Commissioners of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation

Commissioner Rick FigueroaRick Figueroa, Chair
Brenham, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2021

  • Appointed to TDLR Commission: 2016
  • Appointed Chair: 2019
  • Occupation: First VP of UBS Financial Services; Partner with Caton Figueroa Group
  • Texas A&M University, B.B.A., M.S.
  • Member, Texas Judicial Council
  • Member, Memorial Hermann Hospital Board
  • Member, Young Life Hispanic National Committee
  • Board Member, American Leadership Forum, Houston/Gulf Coast Chapter
  • Downtown Houston Kiwanis Club, past president
  • International Leadership Institute, past council member


Commissioner Thomas ButlerThomas F. Butler, Vice Chair
Deer Park, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2025

  • Appointed to TDLR Commission: 2013
  • Chairman, TF Butler & Company, 2004-present
  • Chairman, Texas Credit Union Commission, 2004-2005
  • Director of Religious Education, St. Hyacinth Roman Catholic Church, 2010-2012
  • President, Diesel Fuel Maintenance Services Inc., 2004-2008
  • Systems Analyst, Butler & Company, 1998-2004
  • Pre-Sentence Investigator, Harris County Adult Probation, 1993-1998
  • Electrician, Brown & Root Industrial Services, 1989-1993
  • Real Estate Sales, Realty World Real Estate, 1987-1989
  • Past Board Member, Texas Community Services
  • Former Vice-Chairman, Republican National Hispanic Assembly (Harris County)
  • University of Houston: BBA - Accounting, BBA - Management Information Systems


Commissioner Deborah YurcoDeborah Yurco
Austin, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2019

  • Appointed TDLR Commission; 2007
  • Licensed attorney at law in the State of Texas
  • Licensed attorney at law in the State of Florida
  • South Texas College of Law, JD, 1985
  • Florida State University, BS Finance, 1982
  • Board member of the St. David's Healthcare Foundation
  • Board member of the Junior Austin Women's Club
  • Past board member and legal counsel for The Women's Symphony League of Austin
  • Board member and legal counsel for the Alumnae Chapter of the Delta Gamma Sorority, Gamma Beta Chapter at the University of Texas



Commissioner Helen CallierHelen Callier
Kingwood, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2021

  • Appointed to TDLR Commission: 2016
  • Occupation: President of Bradlink, LLC
  • Prairie View A&M University, B.S. Mechanical Engineering
  • Board Member, American Public Transportation Association Business Member Board of Governors
  • Small Business Sponsor - Women in Transportation
  • Acting Chair, Tri-County Regional Black Chamber of Commerce Procurement and Emerging Business Council
  • Board Member, Texas Association African-American Chamber of Commerce
  • Business Member, Asian Chamber of Commerce - Houston
  • Former Board Member, Government Procurement Connections, Inc. 501(c)3 - Houston
  • City of Houston Mayor's International Trade Development Council / Central & South American, and Caribbean



Commissioner Ray CallasGerald R. Callas, M.D., F.A.S.A.
Beaumont, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2023

  • Appointed to Commission 2018
  • Occupation: Physician anesthesiologist and partner for Anesthesia Associates
  • Bachelor of Science in microbiology, Texas A&M University
  • Doctor of Medicine, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Member, Texas Medical Association Board of Trustees
  • President-elect for the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology
  • Vice chairman for Texas Medical Liability Trust
  • Member, First Financial Bank Board of Directors
  • Member, Beaumont Chamber of Commerce Advisory Board
  • Former gubernatorial appointee and past chairman to the Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners


Commissioner Gary WessonGary Wesson, D.D.S., M.S.
Bastrop, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2023

  • Appointed to Commission 2018
  • Retired orthodontist
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, University of Texas at Austin
  • Doctor of Dental Surgery and a Master of Science in orthodontics from University of Texas Health Science Center Dental School at Houston
  • Former assistant clinical professor at University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio Dental School, Department of Developmental Dentistry
  • Retired dental officer at Veterans Administration Dental Residency Program in San Antonio
  • Member, San Antonio District Dental Society
  • Former member of the Texas Dental Association Financial Review Council
  • Former president, vice president, and secretary/treasurer for
    Nueces Valley District Dental Society
  • Retired member of American Association of Orthodontists
  • Former Vice President of Orthodontics at DentalOne Partners in Dallas
  • Former elder at Covenant Presbyterian Church in San Antonio
  • Former board member for Corpus Christi Metro Ministry


Commissioner Joel Garza
Joel Garza
Pearland, Texas
Term Expires 02/01/2021

  • Appointed to TDLR Commission: 2019
  • Occupation: Associate Attorney with Lee & Desenberg, PLLC
  • Houston Baptist University (M. Acc. 2010)
  • Houston Baptist University (B.B.A., magna cum laude, 2010)
  • J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law, 2017
  • Certified Public Accountant (Admitted 2013)
  • Member of the State Bar of Texas (admitted 2017)
  • Member of the American Bar Association
  • Member of the Houston Bar Association



To contact the Commissioners, please send an email to