On this page:
Sign Up for Email Updates
Sign up to receive important updates about the Athletic Trainers program via email. You will receive notices about rules, the law, fees, examination requirements, meetings and more. E-mail updates are the best way to stay informed.
News and Updates
TDLR Health Monitor – February 2023 Edition
February 24, 2023
Articles in the February 2023 edition of The Health Monitor include updates on:
- Legislative Update
- Annual Health Professions Report Published
- Texas Massage Therapist Examination Now Available
- Meet TDLR Staff At Upcoming Conferences
Call for Subject Matter Experts
February 26, 2021
TDLR is seeking subject matter experts (SMEs) to assist our Enforcement Division with complaint case reviews. SMEs review complaint cases, generally involving standard of care issues, during the investigation stage of the enforcement process.
We currently have a shortage of Behavior Analyst, Podiatrist, and Speech-Language Pathologist SMEs.
If you are interested in becoming a SME, please complete the Expert Witness Application. Once the application is submitted, you will receive a questionnaire to complete and return. Documents are screened and contracts are issued to approved SMEs.
All SMEs receive training on their role in reviewing complaint cases. Tasks may include the following:
- Reviewing documents and statements collected by investigators.
- Writing a report stating an opinion as to whether the respondent violated a rule or law in the provision of care to a client.
- Answering specific questions from the prosecutor about the case.
- Testifying as a witness for TDLR at hearings.
Our mission is to protect the citizens of Texas and the hard-working members of your profession. We cannot do that without your specialized knowledge of the complexities of your profession. Please consider becoming a SME today.
Notice to prospective licensees, current licensees renewing their licenses, and stakeholders
Applicants can apply for new licenses and renew licenses online. TDLR strongly encourages you to take advantage of the opportunity to apply or renew online. The process is secure and easy to use – and faster than submitting paper-based applications and supporting documents, especially as TDLR deals with significant staffing issues related to COVID-19.
- Applications submitted online can take 30 days to process once TDLR receives all required documents.
- Applications submitted by mail may face significant delays, which may take up to 90 days once TDLR receives all required documents.
Access the online licensing system here. If you need to submit a document outside of the online application, please scan the document and send it to TDLR using our online customer service form.
If you need to submit a transcript, please ask your university to send electronic transcripts to TDLR at firstname.lastname@example.org instead of mailing in an original or certified copy of an original transcript. If your need to submit other documents, such as receipt of fingerprint submission, please scan the document and send it electronically to TDLR using our Customer Service form.
Thank you for helping us process your application or renewal more quickly.
86th Legislative Session Update
May 27, 2020
Notice to Health Care Practitioners of New Training Requirement
House Bill 2059 requires certain health care practitioners to complete a Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) approved human trafficking prevention training course to renew their license. The bill also requires HHSC to post a list of approved courses on their website. Licensees are required to comply with the training requirements beginning September 1, 2020. For more information, visit our Human Trafficking Prevention Training for Health Care Practitioners webpage.
COVID-19: Continuing Education Waived
March 24, 2020
TDLR continuing education requirements are waived for all individual licenses expiring in March, April, and May 2020. Licensees still need to submit their renewal applications, pay the required fees, and TDLR will check their criminal histories, but they will not need to complete any TDLR-required continuing education this licensing cycle. (§51.405, Occupations Code)
Note: TDLR is not authorized to waive continuing education requirements imposed by a certifying or credentialing entity other than TDLR. If a certifying entity requires continuing education to maintain certification, and certification is required for Texas licensure, then that continuing education must be completed. If the certifying entity waives continuing education or allows it to be completed on a delayed basis due to COVID-19, then you may follow the certifying entity’s policy.
Please check the TDLR COVID-19 webpage for the most up-to-date information.
Guidance Statement on TDI Rules Related to Senate Bill 1264
December 18, 2019
The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) has adopted emergency rules interpreting Senate Bill (SB) 1264’s prohibitions related to “surprise billing” (or “balance billing”). This Guidance Statement is intended to provide clear information concerning SB 1264 to Texas patients, clients, and health care providers under the regulatory authority of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
SB 1264 prohibits surprise billing, with certain exceptions. Health care providers under TDLR’s regulatory authority who seek to exercise the exceptions to SB 1264’s prohibitions against balance billing must comply with all provisions of SB 1264, including as interpreted by TDI rules. See the TDI SB 1264 webpage for additional information. SB 1264 applies to a health care or medical service or supply provided on or after January 1, 2020.
TDLR will be responsible for investigating complaints and taking disciplinary action against TDLR licensees for violations of SB 1264, including as interpreted by TDI rules. Any person who believes that a TDLR-licensed health care provider has committed a balance billing-related violation may file a complaint online with TDLR. Additionally, TDLR and TDI will work together to ensure that any complaints filed with TDI regarding TDLR licensees will be referred to TDLR and investigated.
TDLR will be working on the development of enforcement rules consistent with SB 1264 and TDI’s rules interpreting the statute. As rulemaking moves ahead, we look forward to a transparent process and engaging the public and stakeholders on this important issue.
June Practical Exam Session Added
Attention Athletic Trainer Students! A June Practical Exam Session has been added for June 30, 2019 at the Texas Health Sports Medicine Ben Hogan Center ONLY in Fort Worth. If you have submitted your documentation to TDLR to be made exam eligible, please contact PSI to schedule your appointment as soon as possible since there is limited availability.
Longview High School Athletic Trainers Receive TDLR Courage Under Pressure Award
Deirdre Scotter and Kristin Croley, athletic trainers at Longview High School, received the TDLR Courage Under Pressure Award during the Advisory Board of Athletic Trainers meeting on Monday, Jan. 14.
Scotter and Croley saved the life of cross-country coach Ken Jernigan after he collapsed at the end of practice on October 22, 2018. (watch the presentation)
During the awards presentation, Coach Jernigan praised Scotter and Croley. “These two young ladies are heroes,” he said. “Had they not done everything just right, if they had delayed even a minute, I would not be here.”
During an interview before the ceremony, Scotter said October 22 had been “a typical day.” It was toward the end of the day, and she and Croley were about to start working on football practice when they heard two cross country athletes yelling in the hallway.
Once Coach Jernigan was in the ambulance, Croley said, “he kept saying he was okay!”
Scotter has been an athletic trainer with Longview for 10 years and Croley has been with Longview for about 2 years.
During the ceremony, Coach Jernigan said that he will be paying even more attention during CPR/AED training. “We go through the training every two years, and we know how important it is, but until you go through something like this, you don’t know how important it is,” he said.
Athletic Trainers: One Year Update
September 25, 2017
In 2015 the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 202, transferring the Athletic Trainers program from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR). The program transfer to TDLR took place in October 2016. As part of our mission to deliver improved service to Texans at a lower cost, TDLR reduced the following fees for the Athletic Trainers program:
|Athletic Trainers||Previous Fee||TDLR Fee||$ Reduced||% Reduced|
|Criminal History Evaluation Letter Fee||$50||$25||$25||50%|
We’ve also reduced processing and administrative fees for each online transaction. Thanks to these reductions, Texas Athletic Trainers kept $10,966.50 in their pockets in their first year at TDLR. (October 2016 – September 2017)
We’ve also reduced the word count in the Athletic Trainers program administrative rules to make them more clear, concise, and easier to read--without impacting their effectiveness:
|Athletic Trainers||DSHS||TDLR||Difference||% Reduced|
|Administrative Rules Word Count||12,860||5,255||7,605||59%|
At TDLR, one of our core values is open and free communication. During this first year, the 4,690 email subscribers were contacted 13 times for a total of 60,970 emails, with information about meetings, rule changes, licensing, and more. In addition, since November 2015 the public and all interested parties have been invited to six public meetings of the Advisory Board of Athletic Trainers.
TDLR is delivering on our promise to eliminate unnecessary barriers to doing business, promote transparency and accountability, and protect the health and safety of all Texans.
Advisory Board Meetings
November 2, 2020
The Advisory Board of Athletic Trainers met November 2, 2020 via videoconference. The agenda and staff reports are available online. The meeting was archived and is available on TDLR’s YouTube channel.