

Mathematics 
(beyond algebra- 
no more than 6 
semester hours or 
its equivalent) 

Courses taken in an 
accredited 
allopathic or 
osteopathic school 
of medicine (no 
more than six 
semester hours or 
its equivalent) 

Meteorology (no 
more than 6 
semester hours or 
its equivalent) 

Microbiology 

Molecular Biology 

Occupational 
Health 

Occupational 
Safety 

Parasitology 

Pathology 

Physics (no more 
than 6 semester 
hours or its 
equivalent) 

Physiology 

Plant Taxonomy 

Public Health 

Public Health 
Education (no more 
than 6 semester 
hours or its 
equivalent) 

Public Health Law 

Radiological Health 

Sanitary 
Engineering 
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Course 
Course title & number 

on transcript 

Number of 
semester 

hours 

Final 
Grade 

Full title of course 

Soil Science 

Statistics (no more than 6 
semester hours or its 
equivalent) 

Toxicology 

Vector Control 

Veterinary Medical 
Courses (no more than 6 
semester hours or its 
equivalent) 

Veterinary Public Health 

Virology 

Wastewater Treatment 

Water Quality 

Zoology 

Courses not listed above may be submitted for consideration for acceptance by the department.  Please list those 
courses in the space provided below.  Courses considered not acceptable are anthropology; archaeology; astronomy; 
education; geography; government; history; kinesiology; languages; physical education; psychology; and sociology. 

11. EMPLOYMENT RECORD (only if applicable experience has been obtained)

 Name: 

Address: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Phone Number: 

Name: 

Address: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Phone Number: 
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Name: 

Address: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Phone Number: 

Name: 

Address: 
(Number, Street Name, City, State, Zip) 

Phone Number: 

Note: Attach a detailed summary of experience (Including Employment Dates) and a job description on a separate sheet of paper. 

12. Licensing Requirements:

Once your application has been approved, you will be eligible to take the examination. The exam provider will contact
you on how to schedule your examination. The candidate information bulletin (CIB) will provide further details. The
link for the CIB information can be found on the Sanitarian webpage.

13. Prior registration as a sanitarian

Last Name First Name Middle Name 

Are you registered (or licensed) as a sanitarian in any other state or country?  Yes   No 
State or Licensing 
Jurisdiction: 

Certificate/License Number: Date of Registration: 

Are you currently certified by NEHA as an REHS/RS?  Yes   No 
If Yes, attach proof. 

14. Have you ever had a professional license, certification or registration suspended,
canceled, revoked or denied in any state?  Yes   No 

If YES, complete and submit a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire (DAQ) with this application.

This does not include your driver’s license 

15. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any
misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?  Yes    No 

If YES, complete and submit a Criminal History Questionnaire (CHQ) for each offense.

See instructions sheet for more information 

16. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

I certify that I have read and will comply with all applicable provisions of the Sanitarians Act, Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 1953 and 51, and 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 119.   I understand that providing false information 
on this application may result in denial of this application and/or revocation of the license I am requesting and the 
imposition of administrative penalties. 

Signature of Applicant Date 
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