Out of State Applicants

If you currently hold the equivalent of an air conditioning and refrigeration contractor license from another state or municipality, and you intend to become licensed in Texas, you may be able to use your current qualifications to obtain licensure in Texas.

Note: If you hold an air conditioning license in Georgia or South Carolina, please see the licensing reciprocity page for information on licensing agreements between these states.


Application and Fee

If you are currently licensed by another state or municipality, begin your application process by submitting a completed Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor License Application (PDF) along with the non-refundable application fee of $115. Licenses are valid for a period of 1 year from the date of issue.

The license class and endorsements that you choose will determine what type of work you can perform, the licensing exam that you will take (if applicable), and insurance coverage that you must maintain.

License Classes

The Class A license allows you to work on any size unit.

The Class B license allows you to work on cooling systems of 25 tons and under, and heating systems of 1.5 million BTUs/hour and under.

Endorsements

The available endorsements are:

  • Environmental Air Conditioning – includes treating air to control temperature, humidity, cleanliness, ventilation, and circulation to meet human comfort requirements
  • Commercial Refrigeration – includes the use of mechanical or absorption equipment to control temperature or humidity to satisfy the intended use of a specific space
  • Process Cooling or Heating - includes controlling temperature, humidity, or cleanliness solely for production requirements or the proper operation of equipment

Multiple License Classes

If you apply for both a Class A and Class B license, you will receive a single document with two license numbers. Each license may only have one endorsement. Both licenses must have the same business affiliation and addresses.


Current License Information

Include with your application materials a copy of your current license and a list of the requirements you met in order to obtain the license.

Please also include information on when this license was issued and how long you have held it. TDLR will review and determine if you meet the Texas license requirements.

Depending on the requirements of your current license, you may be required to complete some or all of the Texas requirements for licensure, including taking a licensing examination.


Insurance Requirement

You must maintain commercial general liability insurance at all times while your license is active in Texas. Insurance must be obtained from an insurance provider authorized to sell liability insurance in Texas

Texas Minimum Insurance Coverage Requirements

Per Occurrence for Property Damage and Bodily Injury Aggregate for Property Damage and Bodily Injury Aggregate for Products and Completed Operations
Class A License $300,000 $600,000 $300,000
Class B License $100,000 $200,000 $100,000

 

Multiple License Classes

If you have both Class A and Class B licenses, a single policy may be used to satisfy the insurance requirements of both, as long as the coverage meets the minimum requirements of a Class A license.


Applicants with Criminal Convictions

If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.

The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a hearing instrument fitter and dispenser license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.

Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.

Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.