TDLR Logo TDLR Logo

Site Navigation

Sanitarians Penalties and Sanctions

Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1953
16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 119
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51
16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60

Class A Violations

Penalty Range: $500 up to $2,000

Administrative Violations

Violation Rule/Statute

Failed to maintain certificates of completion for approved continuing education courses

119.27(k)

Public Notice Violations

Violation Rule/Statute

Failed to display Department information as required

119.70(b)

Class B Violations

Penalty Range: $1,000 to $3,500 and/or up to one-year full suspension

Unlicensed Activity

Violation Rule/Statute

Used the titles “sanitarian” or “sanitarian in training” while registration was expired

119.26(e)

Class C Violations

Penalty Range: $2,000 to $5,000 plus one-year probated suspension up to revocation

Unlicensed Activity

Violation Rule/Statute

Claimed or used the title “sanitarian” before holding a valid registration

1953.101

Standard of Conduct  

Violation Rule/Statute

Engaged in conduct that was unprofessional, constituted dishonesty, was negligent or considered misconduct in practice

1953.201(a)(1)

Previously found guilty of conduct that was unprofessional, constituted dishonesty, was negligent or considered misconduct in practice

1953.201(a)(2)

Advertising

Violation Rule/Statute

Used false, misleading, or deceptive advertising

119.70(a)

Used advertising that is not readily subject to verification

119.70(a)

Used advertising that makes a material misrepresentation of fact

119.70(a)(1)

Used advertising that omitted a necessary fact

119.70(a)(1)

Advertising created an unjustified expectation of results from a service or procedure

119.70(a)(2)

Advertising compared services between professionals without factual substantiation

119.70(a)(3)

Advertising caused confusion as to credentials, education or registration of a professional

119.70(a)(4)

Advertising utilized a professional name, title, or identification expressly or commonly reserved by another profession or professional

119.70(a)(5)

Class D Violations

Penalty Range: $5,000 and/or Revocation

Violation Rule/Statute

Failed to obtain and show proof of completed continuing education hours for renewal

1953.106(a)(2); 119.27(a)

Failed to comply with previous order of Commission/Executive Director

51.353(a); 119.90

Engaged in fraud, deceit or false representation in obtaining certificate

1953.201(b)(1); 60.23(a)(1)

Cheated on an examination

1953.201(b)(1); 60.52(a)

Committed actions that were grossly negligent, incompetent, or considered misconduct in the practice of sanitation

1953.201(b)(2)

Failed to pay the Department for a dishonored payment

60.82; 119.80(b)(7)