Property Tax Consultants
A Property Tax Consultant prepares tax renditions and reports for someone who is protesting their taxes. Property Tax Consultants also consult or advise others regarding protests or renditions.For more information about the property tax consultants program, see the Frequently Asked Questions page or e-mail TDLR.
Sign Up for Email Updates
Stay up-to-date on recent developments with email notifications. Get info on changes to laws and rules, important notices, upcoming meetings, and more.
News and Updates
Proposed Rule Changes
February 15, 2022
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation proposes amendments to an existing rule at 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 66, §66.65, regarding the Property Tax Consultants program. The proposed rule makes the necessary rule changes for the Property Tax Consultants program to align the program rules with the advisory board changes made by House Bill 1560, 87th Legislature, Regular Session (2021), the Sunset legislation for the Department.
The proposed rule was published in the February 4, 2022, issue of the Texas Register (47 TexReg 396). The Department will accept comments on the proposal until March 7, 2022.
Call for Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) to Participate in the Development of the Texas Property Tax Consultant Licensing Examination
September 17, 2021
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) is looking for SMEs to volunteer to serve on the Property Tax Consultant Examination Review Committee (ERC).
The ERC creates, updates, evaluates, and references exam content.
Participation of knowledgeable SMEs will ensure the validity of the Texas Property Tax Consultant Licensing Exams.
Participants must be willing to sign a confidentiality document agreeing not to disclose examination content, materials, or discussions. Selected participants must also be willing to travel to Austin. Our next meeting is scheduled for November 1-3, 2021.
To view the minimum qualifications and to apply, download the application. The deadline to submit the application is October 15, 2021.
TDLR to Allow Pre-Registration Education Hours for Initial Renewals
May 24, 2021
Effective immediately, first-year Property Tax Consultants and first-year senior Property Tax Consultants can apply their pre-registration education credit hours in lieu of the continuing education requirement for their initial registration renewal. Any continuing education credit hours earned during the first year of licensure will be applied to the second registration renewal. There is no action required on the part of the Registrant or the Continuing Education provider to apply these hours.
This change applies only to first-year PTCs and first-year senior PTCs. PTC and senior PTC registrants who are beyond their first registration renewal must complete the required 24 hours of continuing education since they hold a 2-year license.
This change will remain in effect until terminated by the TDLR Executive Director. Please contact the Education and Examination division if you have questions or need assistance.
Satisfying Continuing Education Requirements for Property Tax Consultants
April 27, 2021
Property Tax Consultants renewing their registrations on or after May 1, 2021, must complete 24 hours of continuing education in courses approved or recognized by TDLR. The continuing education hours must include the following:
- eight hours of instruction in Texas state law and rules that regulate the conduct of registrants;
- four hours of instruction in ethics;
- six hours of instruction in appraisal; and
- six hours of instruction in property tax consulting.
TDLR will recognize and accept an educational program or course related to property tax consulting services that is offered or sponsored by a public provider or a recognized private provider, including:
- the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts;
- the State Bar of Texas;
- the Texas Real Estate Commission;
- an institution of higher education that meets program and accreditation standards comparable to those for public institutions of higher education as determined by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; or
- a nonprofit and voluntary trade association, institute, or organization whose membership consists primarily of persons who represent property owners in property tax or transactional tax matters; that has written experience and examination requirements for membership or for granting professional designation to its members; and that subscribes to a code of professional conduct or ethics.
If a Property Tax Consultant also holds an active Texas real estate broker license or real estate sales license under Chapter 1101, or has an active real estate appraiser license or certificate licensed under Chapter 1103, TDLR will recognize and accept continuing education courses, including courses on legal issues and law related to property tax consulting services, that are approved by the Texas Real Estate Commission or the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board.
COVID-19: Continuing Education Waived
March 24, 2020
TDLR continuing education requirements are waived for all individual licenses expiring in March, April, and May 2020. Licensees still need to submit their renewal applications, pay the required fees, and TDLR will check their criminal histories, but they will not need to complete any TDLR-required continuing education this licensing cycle. (§51.405, Occupations Code)
Note: TDLR is not authorized to waive continuing education requirements imposed by a certifying or credentialing entity other than TDLR. If a certifying entity requires continuing education to maintain certification, and certification is required for Texas licensure, then that continuing education must be completed. If the certifying entity waives continuing education or allows it to be completed on a delayed basis due to COVID-19, then you may follow the certifying entity’s policy.
Please check the TDLR COVID-19 webpage for the most up-to-date information.
Advisory Council Meetings
September 19, 2019