Course Approval and Renewal
Each course offered by a course provider must be approved by the department before being offered.
Apply for Course Approval
Course approvals are not renewable. Courses are approved for one year and upon expiration you must obtain a new course approval.
To obtain course approval, submit a completed Course Registration Application Form (PDF) along with the fee of $100 per course.
Course approvals are valid for a period of 1 year from the date of issue. If a provider’s registration expires, all course approvals for that provider will also expire.
Required Application Materials
Each application for course approval must include:
- The time allotted for each educational objective
- A course outline that identifies the educational objectives that must include, but are not limited to the promotion of:
- Respect and observance of federal and state laws which protect livestock and non-livestock animals, and wildlife
- Responsible care for spaying, neutering and tethering of animals
- State and federal laws related to cruelty to livestock and non-livestock animals, attacks on assistance animals and dog fighting
- Responsible care concepts to include health, safety and welfare for non-livestock and livestock animals, wildlife and bite prevention
- Chapter 802, Texas Occupations Code (Dog or Cat Breeders Act)
- Title 16, Chapter 91, Texas Administrative Code (Dog or Cat Breeders Program)
Please see the curriculum requirements page for complete details on instructional hours, attendance verification, and educational objectives.