
COMBATIVE SPORTS JUDGE LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  All information provided must be typed or printed in black 
ink.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of single-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.  Use a paperclip to fasten all 
pages together, with a cashier’s check or money order on top.  Do not use staples.  
 
 
 
 

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR  
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CASHIER’S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. 

1. NAME - Write your legal name in the spaces provided. (Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix include 
Jr., Sr., and III. (Mr. is not a suffix.) 

2. DATE OF BIRTH - Write your birthdate. You must be at least 21 years of age to be eligible for this license. 

3. GENDER - Select whether you or male or female. 

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER - Social security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas 
Family Code in order to obtain a license. Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency author-
ized to assist in the collection of child support payments. For more information regarding child support payments, 
contact the Texas Attorney General at: www.oag.state.tx.us/child/index or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014 

5. FOREIGN NATIONAL PASSPORT NUMBER - Applicants that are foreign nationals, must provide their passport 
number. 

6. MAILING ADDRESS - Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This ad-
dress can be a post office box. You can use the zip plus-4 to help the postal service deliver mail more efficiently and 
accurately. 

7. PHONE NUMBER - Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the day. 
This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message. 

8. EMAIL ADDRESS - Write your email address. Please provide your email address so the department may email li-
cense information and required notices to you. Your email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Infor-
mation Act, and the department will not share it with the public. 

9. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any mis-
demeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire 
for each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/LIC002.pdf   

 If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your 
  criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal  
 history evaluation, submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form  
 for each crime you were convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, and a $25 fee. You can find more  
 information on the process and download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at  
 www.tdlr.texas.gov/crimHistoryEval.htm 

10. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY - Indicate if you have ever had an occupational license, certification, or  
 registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a Disciplinary Action  
 Questionnaire for each disciplinary action. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at  
 www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/Disciplinary Action Questionnaire.pdf  

11. DO YOU HAVE A DIRECT OR INDIRECT FINANCIAL INTEREST - Check YES or NO to indicate if you have any 
type of financial interest in management of a contestant, manager, or sanctioning body. If YES, attach a full  

 explanation to your application. 

12. DO YOU HAVE THREE YEARS ACTIVE EXPERIENCE - Check YES or NO to indicate if you have three years of 
active experience as a judge or referee in the combative sport you seek endorsement by having officiated in at least 
ten combative sporting events per year. If YES, you must describe your experience in section 16. 

13. OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE- Check YES or NO to indicate if you are qualifying for a Texas judge license using an out
-of-state judge license that the Executive Director has determined to be equivalent to Texas’ requirements. 

14. PREVIOUSLY HELD A TEXAS JUDGE LICENSE - Check YES or NO to indicate if you are qualifying for a new Tex-
as judge license by using an expired Texas judge license, that expired in good standing. If YES, provide your Texas 
judge license number. 

 

PO Box 12157  Austin, Texas  78711-2157  
(800) 803-9202  (512) 463-5101  FAX (512) 463-1087 

www.tdlr.texas.gov  Combative.Sports@tdlr.texas.gov 



15. EYE EXAM - To obtain or renew a license, a judge must provide test results showing visual acuity in each eye of at 
least 20/40 corrected. The test must be performed by a licensed Optometrist or licensed Ophthalmologist no more 
than three years before the application for licensure or license renewal is filed. 

16. EXPEREINCE - If you answered YES to question 12, describe three years of active experience as a judge and/or 
referee officiating at least ten combative events per year. 

17. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT - Carefully read the statement before you sign and date your application. 

 

APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES  
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service members, their 
spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service members, military veterans and 
military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or Military Spouse Supplemental Application (TDLR 
form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The form is located on the TDLR website at:  
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  
 

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing for military 
service members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page at: 
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm. 
 

 

State law prohibits renewing a license more than once after a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Tex-
as Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with 
TGSLC. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An 
application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on 
a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at: Texas Guaranteed ATTN: Collections, 
PO Box 83100, Round Rock, TX 78683-3100, Telephone: (800) 222-6297, http://www.tgslc.org or email: 
cust.assist@tgslc.org. 



  Yes No 

No Yes   
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1. Name:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 _______________________________________     _________________________     _________________   ________ 
                    Last                                   First                                                             Middle  Name                     Suffix (JR, SR, III)   

2. Date of Birth:  
 
 
 
 
 

                            ____________ -  _________ - ____________ 
                      Month                                   Day                                 Year 

3. Gender:            

  Male Female 

8. Email Address: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                   (Ex: johndoe@aol.com) See instruction sheet for disclosure information 

 

YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE, OR THE APPLICATION WILL BE TERMINATED. 
 
 
 

APPLICATION FEE: $100 (FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE) 
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Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 
City                                                                                                                                                                                                                             State                                                 Zip Code 

6. Mailing Address: (USED TO RECEIVE MAIL FROM TDLR) (A PO box is allowed for this address) 

7. Phone Number: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(_______________) ____________________________________________________     
        Area Code         Phone Number 

10. Have you ever had an occupational license, certification         
     or registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state? 
       If YES, attach a Disciplinary Action Questionnaire to this application. (This does not include your driver license.) 

  Yes No 
11. Do you have a direct or indirect financial interest in the management of a contestant, manager, or  
 sanctioning body?                                             If YES, attach a full explanation. 

QUALIFYING REQUIREMENTS  
(You must answer YES to question 12, 13, OR 14 to qualify) EYE EXAM REQUIRED 

14. Did you previously hold a Texas judge’s license that expired in good standing?                                            
 

 If YES, provide your TDLR issued license number:  
                                                                                        _________________________ 

 Yes  No 

9. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any  
 misdemeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?  
 If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for each offense.  

 
 
 

See instruction sheet for more information 

  Yes No 

  Yes No 
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12. Do you have at least three years active experience as a judge and/or referee by having officiated in at least 
ten combative sporting events per year?                              If YES, complete section 16 on page two. 

13. Are you currently licensed as a referee or judge in a state that the Executive Director has determined has 
licensing requirements that are equivalent to Texas’ requirements? 

4. Social Security Number:  
        (See instruction sheet for disclosure information)         ______ ______ ______     _____ _____     ______ ______ ______ ______ 

5. Foreign National Passport Number: (Foreign nationals must provide their passport number) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

       ______ ______ ______ _____ _____ ______ ______ ______ ______ 



I certify that all information is true and correct. I understand that providing false information on this application may result in sanctions up to and includ-
ing denial or revocation of the license I am requesting, and in the imposition of the administrative penalties. I will comply with all applicable provisions 
of Chapter 51 and  Chapter 2052, Texas Occupations Code, and Texas Administrative Code Title 16, Chapters 60 and 61. I understand that this li-
cense is not transferable. If the license is issued, I agree to furnish to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation any change in information 
provided on this form within thirty days of the change. 
 
 
___________________________           ________________________________________________________ 
                         Date Signed                                                                                          Applicant Signature 

17.                                                                 STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

 

16.                                                                                EXPERIENCE 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Describe your three years of active experience as a judge or referee officiating at least ten combative events per 
year: 
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15. Eye Exam: To obtain a license, a judge must provide test results showing visual acuity in each eye of at 
least 20/40 corrected. The test must have been performed by a licensed Optometrist or licensed Ophthalmologist no 
more than three years before the application for licensure. 


