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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION 
 
 

VEHICLE PROTECTION PRODUCT WARRANTOR REGISTRATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

P. O. Box 12157 
Austin, TX  78711 

920 Colorado 
Austin, TX 78701 

(800) 803-9202 
(512) 463-6599 

FAX:  (512) 475-2871

www.license.state.tx.us 
 

vehicle.protection@license.state.tx.us 
 
To become a Registered Vehicle Protection Product Warrantor or renew an existing registration, the following must be 
submitted as required by Chapter 2306 of the Texas Occupations Code and 16 Tex. Admin. Code, Chapter 71. 
 

 VEHICLE PROTECTION PRODUCT WARRANTOR REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
 This form must be completed and signed by the applicant. 
 

 ASSUMED NAME CERTIFICATE 
An assumed name certificate must be submitted with the registration for EACH assumed name of the company.  
Information concerning assumed named certificates can be obtained from the Texas Secretary of State’s Office by calling 
(512) 463-5555 or accessed via the Internet at www.sos.state.tx.us 

 
 CERTIFICATE OF ACCOUNT STATUS 

A Certificate of Account Status must be submitted for a corporation or limited liability company that provides vehicle 
protection product warrantees in Texas.  A Certificate of Account Status is documentation of good standing issued by the 
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. 
 
For information concerning a Certificate of Account Status, contact the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts by calling 
(512) 463-4600 or through the Internet at www.cpa.state.tx.us 
 

 FINANCIAL SECURITY REQUIREMENT 
The Financial Security Requirement described in Section 7 of the Act and Section 71.22 of the rules can be satisfied by 
having a reimbursement insurance policy or by establishing a minimum of $50 million net worth. 
 
If the Reimbursement Insurance Policy is used, submit a Certificate of Insurance with this application. 
 
If the $50 Million net worth is used, file an auditor’s unqualified opinion with one of the following: 

1. Audited financial statement showing a net worth of at least $50 million at the end of the applicant’s most recent 
fiscal year. 

2. Audited financial statement showing a net worth of at least $50 million at the end of the applicant’s parent 
corporation’s most recent fiscal year. 

3. Auditor’s certification that the applicant had a net worth of at least $50 million at the end of the reporting period. 
4. Auditor’s certification that the applicant’s parent corporation had a net worth of at least $50 million at the end of 

the reporting period. 
 

 FEES 
The registration fee is based on the number of vehicle protection product warranties sold in Texas in the prior 12 months.  
The fee schedule is as follows: 
• $ 350 for 0 - 999 warranties sold 
• $ 750 for 1000 - 1,999 warranties sold 
• $1000 for more than 2,000 warranties sold 
 

• $50 - Revised or Duplicate Registration 
 
PLEASE ATTACH TO THE APPLICATION ONE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER FOR THE TOTAL AMOUNT DUE.  MAKE IT 
PAYABLE TO THE TEXAS DEPARTMENTOF LICENSING AND REGULATION AND MAIL IT TO THE FOLLOWING 
ADDRESS:  

TDLR 
PO BOX 12157 

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711 


