TDLR Logo TDLR Logo

Site Navigation

Building Owners Elevator Penalties and Sanctions

 

Elevators, Escalators and Related Equipment (ELE)

Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 754

16 Texas Administration Code, Chapter 74

Cases Against Building Owners

Class A (per unit of equipment):

1st Violation, Up to $1,000

2nd Violation, $500 to 2,000

3rd Violation, $1,000 to $3,000

Posting Violations

Inspection Violations

Reporting Violations

Class B (per unit of equipment):

1st Violation, $1,000 to $3,000 plus file required documents and pay applicable fees

2nd Violation, $1,500 to $4,000 plus file required documents and pay applicable fees

3rd Violation, $2,500 to $5,000 plus file required documents and pay applicable fees

Inspection Violations

Plan Review Violations

Record Keeping and Administrative Violations

Class C (per unit of equipment):

1st Violation, $1,000 to $5,000 plus obtain inspection

2nd Violation, $2,000 to $4,000 plus obtain inspection

3rd Violation, $4,000 to $5,000 plus obtain inspection

Record Keeping and Administrative Violations

Reporting Violations

Inspection Violations

Safety Violations

Class D: (per unit of equipment)

1st Violation: $5,000

2nd Violation: $5,000

3rd Violation: $5,000