Code Enforcement Officers Frequently Asked Questions
On this page:
Health Profession Transition FAQs
1. When did the transfer happen?
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) assumed all activities relating to the Code Enforcement Officers program including licenses and renewals, customer service and enforcement on November 1, 2017.
2. Now that the transfer is complete, will I need to get a new license issued by TDLR?
No. The license you have now, issued by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), remains valid until its expiration date. When you renew, you will receive a TDLR license.
3. Have the rules changed?
Yes, TDLR adopted rules for all of the transferred programs. Most of the newly adopted rules are very similar, but some changes have been made. The TDLR health profession rules became effective on November 1, 2017.
4. What is going to happen with open complaints and cases?
If you filed a complaint with DSHS or had a complaint filed against your license and it was not resolved by the transfer date, TDLR assumed responsibility for the case. You should have already received notification by mail that your complaint was transferred to TDLR.
5. How do I stay informed about changes impacting me?
You have several options to stay connected:
Email updates – Sign up for email updates to receive notices about rules, the law, fees, examination requirements, meetings and more. Email updates are the best way for you to stay informed.
Meetings – TDLR’s advisory board and Commission meetings are available to watch online live or later at your convenience.
6. Why was my license expiration date extended? Will I have the same expiration date in the future?
To ease the transition, DSHS extended the expiration date by two months for licenses previously set to expire in September, and October, and November 2017. For example, if your original expiration date was September 30, your new expiration date is November 30. If your license was extended, you will continue to renew your license in the new expiration month in the future. Licenses in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey were also extended by DSHS.
7. Will I have to renew on a different schedule?
You will renew on the same schedule unless your license expired in August, September or October 2016. Licenses expiring in those months were extended for two months to ease the transition from DSHS to TDLR. In addition, licenses in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey were also extended by DSHS. If your license was extended, you will now renew in your new expiration month for future renewals. Your license expiration date will not return to your original expiration month.
8. Why were licensing programs transferred from DSHS to TDLR?
The transfer is the result of a change to Texas law. In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 202, which authorized the transfer of thirteen licensing programs from the DSHS to TDLR. Phase one of this transfer was completed on October 3, 2016 when seven Health-Related Profession programs went live at TDLR.
Code Enforcement Officers Frequently Asked Questions
What are the registration fees?
All fees paid to TDLR are nonrefundable.
- Registration fee for code enforcement officer, two-year term--$100
- Registration fee for code enforcement officer in training, one-year term--$50
- Renewal fee for code enforcement officer, two-year renewal--$75
- Renewal fee for code enforcement officer in training, one-year renewal--$50
- Upgrade a registration from code enforcement officer in training to code enforcement officer--$25.
- Registration duplicate/replacement fee-$25
What does a code enforcement officer do?
- A Code Enforcement Officer engages in the inspection, improvement, and rehabilitation of environmental hazards in public and private premises by determining the presence of fire or health hazards, nuisance violations, unsafe building conditions, and violations of any fire, health, or building regulation, statute, or ordinance.
What are the requirements to become registered as a code enforcement officer?
- To become registered as a code enforcement officer, a person must complete a 36-hour training course, possess at least one year of full-time experience in the field of code enforcement, pass a written examination, and complete the application process.
What are the requirements to become registered as a code enforcement officer in training?
- To become registered as a code enforcement officer in training, a person must complete a 36-hour training course, submit a completed verification of supervision form for the purpose of obtaining one year of full-time experience in the field of code enforcement, pass a written examination, and complete the application process.
Are code enforcement officers required to hold a registration in Texas?
- A person may not claim to be a code enforcement officer or use the title "code enforcement officer" unless the person holds a registration issued by TDLR.
Can a law enforcement officer use their police experience to fulfill the work experience requirement for registration as a code enforcement officer?
- Occupations Code, Sec. 1952.001(1) explains that code enforcement is the “inspection of public and private premises for the purpose of identifying environmental hazards … and improving or rehabilitating those premises with regard to those hazards”. Police work/law enforcement, on the other hand, is frequently not inclusive of code enforcement, but rather focused on enforcing criminal law through the apprehension, investigation, citation, and/or arrest of individuals. However, there could be occasions where code enforcement and law enforcement overlap, depending on the size of the city/county and whether there is a code enforcement department. If the person’s police work did include code enforcement work, as code enforcement is defined by law, the person should submit the employer affidavit that verifies the code enforcement experience.
How does a code enforcement officer maintain his or her registration?
- Each registered code enforcement officer must complete at least twelve continuing education hours as set forth in this section within the 24 months preceding renewal of a registration, at least one hour of which must be in legal or legislative issues related to the profession of code enforcement.
- Each registered code enforcement officer in training must complete at least six continuing education hours as set forth in this section within the twelve months preceding renewal of a registration, at least one hour of which must be in legal or legislative issues related to the profession of code enforcement.
I need to renew my registration. Where do I send my renewal application and payment?
- The best way to renew a registration is to renew online.
My registration expired. How long do I have to renew my registration?
- A late renewal, if available, means the registration holder will have an unregistered period from the expiration date of the expired registration to the issuance date of the renewed registration. During the unregistered period, a person may not perform any act that requires a registration under this chapter or the chapter governing the specific program. Registrations may be eligible for late renewal with the following fees:
- (a) A person whose registration has been expired for 90 days or less may renew the registration by paying a late renewal fee equal to 1 and 1/2 times the renewal fee.
- (b) A person whose registration has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may renew the registration by paying a late renewal fee equal to two times the renewal fee.
- (c) A person whose registration has been expired for more than 18 months but less than three years may request that the executive director approve the registration by submitting information sufficient to show just cause for the late renewal and paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
- (d) A person paying a late renewal fee is not required to pay the renewal fee in addition to the late renewal fee.
Should I wait to submit my registration renewal application until after I have completed my continuing education?
- Your registration will not be renewed until all requirements have been completed.
How does a code enforcement officer report continuing education to the TDLR?
- TDLR uses an audit system for continuing education reporting. The registrant is responsible for maintaining a record of his or her continuing education experiences. The certificates, diplomas, or other documentation verifying continuing education hours should not be forwarded to TDLR at the time of renewal unless the registration holder has been selected for audit. If selected for an audit, the registrant shall submit copies of certificates, transcripts or other satisfactory documentation to TDLR, verifying the registrant's attendance, participation and completion of the continuing education. All documentation must be provided at the time of renewal.
How will I be notified when I am eligible to take the written exam?
- You will receive a postcard in the mail from PSI (the company TDLR currently uses to administer exams). The postcard includes instructions for registering for the exam. PSI mails the postcard once TDLR tells them you are eligible to take the exam.
When and where is the written exam administered?
- TDLR administers computer-based written exams through our third-party vendor, PSI, at any of its many locations around Texas. Eligible candidates may schedule their exam at a time that is convenient to them. A candidate information bulletin (CIB) including the exam sites and scheduling information is posted on TDLR's web site.
How much does the written exam cost?
- The Code Enforcement exam cost is $50 (unchanged).
If I fail the written exam, how soon can I schedule a retake?
- You may schedule a retake with TDLR's third-party vendor, PSI, within 24-48 hours of your failed exam.
How many times may I retake the written exam?
- There is no limit to the number of times you can retake the written exam (the same as it was at DSHS).
What is a passing score for the written exam?
- The Code Enforcement passing score is 72% (unchanged).
Will there be a study guide?
- Yes, a candidate information bulletin (CIB) including the number of questions on the exam, the time allotted to complete the exam, and a list of reference materials will be posted on TDLR's web site.
How do I file a complaint against a code enforcement officer or report unregistered activity?
- Please file a complaint online.
How do I stay informed about changes impacting me?
- Sign up for email updates to receive the latest news and information.
Filing a Complaint
How soon do I have to file a complaint?
- You must file a complaint within two years of the event described in the complaint. TDLR will not accept complaints filed after two years unless you can show good cause for late filing to TDLR’s Executive Director.
I don’t want the registrant to know I filed a complaint. May I file a complaint anonymously?
- Yes, TDLR accepts anonymous complaints. To file anonymously, be sure to leave the “Complaining Party” space blank on the complaint form. Keep in mind, if you file anonymously, you will not receive updates from TDLR on the status of your complaint and you will not be able to provide any additional information TDLR may need.
Does TDLR open and investigate every complaint received?
- If the information you provide in your complaint does not contain enough information for TDLR to determine that a violation may have occurred, TDLR will first seek additional information from you (if you did not file anonymously). If TDLR does not receive enough information following that request, your complaint may not be opened for investigation.
What happens after I file my complaint?
- Please see our Complaint Investigation and Resolution page for a detailed explanation of the complaint process.
What is the status of a complaint I filed?
- TDLR will mail you quarterly notices and will inform you of the resolution of your complaint. Please keep your address and phone number updated with TDLR.
How do I know if disciplinary action was taken against a registrant or an unregistered person or business?
- If a complaint results in disciplinary action taken by TDLR, it will be posted in our Administrative Orders Search for three years following the signed order.
Continuing Education FAQ’S for Code Enforcement Officers
- How many hours of continuing education are required for renewal for a registered code officer?
A total of 12 hours of continuing education must be completed with at least one hour in legal or legislative issues.
- How many hours of continuing education are required for renewal for a registered code officer in training?
A total of 6 hours of continuing education must be completed with at least one hour in legal or legislative issues.
- What continuing education providers will be accepted by the department for code enforcement officers or officers in training?
Continuing education activities will be accepted for continuing education credit if the continuing education is provided by one of the following providers:
- An accredited college or university
- A governmental agency, including local, state or federal agencies
- An association with a membership of 25 or more persons, or its affiliate
- A course offered by an approved commercial education business
- What are the required subjects for continuing education activities for code enforcement officers or officers in training?
Continuing education activities provided by an approved provider will be accepted if one of the following subjects is covered:
Zoning and zoning ordinance enforcement; sign regulations; home occupations; housing codes and ordinances; building abatement; nuisance violations; abandoned vehicles; junk vehicles; health ordinances; basic processes of law related to code enforcement; professional, supervisory, or management training related to the profession of code enforcement; legislative or legal updates related to the profession of code enforcement and approved courses offered by another professional regulatory agency in the state of Texas which is acceptable continuing education for registration renewal.
- What type of continuing education activities will be accepted if they are provided by an approved provider and cover one of the approved subjects?
Conferences; home-study training modules (including professional journals requiring successful completion of a test document); lectures; panel discussions; seminars; accredited college or university courses; video or film presentations with live instruction; field demonstrations; and teleconferences.
- I am a code enforcement officer in training and I have applied to upgrade my registration. Do I need to submit continuing education hours for the upgrade?
No, you are not required to submit continuing education hours for the upgrade.
- Do I need to provide my continuing education certificates of completion when I renew my registration?
No, please do not include your certificates of completion with the renewal of your registration.
The Department shall select a random sample of license holders for each renewal month. If selected for an audit, the licensee will be notified when they receive their renewal notice. The licensee will be required to submit copies of certificates, transcripts or other documentation to verify the licensee’s attendance, participation and completion of continuing education requirements. Licenses will not be renewed until continuing education requirements have been met.
- Am I required to maintain a record of my continuing education experiences or certificates?
Yes, you are responsible for maintaining a record of your continuing education experiences or certificates. These records will be required if you are selected for audit. If you are selected for audit, then you will be notified and records will be required to be submitted to the department.
- I received my initial certification from ICC as a residential building inspector 3 months before the renewal of my registration. Will my certification be accepted as continuing education credit?
Yes, an initial certification in the 12 months preceding renewal will be accepted as proof of the continuing education requirements if the certification is listed in Section 62.24 (o)
- I have a commercial education business. How do I apply to have continuing education courses approved for registered code enforcement officers or officers in training?
Please submit a code enforcement officer commercial education business continuing education provider registration form.
- If I am approved as a commercial education business continuing education provider, what type of courses am I required to offer?
You are required to provide courses based on relevant subject matters on current research, techniques, resources to improve skills, significant educational content and practical content for a code enforcement officer to maintain competency. Courses must be developed in subject found in 62.24 (i) (1-12).
- As an approved commercial education business continuing education provider, what am I required to provide to participants who complete code enforcement officer courses?
You are required to keep documentation of continuing education activity for five years which includes a roster of participants and copies of program materials to sufficiently demonstrate compliance with Chapter 62. At the conclusion of all continuing education activities you must provide a certificate showing the name of the participant, date, location of activity, continuing education hours earned, name of the provider, course title and subjects included in course material.
Examination Frequently Asked Questions
- Who administers the Code Enforcement Officer Examination?
- How will I be notified when I am eligible to take the exam?
- How can I schedule my exam?
- How do I request special accommodations?
- When and where are the exams administered?
TDLR will administer the Code Enforcement Officer exam through our third-party vendor, PSI, at their many locations throughout Texas. Eligible candidates may schedule an exam time that is convenient to them. A Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB) including the exam sites and scheduling information is posted on TDLR's web site.
- How much does the exam cost?
The examination cost can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB).
- Where can I find information regarding the examination and the exam requirements?
Information regarding the examination and exam requirements can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB).
- Will there be a study guide?
Yes, a Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB) including the number of questions on the exam, the time allotted to complete the exam, and a list of content topics will be posted on TDLR's web site.
- Am I required to bring anything to the exam site besides my ID?
No, you are not required to bring anything else to the exam site.
- What kind of ID do I need bring to the exam?
- My name does not match my ID. Can I still take the exam?
- If I have an address or name change do I notify TDLR or PSI?
- What happens if I do not show up to my exam or arrive after the exam start time?
- How long do I have to wait for my grade?
- What is a passing score for the exam?
The passing score is 72% or higher.
- If I fail the exam, how soon can I schedule a retake?
You may schedule a retake with PSI, within 24-48 hours of your failed exam.
- How many times may I retake the exam?
Your license application is valid for one year and you may retake the exam until your application expires. When your application expires, you will need to submit a new application before you can retake the exam.
The exam is administered by TDLR’s third-party vendor, PSI.
Upon TDLR approval of eligibility, PSI will send you an email confirmation with instructions for scheduling an appointment to take the examination. (If an email address was not provided to TDLR at the time of application, you will receive a postcard via U.S. Mail from PSI with scheduling information).
If you are eligible for examination, then you can contact PSI via the internet 24 hours a day at www.psiexams.com or by phone at (800)733-9267 to schedule your exam date.
Every reasonable accommodation will be made in meeting a candidate’s needs. Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the exam should make a request for alternative arrangements with PSI. Details for requesting special accommodations can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB).
A list of acceptable forms of identification can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB).
No. If your name has changed you must notify TDLR. We will not allow anyone other than the person listed in our database to test with PSI.
You need to notify TDLR in writing.
Details regarding PSI’s cancellation policy can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB).
Your grade will be handed to you at the test center by the PSI proctor after you have completed the test. PSI generates a score report which provides a diagnostic of the candidate’s strengths and weaknesses.