Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Parent Taught Driver Education

Driver Education

Driving Safety

Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program (DADAP)

Instructors

Certificates


Parent Taught Driver Education

  1. I have more than one child, can I use the same packet for them all?
  2. Where do I get a Texas Driver Handbook?
  3. My teenager has completed the classroom instruction at a driving school. What do I have to do to teach just the in-car instruction?
  4. When my teenager has completed the 32 hours of classroom and the 14 hours of in-car instructional phases, is there anything else?
  5. How do I get started with the parent taught program?
  6. Where do I get a Request for Parent Taught Drive Education Packet request form?
  7. If there is more than one instructor, do they each have to fill out the packet request?
  8. Who can teach my son/daughter?
  9. What keeps me from teaching my child?
  10. Can you recommend one course over another? Is there one better than the other?
  11. How much do these courses cost?
  12. When can I start teaching my son/daughter the program?
  13. When can my student take their written exam to get their Learner License?
  14. When can my student get their Provisional Driver License?
  15. What if my son/daughter is 18 or older?

1. I have more than one child, can I use the same packet for them all?

No. We must have a request form and $20 fee for each student who needs a packet.

2. Where do I get a Texas Driver Handbook?

The Texas Driver Handbook is available at your local DPS office or online.

3. My teenager has completed the classroom instruction at a driving school. What do I have to do to teach just the in-car instruction?

Contact the driving school to transfer the classroom hours to you, the instructor of the parent-taught course. Then, you must purchase a Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) only program from any one of the Parent Taught course providers who offer that specific course. Once the BTW program is complete, you will be issued a certificate of completion that you must bring with you to DPS along with the transfer documentation from the driving school showing successful completion of the classroom phase.

4. When my teenager has completed the 32 hours of classroom and the 14 hours of in-car instructional phases, is there anything else?

Yes, the law requires new drivers to receive an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice. These hours are required to be certified by a parent or guardian, but may be taught by any individual, 21 years of age or older and has been licensed for at least a year. The additional hours must include at least 10 hours driving at night. Once all instructional and practice hours are complete, the student will be eligible to test for their provisional license.

Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Guide 30 Hours (861 KB PDF)
Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log 30 Hours (56 KB PDF)

5. How do I get started with the parent taught program?

Fill out and submit the Request for Parent Taught Drive Education Packet request form and a $20 (twenty dollar) non-refundable fee to the address on the form.

6. Where do I get a Request for Parent Taught Drive Education Packet request form?

You may order Parent Taught Packets online or download the Request for Parent Taught Drive Education Packet request form from our website.

7. If there is more than one instructor, do they each have to fill out the packet request?

Yes, but only one fee is required.

8. Who can teach my son/daughter?

Parents, step-parents, grandparents, step-grandparents, legal guardians (must have court documents). A power-of-attorney is not considered a legal guardian.

9. What keeps me from teaching my child?

The following conditions prevent a parent from instructing their child:

  • DWI on your driving record (anytime, anywhere) even probated. Yes, even if it was more than twenty years ago.
  • Criminal negligent homicide, even probated.
  • 6 or more points on your driving record.
  • Your license has been suspended, forfeited, or revoked in the last 3 years.

10. Can you recommend one course over another? Is there one better than the other?

All approved course providers listed in the packet meet the state's minimum requirements. Please contact as many as you would like to find the one that will meet your family's needs.

11. How much do these courses cost?

The courses range in price. Please feel free to visit our website to get the list of course providers, which will list their prices on their websites.

12. When can I start teaching my son/daughter the program?

You may begin teaching the course curriculum after you have received the Parent Taught Driver Education information packet and the training material from an approved course provider.

13. When can my student take their written exam to get their Learner License?

A student must be 15 years old to take the written exam to obtain the Learner License. They must have also completed either the first 6 hours (if the concurrent method is chosen) or the entire 32 hours (if the block method is chosen) of classroom instruction and have received a certificate of completion to be eligible to take the written exam.

14. When can my student get their Provisional Driver License?

Once the student has held the learner license for at least 6 months, is 16 years old or older, and has completed all driver education hours (32 classroom and 44 behind-the-wheel hours), the student may then take the behind-the-wheel exam. Upon successful completion of that exam, the student will then be issued a driver license.

Note: A student who gets the learner license at or on his or her 15th birthday will have to wait until turning 16 years old to take the behind-the-wheel exam.

15. What if my son/daughter is 18 or older?

They have the choice to take the complete minor driver education program with a professional driver education school, take a complete PTDE course, or take a 6 hour adult driver education course.


Driver Education

Teenage Driver Education

  1. Is a teenager required to complete a driver education course before receiving a driver license?
  2. Is there more than one method for a teen to complete a Texas-approved driver education course?
  3. How much do the driver education courses cost?
  4. How long is the teen driver education course?
  5. What are the timelines to complete a teen driver education course?
  6. If a school is approved to offer simulator in-car training, would that reduce the number of actual driving hours required?
  7. If I am absent for a day or two from a commercial driver education school, may I get an excused absence and miss those classes?
  8. I heard that I can now miss one full week (10 hours) of driver education classroom sessions and make them up later. Is that true?
  9. I'm 17 and finished a driver education course last month. I'm still driving on my permit. Do I have to take a road test at DPS?
  10. I have met the requirements to take the driving skills examination. Where do I find an approved third party skills testing school?
  11. If I start at one driver education school, am I allowed to transfer to a different school?
  12. I started a driver education class in another state before my parents moved to Texas. May I transfer any of those classes to a driver education program in Texas?
  13. If the commercial driver education school that I am attending closes, do I lose credit for all the training I received as well as my money?
  14. I've heard that my daughter can complete the classroom phase of driver education at her high school or a commercial driver education school, and afterwards we can transfer her to the Parent Taught Program so I can teach her the in-car portion. Is that true?
  15. I lost the form that I received when I graduated from my driver education class, and I need it to get my driver license (or for my insurance company). Who can I contact to get a duplicate?
  16. What are the lengths and types of driver education programs offered in Texas?
  17. I'm a 16 year old who just completed the driver education course. Is it true that I can get a discount on my automobile insurance?
  18. My teen dropped out of high school and has been told that she cannot get a driver license until she is 18. Is that true?
  19. My son's high school won't give him a signed verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) Form because they say that he missed too many classes. Can they do that?
  20. What is a student's alternative to getting a TEA form from his or her high school during summer months when the high school is closed?
  21. Can I get a copy of the Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form here?
  22. Do you have a list of the currently licensed driver education schools?
  23. Do you have a list of the public schools that teach driver education?
  24. If I have a complaint about a driver education school, who should I contact?
  25. If I have other questions about teenage driver education, who should I contact?
  26. Are there any online driver education courses approved for teenagers?
  27. Does the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) offer any courses for motorcycles?
  28. Who manages the driver training courses for truck drivers?

1. Is a teenager required to complete a driver education course before receiving a driver license?

Yes. Texas law requires persons under 18 to successfully complete a state-approved driver education course to be eligible for a driver's license.

2. Is there more than one method for a teen to complete a Texas-approved driver education course?

Yes. There are three methods:

LICENSED DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS: The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) regulates commercial (licensed) schools and can provide information on the driver education (DE) programs provided through them. You can search the commercial DE schools at the Active DE School List. If you have a question about commercial driving schools, you may contact our customer service division at 1-800-803-9202.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS: Public schools, education service centers, colleges, and universities may offer driver education programs. You can view a listing of the public schools that have DE programs at the Active Public School Driver Education Class List.

PARENT TAUGHT DRIVER EDUCATION COURSES: The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) is responsible for the parent taught driver education program. Parents or legal guardians with an interest in that program may contact our customer service division at 1-800-803-9202.

3. How much do the driver education courses cost?

Each school establishes a fee schedule for the costs of their programs. Please contact the schools in your area for prices and payment plans.

4. How long is the teen driver education course?

The classroom phase of a driver education course is at least 32 hours (32, 40or 56 hours in public schools) which cannot be completed in less than 16 days. The in-car phase consists of 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving - of which 10 hours must be done at night.

The additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving will be monitored by the parent or guardian and are not required to be provided by a licensed driver education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupies the seat next to the driver.

5. What are the timelines to complete a teen driver education course?

Each school establishes a timeline, but it's usually between six months to one year. Contact the schools in your area for this information.

6. If a school is approved to offer simulator in-car training, would that reduce the number of actual driving hours required?

Yes, it may. Simulator hours may be exchanged for driving hours at a ratio of 4 to 1, so the driving portion at a commercial school could consist of 12 hours of simulator, 4 hours of actual driving, and 7 hours of in-car observation. Other variations of both classroom and simulator hours are authorized, so discuss the program with the school staff.

7. If I am absent for a day or two from a commercial driver education school, may I get an excused absence and miss those classes?

No. To obtain a Texas driver license prior to the age of 18, all driver education hours in both the classroom and in-car must be attended or made up. Therefore, all absences must be made up no matter if the absence is excused or unexcused. Each school is responsible for developing a make-up plan based on state guidelines. Contact the driver education school staff to obtain a copy of the make-up policy.

Schools must limit the number of absences that are allowed and must require students with excessive absences to re-enter or repeat the course.

8. I heard that I can now miss one full week (10 hours) of driver education classroom sessions and make them up later. Is that true?

Yes. If you are attending a commercial (licensed) driver education school, you can miss up to 10 hours and make them up at a later date.

9. I'm 17 and finished a driver education course last month. I'm still driving on my permit. Do I have to take a road test at DPS?

Yes. Starting on September 1, 2009 any student submitting an application to DPS for a permit or a driver's license must take a road test.

10. I have met the requirements to take the driving skills examination. Where do I find an approved third party skills testing school?

Commercial Driver Education schools that meet the requirements and have undergone instructor testing, drive route audits and approval with the Department of Public Safety are eligible to give the skills examination. Find an authorized Third-Party Skills Testing school on the DPS website.

11. If I start at one driver education school, am I allowed to transfer to a different school?

Normally, yes, but there are exceptions. Transfer of training that you've accomplished at one commercial driver education school can normally be transferred to another school, and you should also receive a partial refund of the tuition and fees not used (less an administration fee). An exception would occur if you have exceeded the timelines for classroom or behind-the-wheel training that were written on your contract with the first school. If that occurs, you may not be permitted to transfer, and you may have to start over again.

Please note that DPS expects you to complete a driver education course in the same method that it was initiated. This means that if you start in the Concurrent method of instruction (i.e., simultaneous classroom and in-car instruction after the first 6 hours of class) at a commercial or public school, DPS expects you to complete the course in that method. If you desire to transfer classroom credit from a commercial or public school to the TDLR Parent Taught Program with the goal of accomplishing the in-car portion of the course with your parent or guardian, you must start in the Block method of instruction (which means completing the entire classroom portion before starting the in-car portion), and you must finish the classroom portion at the public school or the commercial driver education school before transferring to the Parent Taught Program. If you attempt to transfer only part of the classroom training, you will have to start all over again in the classroom.

With regard to transfers between public and commercial schools, you would always be able to transfer the completed classroom activities from a public school to a commercial driver education school in order to complete your in-car training there. However, transfer of partial credit may be more difficult because of the difference in their programs; i.e., 56 hours of classroom requirements in the public school versus 32 hours of classroom requirements in the commercial driver education school.

12. I started a driver education class in another state before my parents moved to Texas. May I transfer any of those classes to a driver education program in Texas?

It may be possible to transfer some or all of those credits from the other state. You'll need to obtain a letter from the previous school, written on the school's letterhead, identifying the quantity and types of training; i.e., the number of hours of classroom, subjects covered, number of hours in-car, types of driving or observing, etc. It should be signed by the chief school official of that school, and you'll need to present that letter to the driver education (DE) school in Texas that you want to attend.

If you have any other questions about transfer from another state to a driver education school in Texas, contact at 1-800-803-9202.

13. If the commercial driver education school that I am attending closes, do I lose credit for all the training I received as well as my money?

No. There are provisions in law to prevent you from losing the training and to recover some or all of the tuition and fees if a commercial driver education school closes. The contract that you or your parents sign at a commercial school should indicate: "If the course of instruction is discontinued by the school, preventing a student from completing the course, all tuition and fees are then due and payable". The department staff will assist you in transferring your credits to another school. Call 1-800-803-9202.or send a fax to 512-463-9468, if you need help concerning a commercial driver education school that has closed. Read the Driver Education Closed School Procedures for more information.

14. I've heard that my daughter can complete the classroom phase of driver education at her high school or a commercial driver education school, and afterwards we can transfer her to the Parent Taught Program so I can teach her the in-car portion. Is that true?

Yes, that can be done but there are requirements:

  1. Your daughter must complete the entire classroom phase before she receives her Permit. This is called the Block mode of instruction, and all of the classroom phase must be completed before any in-car training can begin; that is, she must make up any missed classes before classroom credit can be passed to the Parent Taught Program.
  2. You must obtain an official "Transfer" of classroom hours from the high school or commercial driver education school so you can prove to DPS that she completed this phase. The transfer is also used to obtain her Permit.
  3. You must apply for a TDLR Parent Taught Information Packet and receive it before you and your daughter can begin the in-car phase.
  4. You must complete the requirements as specified in the TDLR Parent Taught Information Packet, but only those that apply to the in-car phase.

15. I lost the form that I received when I graduated from my driver education class, and I need it to get my driver license (or for my insurance company). Who can I contact to get a duplicate?

This is the DE-964 or DE-964E Certificate of Completion. To obtain a duplicate certificate, contact the public school or driver education school that you attended or contact your parent taught driver education course provider, if you completed the course via the Parent Taught Driver Education Program.

16. What are the lengths and types of driver education programs offered in Texas?

Core Program Plan: Most commercial and public school programs are conducted under this plan which consists of at least 32 hours of classroom instruction, 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, 7 hours of in-car observation, and 30 additional hours of driving (10 hours at night).

Other public school driver education plans may include the following programs:

In-Car Only Program consists of at least 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, 7 hours of in-car observation, and 30 additional hours of driving (10 hours at night).

Classroom Only Program consists of at least 32 hours of classroom instruction.

School Day Credit Program consists of at least one class period per scheduled day of school, for a semester (traditional, condensed, accelerated, block, etc.), covering the driver education classroom and in-car program of organized instruction or only the classroom program of organized instruction. This class traditionally consists of at least 56 hours of driver education classroom instruction and, if in-car instruction is provided, must include 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and 7 hours of in-car observation. Under this plan, a student may receive one-half unit of state credit toward graduation.

Non-School Day Credit Program consists of at least 56 hours of driver education classroom instruction, and, if in-car instruction is provided, must include 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, 7 hours of in-car observation, and 30 additional hours of driving (10 hours at night). Under this plan, a student may receive one-half unit of state credit toward graduation.

Multi-Phase School Day or Non-School Day Credit Program consists of at least 40 hours of driver education classroom instruction, 4 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, 8 hours of in-car observation, and 12 hours of simulator instruction. Under this plan, a student may receive one-half unit of state credit toward graduation.

17. I'm a 16 year old who just completed the driver education course. Is it true that I can get a discount on my automobile insurance?

Some insurance companies provide a discount for successfully completing a driver education course; however, insurance companies are not required to give discounts - it's their decision. If an insurance company chooses to give a discount, it is typically up to a 10% on the liability portion of your automobile insurance premium, and the discount may be effective until age 21 for a girl and until age 25 for a boy although those timelines are again at the discretion of the insurance company.

18. My teen dropped out of high school and has been told that she cannot get a driver license until she is 18. Is that true?

Yes. A Texas law was passed in 1989, requiring persons under 18 to be enrolled and attending school as a condition of licensing that person to operate a motor vehicle. There is an exception: if the person had a high school diploma or a GED, the driver license could be issued.

Proof of enrollment and attendance at a school is established by the "Verification and Enrollment of Attendance ("VOE") form which the student can obtain from his or her high school.

19. My son's high school won't give him a signed verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) Form because they say that he missed too many classes. Can they do that?

Yes. The issuance or denial of the VOE Form is strictly a local decision, and districts (or schools) are permitted to impose conditions and restrictions on enrollment and attendance as they pertain to driver license eligibility.

Issuing VOE Forms:

The issuance or denial of the VOE form is strictly a local school, charter, GED program, or institution decision. Neither TDLR nor DPS can alter a VOE decision. Schools, Charters, GED programs, and institutions of higher education can impose and enforce conditions and restrictions on enrollment and attendance as it pertains to VOE eligibility that exceed minimum restrictions defined by law and rule.

It is recommended that schools, charters, GED programs, and institutions of higher education clearly outline all requirements for issuance of the VOE form and establish a formal, published policy to support the requirements.

20. What is a student's alternative to getting a TEA form from his or her high school during summer months when the high school is closed?

If the Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) Form is issued the last week of school or during the summer, it is valid for more than the normal 30 days; i.e., until school starts after summer vacation. If your high school will not issue the VOE form in the summer, that is a local decision and TDLR cannot override the decision. The parent will need to contact the school's Principal then the Superintendent. If the principal/superintendent will not help you get the form, go to your school board.

21. Can I get a copy of the Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form here?

You may download a blank copy of the most recent VOE Form.

This form must be completed by a qualified person at your high school. Your parent may complete this form ONLY IF YOU ARE IDENTIFIED AS A HOME-SCHOOLED STUDENT.

22. Do you have a list of the currently licensed driver education schools?

Yes, please see our list of the licensed (commercial) driver education schools by city.

23. Do you have a list of the public schools that teach driver education?

Yes, please see our Active Public School Driver Education Class List.

24. If I have a complaint about a driver education school, who should I contact?

Please file your complaint online at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/Complaints/.

25. If I have other questions about teenage driver education, who should I contact?

Please contact our Customer Service Division at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov or 1-800-803-9202.

26. Are there any online driver education courses approved for teenagers?

Yes. Some public schools offer a 56-hour classroom online driver education course. Check with your high school or the Texas Virtual School Network for availability.

27. Does the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) offer any courses for motorcycles?

Yes, the DPS offers motorcycle courses.

28. Who manages the driver training courses for truck drivers?

Most of the vocational driving courses such as truck driving are managed by the Career Schools and Veterans Education Division of the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC). (512) 936-3100.

Driver Education Schools

How to Open a Driver Education School

The application fee is $1,000.

Adult Classroom (18-25 yr. old) requires a separate application and an additional $500 for course review and approval. This course is also known as a Driver Education Course Exclusively for Adults.

For approval, you must submit the following:

Complete application and fees.

  1. An assumed name registration from the county where you plan to open your school. (Check with Driver Training before obtaining because the school name must be approved.)
  2. Certificate of Occupancy/Fire Inspection from the city where the school will be located.
  3. If registering as an LLC, you must submit certain Secretary of State documents.
  4. Adult behind-the-wheel only schools are required to have an office location to store files; meet with Driver Training staff for compliance audits; etc.
  5. Classroom locations must meet all state, city, county and Driver Training requirements. These include, but are not limited to, a Certificate of Occupancy and a Fire Inspection from the city or county. The classroom work stations must accommodate the number of students you plan to enroll.
  6. $10,000 surety bond - Contact the Education and Examination Division to request a bond form. This bond must be completed and submitted by your bonding company. An original bond is required prior to scheduling an onsite audit.
  7. If teaching teens or adults (18 to 24) in a classroom setting, the instructor on staff must possess a driver education instructor license with a Driver Education Teacher (DET) endorsement issued by this office. This type of instructor must possess a Texas Teaching Certificate.
  8. If teaching behind-the-wheel only to adults, the instructor must possess a driver education instructor license issued by this office. A minimum of six semester hours of driver education training is required for this type of license.
  9. Textbooks (approved by Driver Training) and DPS handbooks for all classroom courses.
  10. Five versions of the DPS permit test. (The DPS handbooks and permit tests can be ordered from the DPS General Services.
  11. Desks or tables and chairs, TV, DVD player, dry erase board, etc.
  12. Vehicles must be insured in the name of the school and have business or commercial insurance, including uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
  13. Vehicles must be currently registered, inspected, and must possess an instructor side brake and mirror.
  14. When all items have been submitted, Driver Training staff will schedule an on-site visit to inspect the facility and vehicles.
  15. State law requires a 30-day wait before a license may be issued. This process may take longer if all required documentation has not been submitted as required.

Download the Driver Education School application packet

I own a driver education school. Am I allowed to develop my own four-hour continuing education course, have it approved by TDLR, and teach it to driver education instructors?

Yes. The four-hour continuing education course must:

  • Be an organized program of learning that enhances the instructional skills, methods, or knowledge of a licensed driver education instructor;
  • Relate directly to the practice of driver education instruction, instruction techniques, or driver education subjects; and
  • Be taught by individuals with recognized experience or expertise in the area of driver education or related subjects.

You must submit the following items in your request for approval of a four-hour continuing education course:

  • description of how the course will be presented;
  • subject of each unit;
  • educational objectives of each unit;
  • time to be dedicated to each unit;
  • instructional resources for each unit, including names or titles of presenters and facilitators; and
  • plan of how the school owner will monitor and ensure attendance and completion of the course by the instructions within the guidelines of the course.

Adult Driver Education

(18 - under 25 years of age)

  1. I'm 19 years old and want to get my driver's license. I was told that I might have to take a class. Do they mean a defensive driving class?
  2. Can a 17-year-old enroll in a driver education course exclusively for adults?
  3. Does a 25 year old have to take this class?
  4. What is the course about?
  5. That sounds like a Drug and Driving Alcohol Awareness Program (DADAP) course which I took a couple of weeks ago. I received a certificate for an insurance discount when I finished the course. Can I use that certificate to get my license?
  6. How much does it cost?
  7. Will the school give me a certificate when I finish?
  8. Where can I find a list of licensed driver education schools that offer this course?

1. I'm 19 years old and want to get my driver's license. I was told that I might have to take a class. Do they mean a defensive driving class?

No. Starting on March 1, 2010, Texas law changed to require persons from 18 to under 25 years of age who wish to obtain a driver's license to successfully complete a six hour driver education course exclusively for adults or a complete adult and teen driver education course (32 hours of classroom, 7 hours behind-the-wheel, 7 hours observation).

A six hour defensive driving course is specifically for ticket dismissal purposes and/or an insurance.

2. Can a 17-year-old enroll in a driver education course exclusively for adults?

No, a person must be at least 18 years old to enroll in the course.

3. Does a 25 year old have to take this class?

No, anyone 25 or older will not be required to take the class. However, first-time driver license applicants 25 and older are encouraged to participate in this educational driver education program (see course information below).

4. What is the course about?

The Driver Education Course Exclusively for Adults includes information on alcohol and drug awareness; Texas Traffic Laws; highway signs, signals, and markings that regulate, warn, or direct traffic; and issues commonly associated with motor vehicle accidents, including poor decision-making, risk taking, impaired driving, distraction, speed, failure to use a safety belt, driving at night, failure to yield the right-of-way, and using a wireless communication device while operating a vehicle. As part of the course, participants must pass the Texas Department of Public Safety Road Signs and Road Rules written examinations. Persons successfully completing the exams at the school do not have to take them again at DPS.

5. That sounds like a Drug and Driving Alcohol Awareness Program (DADAP) course which I took a couple of weeks ago. I received a certificate for an insurance discount when I finished the course. Can I use that certificate to get my license?

No. A six hour DADAP course may not be used for this purpose.

6. How much does it cost?

Each school establishes a fee schedule for the costs of their programs. Please contact the schools in your area for prices.

7. Will the school give me a certificate when I finish?

Yes. The driver education school will give you a certificate which must be presented to DPS when you submit your application for a driver's license.

8. Where can I find a list of licensed driver education schools that offer this course?

See our Driver Education Schools page.


Driving Safety

Driving Safety
  1. How do I get permission to attend a driving safety class?
  2. What's covered during the class?
  3. How many hours must I attend?
  4. How much does a driving safety class cost?
  5. Where are the classes held?
  6. Will I receive my certificate at the end of the class?
  7. May I have the course provider mail the certificate directly to the court?
  8. How long will it take for me to receive the certificate?
  9. If I don't receive the certificate, who should I contact?
  10. If I have a complaint about a driving safety class, who should I contact?

1. How do I get permission to attend a driving safety class?

Permission is granted by the court listed on your traffic citation. If you have any questions involving this matter or any interpretation of Texas law, it is advisable that you consult with an attorney or with the court that has jurisdiction of the case.

2. What's covered during the class?

The educational objectives of driving safety courses shall include, but not be limited to promoting respect for and encouraging observance of traffic laws and traffic safety responsibilities of drivers and citizens; reducing traffic violations; reducing traffic-related injuries, deaths, and economic losses; and motivating continuing development of traffic-related competencies.

3. How many hours must I attend?

You must attend six (6) hours.

4. How much does a driving safety class cost?

By law, the cost of this class must be at least $25.00.

5. Where are the classes held?

Classes are held online or in traditional classroom locations.

6. Will I receive my certificate at the end of the class?

No. By law, the certificate must be mailed to you by the course provider.

7. May I have the course provider mail the certificate directly to the court?

No, the course provider is not permitted to mail the certificate to the court.

8. How long will it take for me to receive the certificate?

You should receive it within one to three weeks after the class is completed unless you request (and pay for) an expedited delivery.

9. If I don't receive the certificate, who should I contact?

If you don't receive your certificate within three weeks (21 calendar days) from the date you completed the class, contact the online course or classroom instructor.

10. If I have a complaint about a driving safety class, who should I contact?

Please submit your complaint online.

Specialized Course (Seat Belt)
  1. Who can require a person to attend a "Seat Belt" class?
  2. What's covered during the class?#seatbelt
  3. How much does a Seat Belt class cost?
  4. Where are the Seat Belt classes held?
  5. Will I receive my certificate from the instructor at the end of the class?
  6. May I have the course provider mail the certificate directly to the court?
  7. How long will it take for me to receive the certificate?
  8. If I don't receive the certificate, who should I contact?
  9. If I have a complaint about a specialized ("Seat Belt") class, who should I contact?

1. Who can require a person to attend a "Seat Belt" class?

A judge can require a person to attend a "Seat Belt" class. However, if you have other questions involving this matter or any interpretation of Texas law, it is advisable that you consult with an attorney or with the court that has jurisdiction of the case.

2. What's covered during the class?

This specialized driving safety course includes four hours of information on child passenger safety seat systems and the wearing of seat belts, requirements of the law, and penalties for noncompliance. Related driving safety information is also included in the course, thus making it a 6-hour course.

3. How much does a Seat Belt class cost?

By law, the cost of this class must be at least $25.00.

4. Where are the Seat Belt classes held?

See the list of schools that have been licensed to offer the specialized driving safety ("Seat Belt") class. In addition, the Seat Belt course has also been approved to be delivered online.

5. Will I receive my certificate from the instructor at the end of the class?

No. By law, the certificate must be mailed to you by the course provider.

6. May I have the course provider mail the certificate directly to the court?

No, the course provider is not permitted to mail the certificate to the court.

7. How long will it take for me to receive the certificate?

You should receive it within one to three weeks after the class is completed unless you request (and pay for) an expedited delivery.

8. If I don't receive the certificate, who should I contact?

If you don't receive your certificate within three weeks (21 calendar days) from the date you completed the class, call the telephone number that was given to you by your instructor.

9. If I have a complaint about a specialized ("Seat Belt") class, who should I contact?

Please submit your complaint online.

"Seat Belt" School and Classroom Locations

How to Become a Course Provider
  1. Which state agency is responsible for approval of Texas driving safety courses?
  2. What is the difference between a course provider and a driving safety school?
  3. Is there a standard curriculum that is required for each of these courses?
  4. Is there information available concerning driving safety course requirements?
  5. What is included in the application packet?
  6. Does TDLR charge to evaluate a course?
  7. Is there a license associated with the course?
  8. Should I send the $2,000 course provider fee with my course application, or are there other requirements before I can receive my course provider license?
  9. How long does it take to approve a driving safety course?
  10. Is there any requirement concerning my physical location as a course provider?
  11. Will you visit my location before I become licensed as a course provider?
  12. Will my course be permitted to use videos, film clips, and pictures that I copy from TV, magazines, or the movies?
  13. Will I be required to actually conduct a class as one of the requirements before TDLR grants my course approval?
  14. Do I need to be an instructor or own a driving safety school in order to develop and submit a driving safety course for approval?
  15. Do course providers need to be bonded?
  16. Are course providers required to print their own Uniform Certificates of Course Completion?
  17. Is it true that my instructors will not be permitted to hand the certificates of completion to students when they complete the course?
  18. Can driving safety students have their uniform certificates of completion delivered to them by courier?
  19. Are course providers that have approved online ADMs allowed to send a completion certificate to a student by email, fax, or via other electronic means?
  20. How much time will I be given to mail those certificates?
  21. Are there any other requirements or time limits of which I should be aware?
  22. Whom should I contact if I have questions about transmitting student data to TDLR?
  23. Is there a standard fee that a student must pay for a duplicate certificate?
  24. When may I begin advertising my course?
  25. If I have other questions about driving safety course approvals, whom should I contact?

1. Which state agency is responsible for approval of Texas driving safety courses?

TDLR is responsible for evaluating and granting approval of each driving safety course as well as the licensing of all course providers, schools, and instructors.

2. What is the difference between a course provider and a driving safety school?

The course provider is responsible for administrative functions for the driving safety course, including printing the uniform certificates of course completion; mailing certificates to students; updating the course as necessary; training all instructors; electronically reporting certificate usage to TDLR; and ensuring that the classes are provided by licensed schools and instructors who are qualified to teach the course.

The driving safety schools are responsible for providing the courses to the public. They must follow all the course provider and TDLR policies and procedures.

3. Is there a standard curriculum that is required for each of these courses?

No. State law requires that the minimum standards for a driving safety course be provided in the Rules. Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Section 84.207.

4. Is there information available concerning driving safety course requirements?

Yes, see the applicable Driving Safety Course Packet.

5. What is included in the application packet?

The packet includes all of the forms that you will need to submit a driving safety course for approval.

6. Does TDLR charge to evaluate a course?

Yes. The fee is $9,000 to evaluate a driving safety course.

7. Is there a license associated with the course?

No. The course itself will receive approval, not a license, after all course requirements have been met. However, before the course may be taught and before Uniform Certificate of Course Completion numbers may be purchased from TDLR, a course provider license (which costs $2,000) must be obtained.

8. Should I send the $2,000 course provider fee with my course application, or are there other requirements before I can receive my course provider license?

There are requirements other than course approval, so you should wait until those requirements have been met before submitting the course provider fee. For example, before TDLR can issue you a course provider license, you must identify a licensed driving safety school that is willing to teach your course, and that school must have at least one driving safety instructor who is currently licensed and endorsed to teach your course.

9. How long does it take to approve a driving safety course?

The length of time it takes to approve a driving safety course varies because there are so many factors involved. For example, the course must include all topics specified in the agency's rules; all data must be accurate, current, and Texas-specific; certain timing guidelines within your course must be met; etc. During the review of your proposed course, you will be notified in writing of any discrepancies, and you must then provide documents or show other proof that the discrepancies have been corrected. The reviewers will repeat that process until all course requirements have been met.

10. Is there any requirement concerning my physical location as a course provider?

Yes. Course providers and all course provider facilities that process, deliver, or store curriculum materials, student records, or Uniform Certificates of Course Completion for Texas courses must be located within the United States.

11. Will you visit my location before I become licensed as a course provider?

Normally, yes. An TDLR representative will normally contact you to arrange a date and time for the visit.

12. Will my course be permitted to use videos, film clips, and pictures that I copy from TV, magazines, or the movies?

Copyright laws are outside TDLR's authority, so you are responsible for gaining approval from the person or agency that owns the copyright of any multimedia, educational resource, or statistics that you use before you submit them as a part of your course. Failure to do so might require you to make significant and/or expensive changes to your course after it has received approval.

13. Will I be required to actually conduct a class as one of the requirements before TDLR grants my course approval?

Yes. After your course has met all of the other requirements, a TDLR representative will contact you to arrange a time, date, and place for you to conduct a demonstration 6-hour class. If the person who presents this demonstration course can be shown to be an author of the course, he or she will automatically be qualified to submit an application as an IDC-DSIT (Instructor Development Course-Driving Safety Instructor Trainer) of the course. A person who receives that endorsement on his or her instructor license is authorized to teach the instructor development course to new instructors.

14. Do I need to be an instructor or own a driving safety school in order to develop and submit a driving safety course for approval?

Although a course provider is not required to be a licensed driving safety instructor or school owner, the course materials are required to be written either by a TDLR-licensed driving safety instructor or by other individuals or organizations with recognized experience in writing instructional materials with input from a TDLR-licensed driving safety instructor. In addition, each course provider must identify at least one licensed and properly qualified driving safety school that is willing to teach the course.

15. Do course providers need to be bonded?

Yes. A $25,000 surety bond is required for each driving safety course provider. The bond form will be mailed to you as soon as you provide adequate evidence of ownership for the course provider. Please contact our Customer Service Division at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov or 1-800-803-9202 if you have questions about the bond, course ownership, or the required documents to verify ownership.

16. Are course providers required to print their own Uniform Certificates of Course Completion?

Yes.

17. Is it true that my instructors will not be permitted to hand the certificates of completion to students when they complete the course?

Yes. State law requires the course provider to mail the certificates to students.

18. Can driving safety students have their uniform certificates of completion delivered to them by courier?

A course provider may use a commercial courier as an equivalent delivery service, but only if the certificates are delivered to the students' mailing addresses no earlier than the day after course completion.

19. Are course providers that have approved online ADMs allowed to send a completion certificate to a student by email, fax, or via other electronic means?

No. The rules require that all certificates of course completion (including duplicates) must be mailed or sent by a commercial delivery service. The rules further specify that electronic delivery such as email and facsimile are not acceptable as a commercial delivery service.

20. How much time will I be given to mail those certificates?

Certificates must be issued to students no later than 15 working days after the students successfully complete the course.

21. Are there any other requirements or time limits of which I should be aware?

Yes. Course providers must electronically transmit course completion data to TDLR within 30 calendar days after mailing the student certificates. Providers may go to www.tdlr.texas.gov/DRVFileUpload, create an account and upload the required information.

22. Whom should I contact if I have questions about transmitting student data to TDLR?

Please contact our Customer Service Division at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov or 1-800-803-9202.

23. Is there a standard fee that a student must pay for a duplicate certificate?

Yes. The rules specify the fee for a duplicate uniform certificate of course completion is $10.00.

24. When may I begin advertising my course?

Title 5, Texas Education Code, Chapter 1001 specifies that you are not permitted to advertise your course or solicit students until you actually receive your course provider license.

25. If I have other questions about driving safety course approvals, whom should I contact?

Please contact our Customer Service Division at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov or 1-800-803-9202.

Course Providers - Alternative Delivery Method (ADM)
  1. I want to develop an Alternative Delivery Method (ADM) of a Driving Safety course. Where can I read the requirements?
  2. I want to offer my driving safety course only over the Internet or via DVD, CD-ROM, or videotape. Are there any special considerations of which I should be aware?
  3. Must the Alternative Delivery Method follow the same topics and course content as the approved course?
  4. Is it true that there are new techniques in the rules for demonstrating that an Alternative Delivery Method contains sufficient content for a student to complete the course in 300 minutes?
  5. Are there different rules for Internet Alternative Delivery Method and Video Alternative Delivery Method in the revised rules?
  6. Is there still a validation process required in an Alternative Delivery Method (ADM)?
  7. Is approval by TDLR required before a driving safety course may be delivered by an alternative delivery method?
  8. What are the acceptable Alternative Delivery Methods (ADMs) of a driving safety course?
  9. After a course has received TDLR approval of an Alternative Delivery Method, does that mean that the course may then be delivered by all other methods (online, videotape, DVD, etc.)?
  10. Is it true that if I want to have only an "online" or only a "video" driving safety course, that I must first have a traditional classroom course?
  11. I understand that a non-refundable fee of $9,000 is required for TDLR to review a course and another $9,000 is required for TDLR to then review my Alternative Delivery Method. Does that mean that I might lose my $18,000 if the course or the Alternative Delivery Method aren't acceptable when I initially submit them?
  12. Are the two $9,000 fees the only fees required before I start teaching my course?
  13. What are the instructor training requirements for an Alternative Delivery Method?
  14. I understand that the student must be able to get in touch with a licensed instructor within an average of two minutes at all times, days, nights, weekends, and holidays. Does this instructor have to be within the state of Texas, or can the instructors be anywhere in the nation as long as they are licensed to teach in Texas?
  15. After my Alternative Delivery Method is approved, will I have to make additional changes later?
  16. After my Alternative Delivery Method receives initial TDLR approval, will I be permitted to modify it without contacting TDLR for further approval?
  17. Are course providers that have an approved online Alternative Delivery Method allowed to send a course completion certificate to a student by e-mail or via other electronic means?
  18. Should I notify prospective students that personal validation questions will be asked during the course?
  19. Are third-party databases the only means of verifying a student's identity?
  20. Which third-party database sources are available in Texas?
  21. How do I make contact with DPS for use of their database?
  22. How do I make contact with TXDOT for use of their database?
  23. If I choose to use third-party database information as my validation mechanism, and use 70% as the failure criteria, would that mean that a student who misses more than 6 of the 20 personal validation questions must be failed?
  24. What are the "test bank" requirements; that is, how many questions do I have to prepare for an Alternative Delivery Method?
  25. Concerning word count as a means of assuring course length, do we count the words in a chart as part of the total word count?
  26. We have review questions within the course that the student answers and we tell them when they get a correct answer or give them the correct answer. How do we account for those questions?
  27. What is the amount of time permitted for a student to answer an Alternative Delivery Method validation question? Additional time is sometimes needed because of slow dial-up connections or during busy times on the Internet.
  28. If there seems to be no third-party data available on a student, what should we do?
  29. If a student has an out-of-state driver's license and we therefore cannot validate his or her identity through third-party sources, may we stop asking validation questions?
  30. What do we do with a completion certificate if a student takes 20-30 days to obtain and provide the required Student Affidavit to us?
  31. Should we identify all of the requirements for successful course completion to a student before he or she enrolls in the Alternative Delivery Method?
  32. What should be asked during registration?
  33. Will my Alternative Delivery Method be permitted to use videos, film clips, and pictures that I copy from TV, magazines, or the movies?
  34. Is it true that there are new techniques in the rules for demonstrating that an Alternative Delivery Method contains sufficient content so that it would take a student 300 minutes to complete the course?
  35. Are there different rules for Internet Alternative Delivery Method and video Alternative Delivery Method in the revised rules?
  36. What are the rule interpretations concerning Alternative Delivery Method?
  37. If I have a complaint about an Alternative Delivery Method, who should I contact?

1. I want to develop an Alternative Delivery Method (ADM) of a Driving Safety course. Where can I read the requirements?

Section 1001.354 of the Texas Education Code contains the basic authorization for an alternative delivery method (ADM) of a driving safety course, and the requirements that are applicable to all driving safety courses (including ADMs) are in TDLR's rules in Title 16 of the Texas Administrative Code Chapter 84.

2. I want to offer my driving safety course only over the Internet or via DVD, CD-ROM, or videotape. Are there any special considerations of which I should be aware?

Yes. It is strongly recommended that you review that portion of the rules in Section 84.209 before submitting an Alternative Delivery Method for approval.

3. Must the Alternative Delivery Method follow the same topics and course content as the approved course?

Yes. Although the Alternative Delivery Method must deliver the same topics and course content as the approved course, the Alternative Delivery Method sequencing may be different from the approved traditional course as long as the sequencing does not detract from the educational value of the course.

4. Is it true that there are new techniques in the rules for demonstrating that an Alternative Delivery Method contains sufficient content for a student to complete the course in 300 minutes?

Yes. Section 84.209(b)(5) contains minimum content requirements.

5. Are there different rules for Internet Alternative Delivery Method and Video Alternative Delivery Method in the revised rules?

Yes. See Sections 84.209(f) and (g).

6. Is there still a validation process required in an Alternative Delivery Method (ADM)?

Yes. There is a requirement to incorporate a validation process that verifies student participation and comprehension of course material throughout the Alternative Delivery Method. Subjects such as timers, testing, test banks, question difficulty, and failure criteria are covered in the revised rules.

7. Is approval by TDLR required before a driving safety course may be delivered by an alternative delivery method?

Yes. Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation is charged with the responsibility of reviewing and approving all driving safety courses and all alternative delivery methods (ADM) of those driving safety courses.

8. What are the acceptable Alternative Delivery Methods (ADMs) of a driving safety course?

TDLR has provided approvals for some driving safety courses to be delivered via Videotape, Internet, DVD, and On-Demand Cable TV.

9. After a course has received TDLR approval of an Alternative Delivery Method, does that mean that the course may then be delivered by all other methods (online, videotape, DVD, etc.)?

No. Each approval of an Alternative Delivery Method is specific to that delivery method. However, approval of a second or third delivery method may be expedited if the course has previously been through the Alternative Delivery Method review/approval process.

10. Is it true that if I want to have only an "online" or only a "video" driving safety course, that I must first have a traditional classroom course?

Yes. A traditional driving safety classroom course is a prerequisite to delivery of a curriculum by an alternative method.

11. I understand that a non-refundable fee of $9,000 is required for TDLR to review a course and another $9,000 is required for TDLR to then review my Alternative Delivery Method. Does that mean that I might lose my $18,000 if the course or the Alternative Delivery Method aren't acceptable when I initially submit them?

No, they are not required to be in perfect condition when initially submitted, but must be complete and reviewable at that time. TDLR will review the proposed course first, identify any areas that are unacceptable, and notify you. After course approval is granted, TDLR representatives will review the Alternative Delivery Method following the same procedures. If you fail to make the necessary changes in either the course or Alternative Delivery Method, they will not be approved, and the fee or fees will not be refunded.

12. Are the two $9,000 fees the only fees required before I start teaching my course?

No. After your course is approved, you must become licensed as a course provider ($2,000 fee), and before you can be licensed as a course provider, you must have at least one licensed driving safety school ($165 fee) that is willing to teach your course. That school must have at least one licensed instructor ($75 fee for the instructor license) who is endorsed to teach your course.

13. What are the instructor training requirements for an Alternative Delivery Method?

View the ADM Instructor Training Requirements.

14. I understand that the student must be able to get in touch with a licensed instructor within an average of two minutes at all times, days, nights, weekends, and holidays. Does this instructor have to be within the state of Texas, or can the instructors be anywhere in the nation as long as they are licensed to teach in Texas?

The instructor can be physically located anywhere in the United States but must be licensed as a driving safety instructor in Texas and endorsed to teach that specific driving safety course.

15. After my Alternative Delivery Method is approved, will I have to make additional changes later?

It is possible that other changes will be required after your initial Alternative Delivery Method approval is granted. Changes may be required for a variety of reasons; i.e., updated or incorrect statistics, corrections to areas that were missed during the initial assessment, changes mandated by new laws or rule revisions, and the requirement to update the course and Alternative Delivery Method to reflect the latest applicable laws and statistics every two years.

16. After my Alternative Delivery Method receives initial TDLR approval, will I be permitted to modify it without contacting TDLR for further approval?

No.

17. Are course providers that have an approved online Alternative Delivery Method allowed to send a course completion certificate to a student by e-mail or via other electronic means?

No. The law and rules require that all certificates of course completion be mailed or sent by a commercial delivery service. Electronic delivery such as e-mail and facsimile are not acceptable as a commercial delivery service.

18. Should I notify prospective students that personal validation questions will be asked during the course?

It's a good idea to notify students of this fact in advance, and you could notify them of your security and privacy policy at the same time.

19. Are third-party databases the only means of verifying a student's identity?

No. Rules do not mandate third-party databases, and other means of accomplishing the same purpose may be acceptable.

20. Which third-party database sources are available in Texas?

The two most commonly used databases in Texas are the Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver's License Database and the Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT) Motor Vehicles Database.

21. How do I make contact with DPS for use of their database?

The DPS Driver's License database is not available to the general public, but licensed course providers are qualified purchasers. A contract with DPS is required to establish eligibility. Call DPS at (512) 424-2186 for further information.

22. How do I make contact with TXDOT for use of their database?

The TxDOT contact is in Austin at (512) 465-7727 or via TxDOT's secure Internet site, then follow the links in this order:

  1. Subscriber Information
  2. Getting Connected
  3. Download Cover Letter, Contract, and Attachments

23. If I choose to use third-party database information as my validation mechanism, and use 70% as the failure criteria, would that mean that a student who misses more than 6 of the 20 personal validation questions must be failed?

Yes. The rules require that a student be excluded from the course after the student has incorrectly answered more than 30% of the personal validation questions. If you're using 20 personal validation questions, the student would have to be excluded after answering the 7th question incorrectly, and if you are using the new minimum of 10 personal validation questions, the student would have to be excluded after answering the 4th question incorrectly.

24. What are the "test bank" requirements; that is, how many questions do I have to prepare for an Alternative Delivery Method?

There is a requirement in the revised rules that the test bank for course validation questions shall be at least 100 questions (10 questions for each of the 10 topics) and there is another requirement that for each multimedia presentation that exceeds 60 seconds, the Alternative Delivery Method shall have a test bank of at least four questions. In addition, the Alternative Delivery Method shall ask a minimum of 10 personal validation questions throughout the course, and it would be wise to have more than 10 questions in your test bank of personal validation questions.

25. Concerning word count as a means of assuring course length, do we count the words in a chart as part of the total word count?

No, a chart gets credit for one minute, regardless of the number of words, and the word count within a chart cannot be counted as part of the word count for the Alternative Delivery Method.

26. We have review questions within the course that the student answers and we tell them when they get a correct answer or give them the correct answer. How do we account for those questions?

Do not count the number of words in the review question and/or the response. Instead, you may receive one minute credit for each review question/answer pair in the Alternative Delivery Method.

27. What is the amount of time permitted for a student to answer an Alternative Delivery Method validation question? Additional time is sometimes needed because of slow dial-up connections or during busy times on the Internet.

The maximum allowable time to respond to personal validation questions online is 90 seconds, and there is a maximum allowable time of 30 seconds to respond to questions presented by telephone.

28. If there seems to be no third-party data available on a student, what should we do?

If third-party source data does not exist for a student (just moved to Texas, out of state driver's license, etc.), Section 84.209(c)(7) of the Rules allows the use of a Statement of Assurance (Student Affidavit) certifying that the individual attended and successfully completed the six-hour driving safety or specialized driving safety course for which the certificate is being issued.

29. If a student has an out-of-state driver's license and we therefore cannot validate his or her identity through third-party sources, may we stop asking validation questions?

No, validation questions should be asked throughout the course.

30. What do we do with a completion certificate if a student takes 20-30 days to obtain and provide the required Student Affidavit to us?

A student's certificate should not be mailed to him or her until all course requirements have been met, and the completion date that you put on that student's certificate should be the date that the last of your course completion requirements was met by that student. By law (Code) and Rule, validation of the student's identity should be one of those requirements.

31. Should we identify all of the requirements for successful course completion to a student before he or she enrolls in the Alternative Delivery Method?

Yes, and you should include the fact that the completion date on the student's course completion certificate will be the date that the last of those requirements is met.

32. What should be asked during registration?

Ask for enough information so that you can access third-party data sources (if they are used), and you must ask for a mailing address so that the certificate can be sent to the student. That address may or may not be the same as the student's address on his or her driver's license. During student registration, you do not need to collect all of the information that is required by Section 84.210 of the revised Rules if it is available via your third-party sources (for example, a student's birth date).

33. Will my Alternative Delivery Method be permitted to use videos, film clips, and pictures that I copy from TV, magazines, or the movies?

You are responsible for gaining approval from the person or agency that owns the copyright of any multimedia, educational resource, or statistics that you use before submitting them as a part of your Alternative Delivery Method. Failure to do so could require that your Alternative Delivery Method approval be withdrawn or that you would have to make significant and/or expensive changes to your Alternative Delivery Method after it has been approved.

34. Is it true that there are new techniques in the rules for demonstrating that an Alternative Delivery Method contains sufficient content so that it would take a student 300 minutes to complete the course?

Yes. Section 84.209(b)(5) of the Rules contains revised Minimum Content requirements.

35. Are there different rules for Internet Alternative Delivery Method and video Alternative Delivery Method in the revised rules?

Yes. Although there are many identical requirements for these two types of Alternative Delivery Method there are also new subsections that identify specific requirements for Internet and for video Alternative Delivery Method. See Sections 84.209(f) and (g).

36. What are the rule interpretations concerning Alternative Delivery Method?

ADM Instructor training requirements for a driving safety course were put into effect on October 7, 2002.

37. If I have a complaint about an Alternative Delivery Method, who should I contact?

Please contact our Customer Service division by email at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov; or by phone at (800) 803-9202 or (512) 463-6599.

Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program (DADAP)

  1. What is the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program (DADAP)?
  2. How much does a DADAP class cost?
  3. How long is the DADAP class?
  4. Is an online version of the DADAP class available?
  5. Is a parent permitted to teach his/her child the DADAP course and get a certificate for insurance?
  6. Will I receive a certificate from the state after completing my DADAP class?
  7. What insurance discounts are available?
  8. Do you have a list of the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness classroom locations?
  9. If I want to become a DADAP instructor, who should I contact?
  10. Are there any prerequisites to becoming a DADAP instructor?
  11. How long is the course to become a DADAP instructor?
  12. If I want to open a Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness school, where do I start?
  13. If I have a complaint about a DADAP school, instructor, or classroom location, who should I contact?
  14. If I have other questions about the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program, who should I contact?

1. What is the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program (DADAP)?

DADAP is a drug and alcohol driving awareness program that is regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). The court may require the minor to attend a DADAP course approved by TDLR if convicted of or placed on deferred adjudication (if the minor has not been previously convicted of an offense).

2. How much does a DADAP class cost?

The cost of a DADAP class is not regulated by this agency. The DADAP schools can tell you the cost of their courses.

3. How long is the DADAP class?

State Approved DADAP classes are a minimum 6 hours in length.

4. Is an online version of the DADAP class available?

Yes. You can visit DADAPonline.com for more information.

5. Is a parent permitted to teach his/her child the DADAP course and get a certificate for insurance?

No. The DADAP course must be taught by a licensed DADAP instructor who uses one of the three approved DADAP courses and teaches at an approved facility or approved online course. View information about DADAP Courses.

6. Will I receive a certificate from the state after completing my DADAP class?

Your completion certificate will be issued to you at the end of the DADAP class, and although it is produced and distributed by the DADAP owner, the certificate is considered as an official state document.

7. What insurance discounts are available?

Check with your insurance agent.

8. Do you have a list of the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness classroom locations?

Yes, view the approved DADAP classroom locations throughout Texas.

9. If I want to become a DADAP instructor, who should I contact?

You'll need to contact the DADAP providers for information on how to become a DADAP instructor. They can tell you when their instructor training classes are being conducted, where, the course length, and the cost.

10. Are there any prerequisites to becoming a DADAP instructor?

Yes. There are requirements of good reputation and professional conduct; for example, no DWI convictions within the previous 7 years. The instructor must obtain the required training from an approved program provider, and the instructor must also have held a valid driver license for five years or have knowledge in the areas of traffic safety and alcohol/drug use and abuse.

11. How long is the course to become a DADAP instructor?

The course is a 24 hour training session taught by an approved program provider, but if you are already qualified as a DWI instructor, the course is much shorter. More Information about DADAP Instructor License Requirements.

12. If I want to open a Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness school, where do I start?

You may download the drug and alcohol driving awareness school packet from our website.

13. If I have a complaint about a DADAP school, instructor, or classroom location, who should I contact?

Please go to https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/Complaints/ to file a complaint.

14. If I have other questions about the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program, who should I contact?

If you have questions concerning DADAP or concern/comments about a DADAP course that you attended, please contact our Customer Service division by email at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov; or by phone at (800) 803-9202 or (512) 463-6599.


Instructors

Driver Education Instructors
  1. What is the application fee for a driver education instructor?
  2. What is the application fee for a teacher who is currently teaching driver education at a public school?
  3. Where can I receive training to become a driver education instructor?
  4. What is the cost of the driver education instructor preparation courses?
  5. Can I transfer my driver education instructor license from another state to Texas?
  6. I'm a Teaching Assistant (TA). Am I allowed to teach in the classroom?
  7. What are the requirements to become a driver education in-car instructor?
  8. When I receive my license as a driver education instructor, is that all I need to solicit and teach driver education classes to teenage students?
  9. Does this driver education instructor license authorize me to teach a Commercial Driver License (CDL) course or a course that teaches tractor trailer (18-wheel) truck driving?
  10. Where can I print an instructor application?
  11. I have more questions. Whom should I contact?
  12. How do I stay informed about changes impacting me?

1. What is the application fee for a driver education instructor?

This application fee is $75.

2. What is the application fee for a teacher who is currently teaching driver education at a public school?

This application fee is $25.

3. Where can I receive training to become a driver education instructor?

Please see the Instructor Preparation Courses page for a list of the universities, service centers, and licensed (commercial) driver education schools that teach driver education instructor preparation courses.

4. What is the cost of the driver education instructor preparation courses?

The schools, colleges, and universities that teach these courses establish their own fees. Please contact them for more information.

5. Can I transfer my driver education instructor license from another state to Texas?

No, driver education instructor licenses from another state cannot be transferred to Texas.

6. I'm a Teaching Assistant (TA). Am I allowed to teach in the classroom?

No, a TA is only allowed to provide in-car instruction.

7. What are the requirements to become a driver education in-car instructor?

An in-car instructor (Teaching Assistant) needs six semester hours of driver and traffic safety education courses from an approved school, college, or university. In addition, a person may not have six or more points assigned to their driver's license and must meet requirements of good reputation and professional conduct (for example, no DWI convictions within seven years).

8. When I receive my license as a driver education instructor, is that all I need to solicit and teach driver education classes to teenage students?

No. In addition, you must be teaching on behalf of a public school or a licensed driver education school. The instructor license, by itself, does not authorize you to teach teenage driver education students and you would be in violation of the law (Texas Education Code) if you did so.

9. Does this driver education instructor license authorize me to teach a Commercial Driver License (CDL) course or a course that teaches tractor trailer (18-wheel) truck driving?

No. Vocational driving courses such as commercial truck driving are regulated by the Career Schools and Veterans Education Division at the Texas Workforce Commission (office: 512-936-3100; fax: 512- 936-3111).

10. Where can I print an instructor application?

The instructor application can be found on our Instructor Forms page.

11. I have more questions. Whom should I contact?

Please contact our Customer Service Division by email at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov; or by phone at (800) 803-9202 or (512) 463-6599.

12. How do I stay informed about changes impacting me?

Sign up for email updates to receive the latest news and information.

Driving Safety Instructors

(also known as Ticket Dismissal Class, Insurance Discount Class, DDC, Traffic School, Seat Belt Class, and Defensive Driving Class)

  1. I want to become a driving safety instructor. How do I do that?
  2. Are there any prerequisites to becoming a driving safety instructor?
  3. There is only one state-approved driving safety course, right?
  4. If I am trained as a driving safety instructor in one course, is that the only course that I'm allowed to teach?
  5. Is it okay to be endorsed to teach more than one driving safety course?
  6. Does a driving safety instructor license authorize me to teach the course wherever and whenever I want to?
  7. When I become an instructor, will I give completion certificates to the students after each driving safety class?
  8. How much do I have to pay to become a driving safety instructor?
  9. Where can I obtain the application form to become a driving safety instructor?
  10. Who should I contact if I have other questions about being trained and licensed as a driving safety instructor?
  11. After I have been trained to be an instructor, how do I open a driving safety school?
  12. What are the costs involved to open a driving safety school?
  13. What is an administrative staff member?

1. I want to become a driving safety instructor. How do I do that?

Course providers conduct periodic classes to teach the 36-hour instructor development course. Contact one or more of them to learn where and when their next instructor development classes (IDC) will be conducted, how much they charge, etc.

2. Are there any prerequisites to becoming a driving safety instructor?

There are no educational prerequisites. However, there are requirements of good reputation and professional conduct.

3. There is only one state-approved driving safety course, right?

No, there are more than 40 driving safety courses that are currently approved in Texas, and each of them has a different name and license number.

4. If I am trained as a driving safety instructor in one course, is that the only course that I'm allowed to teach?

Yes. You are allowed to teach only the driving safety course for which you're trained until you receive training in a different driving safety course.

5. Is it okay to be endorsed to teach more than one driving safety course?

Yes. You may teach any number of driving safety courses if you have a current driving safety instructor license with endorsements for each course.

6. Does a driving safety instructor license authorize me to teach the course wherever and whenever I want to?

No, you must teach in a licensed school or in an approved classroom location of a licensed school, and the school must have approval to teach that specific course.

7. When I become an instructor, will I give completion certificates to the students after each driving safety class?

No. You will certify that each student has successfully completed the course, and you will send that certified list of the graduates to your course provider, who will then mail certificates to the students.

8. How much do I have to pay to become a driving safety instructor?

Course providers establish their own rates for the instructor training. Please contact them. In addition, TDLR charges $75 as an application fee when you initially apply for your instructor license.

9. Where can I obtain the application form to become a driving safety instructor?

Each of the course providers has instructor application forms, and they are also available on the Instructor Forms page.

10. Who should I contact if I have other questions about being trained and licensed as a driving safety instructor?

Please contact our Customer Service division by email at CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov; or by phone at (800) 803-9202 or (512) 463-6599.

11. After I have been trained to be an instructor, how do I open a driving safety school?

Contact your course provider for details and request a school application packet.

12. What are the costs involved to open a driving safety school?

TDLR charges a $150 application fee.

13. What is an administrative staff member?

A person designated by a school owner to be responsible for all actions related to day-to-day operation and administration of the school.

Continuing Education (CE) for Driver Education Instructors
  1. How do I renew my driver education instructor license?
  2. What is accepted as continuing education credit?
  3. I completed an eight-hour school bus driver re-certification training course. Is this acceptable for continuing education?
  4. Who notifies TDLR that I completed the required continuing education course?
  5. Can I use the same continuing education course each year?
  6. When should my continuing education hours be completed?
  7. If I complete four hours of one of the six-hour DADAP, Driving Safety, or the Specialized Driving Safety ("Seat Belt") courses, will that count as my continuing education credit for this year?
  8. Is an online driving safety course acceptable for my annual driver education continuing education requirement?
  9. I completed more than the required amount of continuing education necessary for my renewal. Can I use the remaining hours towards my continuing education hours needed for next year?
  10. Do I need to submit evidence of driver education continuing education if my instructor license has expired and I need to reapply?

1. How do I renew my driver education instructor license?

You must:

  • submit your renewal application and renewal fee; and
  • complete four hours of continuing education each year.

2. What is accepted as continuing education credit?

Driver Education Instructors must successfully complete at least one of the following:

  1. An approved four-hour driver education CE course by a licensed driver education school
  2. A postsecondary course on instruction techniques or instruction related to driver education provided by an accredited college or university
  3. Completion of an approved Instructor Development Course (IDC); for example, a TA completes the requirements to upgrade to a TA-Full
  4. National, state, or regionally sponsored in-service workshops, seminars, or conferences on the practice of driver education or teaching techniques
  5. Other acceptable CE:
    • Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program
    • Minors in Possession/Alcohol Education for Minors
    • Operation Lifesaver
    • DWI Education
    • First Aid/CPR
    • Public School CE if it relates to the practice of driver education or teaching techniques and is at least four hours in length
    • Completion of a six-hour driving safety course once every three years. Credit will only be given if the licensee is not endorsed or has not been endorsed as a driving safety instructor for a period of one year previous to the class.
    • Credit may be given to a licensed driver education instructor who teaches an approved course.

3. I completed an eight-hour school bus driver re-certification training course. Is this acceptable for continuing education?

Yes, credit hours will be accepted based on topics that relate to the practice of Driver Education or teaching techniques. Examples of acceptable topics include Defensive Driving, Laws, Student Management, and Navigating Railroad Crossings.

4. Who notifies TDLR that I completed the required continuing education course?

You will submit proof of your completed continuing education hours along with your renewal application and fee to Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, PO Box 12157, Austin, TX 78711.

5. Can I use the same continuing education course each year?

No, licensees cannot receive continuing education hours for attending the same course more than once in three years.

6. When should my continuing education hours be completed?

Continuing education hours must be completed during the year preceding your license expiration date; for example, if your license expires September 6, 2016, your continuing education must be completed between September 7, 2015 and September 6, 2016.

7. If I complete four hours of one of the six-hour DADAP, Driving Safety, or the Specialized Driving Safety ("Seat Belt") courses, will that count as my continuing education credit for this year?

No, you must complete all six hours of one of those courses to gain the four hours of continuing education credit.

8. Is an online driving safety course acceptable for my annual driver education continuing education requirement?

Yes.

9. I completed more than the required amount of continuing education necessary for my renewal. Can I use the remaining hours towards my continuing education hours needed for next year?

No, continuing education credits cannot roll over.

10. Do I need to submit evidence of driver education continuing education if my instructor license has expired and I need to reapply?

Yes, you must submit evidence of completing driver education continuing education within the last 12 months.

Continuing Education (CE) for Driving Safety Instructors
  1. How do I renew my Driving Safety and Specialized Driving Safety Instructor license?
  2. I work for more than one course provider. Do I have to complete two hours of continuing education with each course provider?
  3. Do I have to send in all of my sign-in sheets with my renewal application and fee?
  4. Who notifies TDLR that I have completed a required continuing education course?
  5. Can I use the same continuing education course each year?
  6. When should my continuing education hours be completed?
  7. I renewed my license weeks ago, but have not received it yet. What should I do?

1. How do I renew my Driving Safety and Specialized Driving Safety Instructor license?

You must:

  • submit your renewal application and renewal fee; and
  • complete two hours of continuing education.

2. I work for more than one course provider. Do I have to complete two hours of continuing education with each course provider?

If you are employed by more than one course provider, you must complete two hours with each course provider.

3. Do I have to send in all of my sign-in sheets with my renewal application and fee?

No, only submit the certificate of completion provided to you by the course provider.

4. Who notifies TDLR that I have completed a required continuing education course?

You must submit a certificate of completion to TDLR along with your renewal form and renewal fee.

5. Can I use the same continuing education course each year?

No, you may not receive continuing education hours for attending the same course more than once.

6. When should my continuing education hours be completed?

Continuing education hours must be completed during the year preceding your license expiration date; for example, if your license expires September 6, 2016, your continuing education must be completed between September 7, 2015 and September 6, 2016.

7. I renewed my license weeks ago, but have not received it yet. What should I do?

If you do not receive your license within 7 to 10 days, please contact us at cs.driver.education.safety@tdlr.texas.gov.


Certificates

  1. Will I receive my certificate from the instructor at the end of the driving safety class?
  2. May I have the course provider mail the certificate directly to the court?
  3. How long will it take for me to receive the certificate?
  4. If I don't receive the certificate, who should I contact?
  5. Are course providers that have an approved online Alternative Delivery Method allowed to send a course completion certificate to a student by e-mail or via other electronic means?
  6. I lost the form that I received when I graduated from my driver education class, and I need it to get my driver license (or for my insurance company). Who can I contact to get a duplicate?

1. Will I receive my certificate from the instructor at the end of the driving safety class?

No. By law, the certificate must be mailed to you by the course provider.

2. May I have the course provider mail the certificate directly to the court?

No, the course provider is not permitted to mail the certificate to the court.

3. How long will it take for me to receive the certificate?

You should receive it within one to three weeks after the class is completed unless you request (and pay for) an expedited delivery.

4. If I don't receive the certificate, who should I contact?

If you don't receive your certificate within three weeks (21 calendar days) from the date you completed the class, call the telephone number that was given to you by your instructor.

5. Are course providers that have an approved online Alternative Delivery Method allowed to send a course completion certificate to a student by e-mail or via other electronic means?

No. The law and rules require that all certificates of course completion be mailed or sent by a commercial delivery service. Electronic delivery such as e-mail and facsimile are not acceptable as a commercial delivery service.

6. I lost the form that I received when I graduated from my driver education class, and I need it to get my driver license (or for my insurance company). Who can I contact to get a duplicate?

This is the DE-964 or DE-964E Certificate of Completion. To obtain a duplicate certificate, contact the public school or driver education school that you attended or contact your parent taught driver education course provider, if you completed the course via the Parent Taught Driver Education Program.