Podiatry

In accordance with House Bill 3078 (85th Regular Session, 2017), on September 1, 2017 the licensing and regulation of the practice of Podiatry transferred from the Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.


Renew Your Doctor of Podiatric Medicine License

Renew Online


Sign Up for Email Updates

You will receive notices about rules, the law, fees, examination requirements, meetings and more. Email updates are the best way for you to stay informed.

Subscribe


News and Updates

Justification for Adoption of Administrative Rules

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments regarding the Podiatric Medicine program (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 130, Subchapter C, §§130.30-130.32; Subchapter D, §§130.40; and 130.42-130.44; Subchapter E, §130.51; Subchapter F, §130.60; and Subchapter G, §130.72; and new rules at Subchapter D, §130.49; Subchapter E, §130.58; Subchapter F, §130.61; and Subchapter G, §130.74).

The adoption justification and updated rule chapter may be viewed on TDLR's web site. The adoption is effective as of September 1, 2019.

TDLR Health Monitor - June 2019 Edition

Articles in this June 2019 edition of The TDLR Health Monitor include information on:

  • Results of the 2019 Texas legislative session (86R)
  • Life-saving efforts by a Texas Athletic Trainer
  • Upcoming Midwives Educational Summit
  • Updates to surety bond for Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers
  • Recent communication outreach efforts
  • Schedule of upcoming conferences

The TDLR Health Monitor is a quarterly newsletter that provides news and information about TDLR’s medical and health-related programs. Archives of past editions of the TDLR Health Monitor can be viewed here.

Schedule II Prescription Pad Ordering Update

On September 1, 2018 the Pharmacy Board started issuing a new Official Prescription form for prescribing Schedule II drugs.

Effective June 1, 2019, all versions of the Official Prescription Form issued prior to September 1, 2018 will no longer be valid.

Please be advised, the Pharmacy Board is currently reporting that it is taking 6 - 8 weeks for prescribers to receive the new pads. For more information please visit the Pharmacy Board’s website.

Podiatric Physician Jurisprudence Exam Improvements

  • New! Content outline guidance with score report feedback!
  • Updated reference list of study materials
  • No increased cost – Exam fee is still $60!

Please see the Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB) for details.

Criminal Conviction Guidelines for Podiatry

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) adopted changes to TDLR’s Criminal Conviction Guidelines (guidelines) to include the Podiatry program.

The guidelines describe how TDLR determines whether a criminal conviction makes an applicant unsuitable for a license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted. The guidelines present the general factors that are considered in all cases and the reasons why particular crimes are considered to relate to each type of license issued by TDLR.

TDLR presented the applicable guidelines to the Podiatric Medical Examiners Advisory Board at its meeting on July 23, 2018 and received the Board’s recommendation of approval. The Commission adopted the amendments to the guidelines at its meeting on September 25, 2018, pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §53.025(a).

TDLR adopts Administrative Rules

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted the repeal of existing rules regarding the Podiatric Medicine program (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 130, Subchapter A, §§130.1 - 130.13; Subchapter B, §§130.20 - 130.27; Subchapter C, §§130.30 - 130.46; Subchapter D §§130.50 - 130.68; Subchapter E, §§130.70 - 130.99; Subchapter F, §§130.100 - 130.106; Subchapter G, §§130.120 - 130.125; Subchapter H §§130.130 -130.134; Subchapter I, §§130.140 - 130.144; Subchapter J, §§130.150 -130.159; Subchapter K, §§130.160 -130.169, and Subchapter L, §§130.170 - 130.172; and new rules at Subchapter A, §130.1 and §130.2; Subchapter B, §§130.20 - 130.29; Subchapter C, §§130.30 - 130.33; Subchapter D, §§130.40 - 130.48; Subchapter E, §§130.50 - 130.57; Subchapter F, §130.60; Subchapter G, §§130.70 - 130.73).

The adoption justification may be viewed on TDLR’s web site and the updated rule chapter will be made available upon its effective date of November 1, 2018.

TDLR adopts Administrative Rules

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules regarding the General Provisions for Health-Related programs (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 100, §100.1; and adopted new §100.31 and §100.50).

The adoption justification may be viewed on TDLR’s web site and the updated rule chapter will be made available upon its effective date of November 1, 2018.

Important information for healthcare facilities seeking to use out-of-state healthcare providers to assist with Hurricane Harvey disaster response:

On September 3, in accordance with Sections 418.016 and 418.171 of the Texas Government Code, Governor Greg Abbott temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules to allow a healthcare professional licensed and in good standing in another state to practice in various facilities in Texas to assist with disaster response operations for Hurricane Harvey.

The suspension allows a healthcare provider who holds a license, certificate, or other permit issued by another state jurisdiction satisfying qualifications for professional, mechanical, or other skills to render aid in this state to meet an emergency or disaster.

This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires.

For the healthcare provider types listed below, a healthcare facility must submit to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) by email each out-of-state provider’s name, license type, state of licensure, and license identification number to: Harvey@tdlr.texas.gov

TDLR licenses the following healthcare providers:

  • Athletic Trainers
  • Dietitians
  • Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners
  • Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers
  • Midwives
  • Orthotists and Prosthetists
  • Podiatrists
  • Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

If you have questions or need assistance, please call (800) 803-9202 between 7:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. CDT or email Harvey@tdlr.texas.gov.


Advisory Board Meetings

Past Meeting - April 15, 2019

The Podiatric Medical Examiners Advisory Board met April 15, 2019 in Austin. The agenda and staff reports (PDF) are available online. The meeting was archived and is available on TDLR's YouTube channel.


Frequently Asked Questions

1. When did the transfer of podiatry to TDLR take place?

All duties and responsibilities for the regulation of podiatry - including licenses and renewals, customer service, and enforcement - transferred to TDLR effective September 1, 2017.

2. Do I need to get a new license issued by TDLR?
No. The license you have now--issued by the Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners --remains valid until its expiration date. When you renew on or after September 1, 2017, you will receive a TDLR-issued license.

3. Will I have to renew on a different schedule?

No. You will renew on the same schedule.

4. Have the rules changed?

No. The existing podiatry rules automatically transferred to TDLR on September 1, 2017.

5. Are people at TDLR available to talk to me?

Yes. You will get a “live” person when you call TDLR. Our Customer Service division employs over 45 people who are waiting to help you. TDLR answers nearly 500,000 calls and emails per year. Customer service representatives are trained on the details of the Podiatry program. TDLR also has the resources and expertise of more than 40 licensing specialists and seven medical and health program experts.

6. How do I file a complaint against a podiatrist?

Please submit the Podiatry Complaint Form by mail or fax.

7. How do I stay informed about changes impacting me?

You have several options to stay connected:

  • Email updates: Sign up for email updates
    When you subscribe to TDLR’s Podiatry email updates, we will provide you with everything you need to know about changes in rules, the law, fees, exam requirements, meetings and more. It’s easy and you will stay in the loop.
  • Meetings: Meeting information is posted on the TDLR Meetings page. All Advisory Board and Commission meetings are available to watch online live or later at your convenience at the TDLR YouTube page.
  • Social Media: TDLR has a Facebook page and a Twitter account dedicated to TDLR Health Professions.

8. Why was the regulation of podiatry transferred to TDLR?

House Bill 3078, 85th Regular Session, adopted the recommendations of the Sunset Advisory Commission that podiatry regulation be moved to TDLR “to provide institutional stability and administrative savings, improve licensing and enforcement outcomes, and better protect the people of Texas.” House Bill 3078 was signed into law by Gov. Greg Abbott on May 29, 2017.

Sign up for email updates to receive the latest Podiatry program updates.