Renew a Dietitian License
On this page:
A dietitian license is valid for two years after the date of issuance and may be renewed biennially.
You are responsible for renewing your license before the expiration date, and you will not be excused from paying additional fees or penalties. Failure to receive notification prior to the expiration date of the license, will not excuse failure to apply for renewal or late renewal.
New Human Trafficking Prevention Training Requirement
A human trafficking prevention training course, approved by the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), must be completed to renew your license.
For more information on the training requirement, please visit our Human Trafficking Prevention Training for Health Care Practitioners webpage.
Continuing Education Requirements
You must complete 12 hours of continuing education during each 2-year license period. See the continuing education requirements page for more information.
Continuing education may be completed at any time during the licensure period, beginning immediately after the license is issued or renewed.
Renewal Application and Fee
To renew an existing license, submit a completed renewal application (Renew Online) along with the $90 renewal fee.
If selected for continuing education audit, you may attach your documentation to your online renewal or you may mail or email to TDLR:
Email: email customer service
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12057
Austin, Texas 78711
Fitness of Applicants for Licensure
In determining your fitness for licensure, the department will consider your past ethical behavior as well as your skills and abilities to provide adequate nutrition services.
To this end, the department may request and consider previous evaluations, professional or personal references, transcripts from official hearings, or any other information pertinent to determining the fitness of an applicant.
A complete listing of conditions for denial of licensure can be found in §116.51(d) of the dietitian administrative rules.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
TDLR asks about criminal history because some criminal history may be grounds for denial or revocation of a license. TDLR's Licensing Division conducts a criminal background check through the Department of Public Safety (DPS) on each original license application and each renewal application filed. If the application or the DPS check reveals a conviction that could be a basis for denying the license, the Licensing staff will refer the matter to TDLR's Enforcement Division for further review.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process by which TDLR determines whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.
A person whose license has expired may not use the title or represent or imply that he or she has the title of "licensed dietitian" or use the letters "LD", and may not use any facsimile of those titles in any manner.
A late renewal, if available, means the license holder will have an unlicensed period from the expiration date of the expired license to the issuance date of the renewed license. During the unlicensed period, a person may not perform any act that requires a license.
Expired License Renewal Fees
Licenses may be eligible for late renewal with the following fees:
A person whose license has been expired for 90 days or less may renew the license by paying a late renewal fee equal to 1 and 1/2 times the renewal fee.
A person whose license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may renew the license by paying a late renewal fee equal to two times the renewal fee.
A person whose license has been expired for more than 18 months but less than three years may request that the executive director approve the license by submitting information sufficient to show just cause for the late renewal and paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee. See the Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal (PDF).
A person paying a late renewal fee is not required to pay the renewal fee in addition to the late renewal fee.