TDLR Logo TDLR Logo

Site Navigation

Apply for a Behavior Analyst License

Who Must Be Licensed

Starting September 1, 2018, the following professionals will need to be licensed in Texas:

Beginning September 1, 2018, you may not practice applied behavior analysis or use the title “Licensed Behavior Analyst” or “Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst” in Texas unless you qualify for, and hold, the appropriate license.


Education Requirements

You must meet the educational requirements of the Behavior Analyst Certification Board for the Board Certified Behavior Analyst or the Board Certified Behavior Analyst-Doctoral to apply for the Texas issued Behavior Analyst license.

You do not need to submit proof of meeting the educational requirements to TDLR. When we verify your current certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, we will accept that as proof that you have met the education requirements. In some circumstances, TDLR may request an official copy of your college transcripts or other information related to your education and training.


Board Certification

To qualify for licensure as a behavior analyst, a person must:


Application and Fee

Once the Behavior Analyst Certification Board requirements have been met, you may apply for the state issued license.

Submit a completed application form (Apply Online or see Behavior Analyst License Application Form (PDF)) along with the fee of $165.

Licenses are valid for two years from the date of issuance.

Once your license application has been approved by TDLR, you may print an online license verification and start working while you wait for your license certificate to arrive by mail.


Examination

The examination for licensure is the Board Certified Behavior Analyst Examination in Applied Behavior Analysis, administered by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board.

There is no Texas exam to get a license. When we verify your current certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, we will accept that as proof that you have passed the required board examination. TDLR may request a copy of your examination score report, if necessary.


Exemptions from Licensing

The following individuals are not required under the law to obtain a behavior analyst license:

Texas law exempts the following professions from needing a license if they meet all requirements:


Disciplinary Actions

Your certification must be current and in good standing with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board before your Texas license can be issued. If you are subject to or have received a disciplinary action by the certification board, you may be ineligible to hold a Texas license.

License holders must notify the department within 30 days of any initiation of disciplinary action by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board.


Criminal History Background Check

All applicants must pass a criminal history background check as a condition of licensure.

Having a criminal conviction does not necessarily disqualify you from licensure. Texas allows you to have your criminal history evaluated before submitting your application and non-refundable fees. Please see Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions for further information.