Please contact your local school district to inquire if driver education is offered at your school.
Please be aware that all TDLR licensees with a renewable license that expired between August 1 and November 30, 2020 are considered to hold an emergency license valid for up to 120 days after their license expiration date. Click here for more information
I want to take a class or course
Driver Education Schools teach the basic skills and training required by law
to provide the knowledge and hands-on experience to prepare people for their
written and practical tests to obtain a driver license and become safe drivers in Texas.
Parent Taught Driver Education
Parent Taught Driver Education Courses enable parents/guardians to teach the skills and knowledge required by law
to prepare their child/ward to obtain a driver license and become safe drivers in Texas.
Driving Safety - Defensive Driving
Driving Safety Courses (sometimes known as "defensive driving") are geared to improve a driver’s knowledge,
perception and attitude about driving. Before beginning any driving safety course, consult with your court
to verify which course, if any, will satisfy ticket dismissal.
Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program
The Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program is a court mandated course that may be required of minors and
adults following a drug/alcohol conviction.
I want to search for a Course Provider or an Instructor
Course providers are responsible for developing curriculum for use by driving safety, DADAP
and specialized driving safety schools. Does not include Driver Education or Parent Taught.
TDLR Licensed individuals who teach DADAP, driving safety and driver education.
Verify a School, Course Provider or Instructor License
Validate a Driving Safety Certificate
Reminder: Certificates may take up to 5 days after the issuance date to appear in the validation system.