Drug and Alcohol Education
On this page:
Sign Up for Email Updates
Stay up-to-date on recent developments with email notifications. Get info on changes to laws and rules, important notices, upcoming meetings, and more.
News and Updates
TDLR Seeks Industry Input for Enforcement Plan
November 15, 2022
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Enforcement division is developing an enforcement plan for the Offender Education Program industry and is seeking input from anyone involved in the industry.
The enforcement plan, which is required by Texas Occupations Code, §51.302(c), sets out the ranges of penalties and license sanctions that apply to alleged violations of the statutes and rules enforced by TDLR. The plan also presents the factors that the Department’s Enforcement staff consider when determining the amount of an administrative penalty to assess or the magnitude of a sanction to pursue. For more information about enforcement plans, please visit our website
If you are interested in participating in this process, please contact TDLR Enforcement Management Analyst Griselda Perezor Kim Ferreiro no later than Wednesday, November 30, 2022.
Revised Fees, License Names, and Endorsement Changes
October 20, 2022
Starting on October 23, 2022, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation will implement revised fees, license names and endorsement changes for the Offender Education Programs. The program is now called Court-Ordered Programs.
The changes come as a result of the implementation of Senate Bill 1480 and the September 1, 2022 adoption of new rules for Court Ordered Programs in Title 16 of the Texas Administrative Code.
A few of these changes include:
- A new version of rule §90.20, Instructor License Required, that introduces changes to the instructor licensing structure and the addition of court-ordered endorsements to the instructor license as required in SB 1480. The adopted rules allow a licensee to have one license that has up to four court-ordered endorsements.
- A new rule, §90.30, Program Provider License Required, which introduces changes to the program provider licensing structure and the addition of court-ordered endorsements to the program provider license as required by SB 1480. The adopted rules allow a program provider to have one license that has up to four court-ordered endorsements to operate. Providers are no longer required to have a license for each location they own. SB 1480 also eliminated branch locations .
- Fee changes as a result of new license structure:
- Program Provider License Fees (paid to department):
- Initial license application and first endorsement fee--$300;
- Additional endorsement fee--$280 per endorsement;
- Renewal application fee--$200;
- Reinstatement of endorsement fee--$280 per endorsement.
- Instructor License Fees:
- Initial license application and first endorsement fee--$50;
- Additional endorsement fee--$45 per endorsement;
- Renewal application fee--$40;(D) Reinstatement of endorsement fee--$45 per endorsement.
You can see a full list of the Adopted rule changes at Adopted Rules Title 16 (state.tx.us) and review the new rules and fees in their entirety: Laws and Rules | Court Ordered Education Programs (texas.gov).
Commission Adopts Rules
August 29, 2022
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 90, Subchapter A, §90.1; Subchapter B, §90.21; Subchapter D, §90.40; Subchapter E, §§90.51-90.54; Subchapter F, §90.80; and Subchapter G, §§90.91-90.94; new rules at Subchapter A, §90.10; Subchapter B, §§90.20, 90.22-90.28; Subchapter C, §§90.30-90.34; Subchapter D, §§90.41-90.49; Subchapter E, §90.50; and Subchapter G, §90.95; and the repeal of existing rules at Subchapter A, §90.10; Subchapter B, §§90.20, 90.22-90.27; Subchapter C, §§90.30-90.34; Subchapter D, §§90.41-90.49; and Subchapter E, §90.50 regarding the Court-Ordered Education program. The adopted new rules, amendments, and repeals implement new Texas Government Code, Chapter 171, relating to the Court-Ordered Education programs, and Texas Government Code, Chapter 521, Sections 521.374 – 521.376, regarding the Drug Offender Education Program, in accordance with Senate Bills 181 and 1480, 87th Legislature, Regular Session (2021).
The adoption justification was published in the August 26, 2022, issue of the Texas Register (47 TexReg 5101) and is available online. The updated rule chapter will be available on the Secretary of State website upon its effective date of September 1, 2022.