Apply for a Podiatric Medical Radiological Technician Registration
On this page:
Podiatric Radiological Technicians perform X-rays for Podiatrists.
Applicants must complete 20 hours of classroom and clinical training as follows:
|Radiation safety and protection of the patient, yourself, and others||5 hours||5 hours|
|Radiographic equipment used in podiatric medicine, including safety standards, operation, and maintenance||1 hour||2 hours|
|Podiatric radiologic procedures, imaging production and evaluation||1 hour||4 hours|
|Methods of patient care and management essential to radiologic procedures, excluding CPR, BCLS, ACLS and similar subjects||1 hour||1 hour|
Out of classroom training hours must be verified by a supervising podiatrist
Students must maintain a log demonstrating the successful production of 60 X-rays in the clinical setting. The log must be signed by the supervising podiatrist.
For more information on training and education, see the Texas Podiatric Medical Association.
Three educational paths are available, persons taking the longer courses generally work in more varied medical environments. Podiatric Medical Radiological Technians are only required to take the 20 hour course. These paths are:
- 20 hour mandatory training is set out 16 Texas Administrative Code, §130.53 Podiatric Medical Radiological Technicians More information can be found here (insert your TPMA link)
- 67 hour courses approved by the Texas Medical Board for NCT-Podiatric in accordance with 22 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 194.13. Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified Technicians
- 125 Hour courses approved by the Texas Medical Board for Non-Certified Technicians (NCTs) in accordance with 22 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 194.13. Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified Technicians
Please contact the Texas Medical Board for information on their approved courses.
Submit a completed online application form with your Rad Tech Certificate or transcript, and non-refundable $25 registration fee.
Registration is valid for one year from the date of issue.
Need help? Read the documentation on how to create an account and renew online.
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for or renew a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.