
WELL DRILLER/PUMP INSTALLER  APPRENTICE REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 FEES 

 Initial Application Fee - Well Driller OR Pump Installer Apprentice Registration - $65

 Initial Application Fee - Combination (Well and Pump) - $115

1. NAME - Write your legal name in the spaces provided. (Last, First, Middle Name, Suffix) Examples of a suffix include
Jr., Sr., and III. (Mr. is not a suffix.)

2. DATE OF BIRTH - Write your birthdate. (You must be at least 18 years old.)

3. GENDER - Select whether you are male or female.

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER - Social security number disclosure is required by Section 231.302(1) of the Texas
Family Code in order to obtain a license. Your social security number is subject to disclosure to an agency author-
ized to assist in the collection of child support payments. For more information regarding child support payments,
contact the Texas Attorney General at:

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support or call (512) 460-6000 or (800) 252-8014

5. MAILING ADDRESS - Write your current mailing address. This is the address where we will send you mail. This ad-
dress can be a post office box.

HOME PHONE NUMBER - Write a telephone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the
day. This may be your office phone number where we can leave a message.

CELLPHONE NUMBER - Write your cellphone number, including the area code, where we can reach you during the
day. 

EMAIL ADDRESS - Write your email address. Please provide your email address so the department may email li-
cense information and required notices to you. Your email address is confidential pursuant to the Texas Public Infor-
mation Act, and the department will not share it with the public.  

PHYSICAL ADDRESS - Write your physical address.  This address cannot be a post office box.  

 PHONE NUMBER -  Write an alternative phone number where you can be reached if you have one. 

6. REGISTRATION TYPE  - Check the registration type for which you are applying.

7. CRIMINAL HISTORY – Indicate if you have ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any mis-
demeanor or felony, other than a minor traffic violation. If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire
for each offense. This form can be obtained from the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/MISC/lic002.pdf.

If you are worried your criminal history could prevent you from getting this license, Texas allows you to have your
criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. To request a criminal history
evaluation, submit a Criminal History Evaluation Letter, a completed Criminal History Questionnaire form for each
crime you were convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, and a $25 fee. You can find more information on
the process and download the necessary forms on the TDLR website at www.tdlr.texas.gov/wwd/wwdforms.htm.

The application must be completed and signed by the applicant.  An application is not considered complete and will not 
be processed until all required items have been submitted.  Attachments must be submitted on separate pieces of 
insingle-sided, 8½” x 11” paper.

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE RETURNED. KEEP A COPY OF YOUR 
COMPLETED APPLICATION, ALL ATTACHMENTS, AND YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.



8. DISCIPLINARY ACTION HISTORY - Indicate if you have ever had an occupational license, certification, or
registration suspended, revoked, or denied in any state. If you have, complete and attach a Disciplinary Action
Questionnaire for each sanction. This form can be obtained from the TDLR  website at

www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/DisciplinaryActionQuestionnaire.pdf 

9. APPLICANT’S STATEMENT AND SIGNATURE- Carefully read the statement before you date and sign your
application. 

WELL DRILLER/PUMP INSTALLER APPRENTICE EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM 
This form must be completed by a licensed driller or pump installer who has supervised your work.  
This is page two of the “registration application”; however, this form may also be used if a registered apprentice 
is changing supervisors.  

10. WRITE APPLICANT AND SUPERVISOR’S NAME  - Write the applicant’s name and social security number. Write
the supervisor’s name and license number. 

11. APPLICATION QUESTIONS:  Answer the following questions on the application:  Is this an original application, and
is this application to transfer supervisory responsibility.

12. SUPERVISING LICENSE HOLDER QUESTION  -  Answer the question on the application: Have you held your
driller/installer license for at least two years. (Note: The supervising driller/installer must have held their license for
at least two years in order to supervise an apprentice.).

13. TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE:  List the type of equipment the applicant used, the safety training the applicant is
or has taken, and the procedures, experience and knowledge they have in this field.

14. SUPERVISOR’S STATEMENT AND SIGNATURE:  The licensed supervising driller/installer is required to sign and
date this form.
Note: The licensed supervising/driller must have held or hold a license for a minimum of two years in order
to supervise an apprentice.

APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, MILITARY VETERANS AND MILITARY SPOUSES  
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation recognizes the contributions of our active duty military service members, their 
spouses, and veterans. If you want to use one of the licensing options available to military service members, military veterans and 
military spouses, please complete the Military Service Member, Military Veteran or Military Spouse Supplemental Application (TDLR 
form MIL001) and attach it with your license application. The form is located on the TDLR website at:  
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/misc/militarysupplemental.pdf.  

If you have additional questions about qualifications, training or experience requirements relating to occupation licensing for military 
service members, military veterans or military spouses please go to the TDLR Military Information web page at:  
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/military.htm. 

SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Documents submitted with your application will not be returned.  Keep a copy of your completed application, all attachments, and you 
check or money order.  Do not send cash.

For additional information and questions, please visit the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation website at tdlr.texas.gov or 
reach Customer Service via webform where you can submit your request for assistance and include attachments needed at https://
www.tdlr.texas.gov/help or (800) 803-9202 [in state only], (512) 463-6599, Relay Texas-TDD: (800) 735-2989 or Fax: (512) 
463-9468.  Customer Service Representatives are available Monday through Friday 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Central Time 
(excluding holidays).



WELL DRILLER/PUMP INSTALLER 
APPRENTICE REGISTRATION 

9. Applicant’s Statement and Signature:
I certify that I will comply with all applicable provisions of the Texas Occupations Code Title 12, Practices and Trades Related to Water, Health and Safety, Chapters 1901 & 
1902; Texas Occupations Code Chapter 51; and 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60 and Chapter 76.  I understand that providing false information on this applica-
tion may result in sanctions up to and including denial or revocation of the license I am requesting and the imposition of administrative penalties. 

 

____________________________________________________  _______________________
   APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE    DATE 
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YOU MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF THE FILING DATE , OR THE APPLICATION 
WILL BE TERMINATED. 

 

(FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE) 
  Well Driller Apprentice - $65.00      Pump Installer Apprentice - $65.00           Combination - $115.00   

 

1. Applicant’s Full Name: 

 

_____________________________________________   ____________________  _________________  __________
  Last    First           Middle Name           Suffix (JR,SR, III) 

  7. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on deferred adjudication for, any misdemeanor
or felony, other than a minor traffic violation?
If YES, complete and attach a Criminal History Questionnaire for each offense.

See instruction sheet for more information 

Yes  No 

8. Have you ever had a occupational license, certification or registration suspended, revoked
or denied in any state?
If YES, submit a “Disciplinary Action Questionnaire” with this application.

Yes  No 

6. Indicate the type of registration for which you are applying:
Well Driller Apprentice Combination Pump Installer Apprentice 

 

2. Date of Birth (you must be at least 18 years old): ________________________
mm / dd / yyyy

 
\ 

3. Gender:     Female Male 

5. Applicant’s Mailing Address: (Used to receive mail from TDLR) (PO box is allowed for this address) 

 

Cell Phone: (______)  ______________________ 
  Area Code Phone Number 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 City             State       Zip Code 

 

Home Phone: (_____)  ____________________ 
    Area Code     Phone Number 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________  
Email Address (ex: johndoe@gmail.com) See instruction sheet for disclosure information  

4. Applicant’s Social Security Number:  ______ ______ ______     _____ _____     ______ ______ ______ ______
(See instruction sheet for disclosure information) 

Applicant’s Physical Address: (PO box is not allowed for this address) 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Number, Street Name, Suite Number/Apartment Number 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 City             State       Zip Code 

 

Phone: (_____)  ____________________ 
  Area Code     Phone Number 



WELL DRILLER/PUMP INSTALLER APPRENTICE EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM 

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY A PERSON QUALIFIED TO VERIFY WELL DRILLING OR PUMP 
INSTALLING EXPERIENCE. 

THIS FORM MAY BE USED FOR AN INITIAL DRILLER/INSTALLER APPRENTICE REGISTRATION OR IF A 
REGISTERED APPRENTICE WANTS TO CHANGE SUPERVISORS.  

APPLICANT’S  NAME APPLICANT’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

SUPERVISING DRILLER’S NAME DRILLER’S LICENSE NUMBER 

SUPERVISING PUMP INSTALLER’S NAME INSTALLER’S LICENSE NUMBER 

10. Applicant’s and Supervisor’s Name 

11. Is this an original application ?

* Is this application to transfer supervisory responsibility ?
* If “yes” to above question, both the supervisor and apprentice must sign this form.

Yes  No 

Yes  No 

13. Provide a detailed description of the apprenticeship training including all specific requirements outlined in 16 Tex.
Admin. Code Chapter 76, including:

Types of wells to be drilled and/or the classifications of pumps to be installed:

Equipment used:

Safety training: 

Qualification Benchmarks to Include:  Procedures, Experience, and Knowledge: 

14. Supervisor’s Statement and Signature:
I certify that all information above is true and correct and that this applicant will be engaged in an apprenticeship program under my supervision.  I 
agree to accept responsibility of supervising the training and for the apprentice’s activities associated with the training program, including  all financial 
and legal obligations for his/her activities associated with the apprenticeship program.  

LICENSED SUPERVISING DRILLER SIGNATURE DATE 

LICENSED SUPERVISING PUMP INSTALLER SIGNATURE DATE 

* APPRENTICE REGISTRANT SIGNATURE (Signature required if changing supervisors on existing license) DATE 
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12. Supervising license holder question:
Have you (the supervising driller/installer) held your license for at least two years?
(Note: The supervising driller/installer must have held their license for at least two years in order to supervise an apprentice.)

Yes  No 




